Home » Random » Looking back

Looking back

If you went and found my old gym teachers and told them that I have completed a Triathlon and that I am currently training for a 1/2 and full marathon- they would keel over (so I dont recomment you actually tell them).  As much as I loved to play sports and be active, I was never very…how do I say this…accomplished in my efforts. 

I was always the kid who took home the green participation ribbion on Track and Field day- I always tried my hardest but it just never seemed up to par.  Receiving that green ribbon really pissed me off every year; it made me feel like I was being made fun of in some way for not being good enough.  Like “here’s your ribbon for showing up”.

Looking back I get it though, because all these years later its the same story- I still take home the green ribbons of participation, in the form of certificates and/or finishers medals. The difference is I love them now.  I deserve them. I am a participant and it isnt about winning, its about doing something bigger than yourself. Its about putting yourself out there and facing challeneges. My “green ribbons” are proof of my accomplishments and I am proud of them. I save each of them as well as all of my bibs.

So today I decided to add the races I completed in 2008 to my sidebar.  I have to say, it kind of depressed me when I saw how little I actually raced.  And I know that I should be super proud of myself for even attempting the things I did, considering where I started, but it felt like I did a lot more than I did. I attribute this feeling to the fact that I attended and volunteered many races and perhaps that is why I was thinking I actually did more.  With all that said, I am still really proud of all my accomplishments thus far.

I also noted my planned 2009 races- much more exciting that last year and I am really looking forward to it getting here.  Not only am I destined to PR on distance but I am training for new events as well. 

Bring on the green ribbons!

4 thoughts on “Looking back

  1. I’ve often wondered the same thing, what would my gym teachers think if they saw me now? I remember Mrs. Howe (I think that was her name…she taught along side Mrs. Thornton) practically begging me to go out for track during our freshman year because I had the build of a runner. I’m kicking myself for not taking her up on it!

  2. Pingback: My Biggest Fan « Finishing is Winning

  3. Pingback: Welcome To The Monday Brain Exchange! « Finishing is Winning

Leave a Reply

