Home » Nutrition » It’s not just luck!

It’s not just luck!

At least once a day I have a moment where I think to myself, “I have to blog about that”.   Ultimately, although there were many reasons, this is why I started the blog in the first place.

One of those “I have to blog about that” moments seems to have a repetitive nature. 

Over the last 15 months or so I have busted my rear end to get into shape and take on a healthier, more fit lifestyle. It wasn’t just that I had gained some weight…there were many variables that led to this decision but mostly I just wanted to be healthy.  I was always active growing up and therefore stayed fit.  But then high school ended (as did most activity) and the real world started and I got older and my metabloism got slower. I was eating more and working out less. All of these factors combined began to add up to me not being in the best of shape.  I can’t remember a time since I was 15 that I didnt have a gym membership, but I can remember months of time when I just didn’t go.  Eventually it all caught up with me and I knew I needed to make a change.  

Since beginning this journey I have lost 27lbs and almost 10% body fat.  Those are numbers I am extremely proud, but wasn’t easy and it certainly wasn’t luck!  Of course that doesn’t keep people from making comments like, “You are so lucky to be able to eat whatever you want” or “I wish I could eat whatever I wanted and look like you” (I don’t eat whatever I want…I eat very well and occasionally treat myself.  With some discipline so can anyone else).  My personal favorite is when people assert “You need to eat more”.  I take in more calories than the average person simply because the rate in which I burn them is so fast.  I love food and through a lot of education (and trial by error) I have learned to manage my eating habits in a way that is healthy and not at all depriving.   The assumption that just because I have lost weight means I am not eating is ludicrous.  And the assumption that all of this comes from luck is pure ridiculous’ness. 

I know what it feels like to be unfit. I know what it feels like to not like what I see facing me in the mirror. I know what it feels to have to start from scratch. It’s crappy. But the only way to get from A to B is with hard work.  And that hard work takes discipline, self-motivation and dedication. Notice I didn’t mention anything about luck.

3 thoughts on “It’s not just luck!

  1. I’m sure you get this too (or, at least, used to get it while you were in the process of losing all that weight) and it drives me up the freaking wall: when people hear that you’re trying to get in better shape, they look at you like you’re crazy and say, “Why? You don’t need to lose any weight.” Argh! First off, you have no idea how I look underneath these clothes and I hate feeling like I have to justify myself, and second, losing weight and getting in shape are two totally different things…if you work out enough and eat properly, of course you’ll slim down, everyone would.

Leave a Reply

