Home » The Journey » One week down

One week down

First week of scheduled training is complete and I am happy to report that despite my busy week and moving and unforseens…I still completed all the workouts slated for the week. To say I am proud of myself is an understatement and its possible I am becomming a fan of being on a schedule.

In response to the first week…some goods and bads…

The goods-

  • Obviously its a GREAT that I finished all the workouts. I was really unsure if I would be able to fit them all in, but I made it work. I know there will be times when its not possible, but I am determined to make it possible as often as I can. No excuses!
  • Even though they were short, I ran really well in all three runs. I was really sore today but pushed through. Mental strength is tough for me, so this was a huge positive.
  • Despite being sore, I paced 11:33 today, my best since I started running again. I knocked :33 seconds off my time in just under two weeks! This gives me confidence that I will only keep getting stronger with time.
  • Squeezed in an abs workout and an arm workout.
  • Got a lot of work done at my new place- extra strength training 🙂

The bads-

  • Despite having a great pace today, I think it could have been even better. I was really sore and my legs weren’t working very well in the first mile.
  • I have been trying to get on a better sleep schedule and this week there were more late nights than early. Some nights its just hard because I dont get in until after 9pm, and setting the clocks ahead didnt help either, but some nights I stay up later than I should just because I am a night owl. I would like less of those nights.
  • My nutrition has really taken a beating. Basically with moving I havent been food shopping so that equals school lunches and scrounging for breakfast and dinner foods. One of the things I am looking most forward to after the move is food shopping. I am doing the best I can with what I have, but its not much.

Overall the week was a success. Hopefully I can keep up the good work. Cause even though I have made a lot of progress, I still have a long way to go. And the season will be here before I know it!

3 thoughts on “One week down

  1. Congrats on the great week – nutrition is tough for me too when I am busy and I end up making fast (re: fast food) choices. Just like scheduling & planning my workouts I find that scheduling ahead and planning my nutrition is helpful – it usually (not always!) keeps me honest and eating well.

  2. I think (rather know) I will be better once I can get to the food store. Just dont see a point in it if I have to hike it to another house in 5 days. I am lucky that I dont really eat sweets and my body hasnt seen fast food in years- but I do like to eat out and that can be just as dangerous.

    I have been researching some nutrition stuff to help me get on track but its like information overload!

  3. Good for you, Jill…just as you’re starting to get back on track, I’m falling off it! 🙂 Nothing serious, just trying to finish up the kitchen remodel, so by next week, I should be able to start training full-time again. And because of this huge hiccup in my routine, I’m in the same boat as you with the eating right thing…kinda hard to do when you can’t use your stovetop!

Leave a Reply

