Home » Running » Executive Decision

Executive Decision

It has been officially one and a half weeks since I started my schedule. The upside is, I really like the discipline of being on a schedule- much more than I thought I would.  The downside is, the schedule itself isn’t working. 

There are two majors issues I am having: 

  1. I chose the run focused Olympic Tri primarily because I am at the same time training for my first half marathon and I know I need to up my runs.  I thought by doing the run focused I would be taking care of both things at once.  Yea, that didnt work.  The problem is that the runs just arent long enough in the beginning of the tri program.  Since I need to dedicate more time in the week to running,  I remedied this by using a six week 1/2 schedule for my runs while still doing the bike and some (see #2) swim training.
  2. I am already a good swimmer. I am comfortable in the pool and honestly dont feel like I need to be spending 45 mins to and hour swimming two times a week. Therefore, for now I am going to swim once a week 800 meters.  After my half I will add in a second swim day and alternate between 800 and 1600 meters for short and long swim days.

So that’s that. The schedule has been tweaked to better suit my needs.

On a completely different note, I ran hills today- 2.75 miles in 32:04.  Not as long as I had hoped to run, but I was crunched for time and pleased I even got to the gym in the first place.

3 thoughts on “Executive Decision

  1. Pingback: Moving day has arrived « Finishing is Winning

  2. schedules are there to tweak! sounds like you know exactly what needs to be done.

    I love being on a schedule too… I think thats why I love training so much. I dont have to think too much about my workout since its already there on paper 🙂

  3. Pingback: My (lack of) Training « Finishing is Winning

Leave a Reply

