Home » Bad Days » Sometimes Life Gets in the Way…

Sometimes Life Gets in the Way…

This week was completely chaotic. I anticipated that but was obviously ill-prepared. I am used to chaos, but this was on a whole different level.  I was obviously not fully prepared for how little time would be left for things like showering, eating and sleeping…let alone getting my workouts in. I also didn’t fully understand how exhausted I would be when it was all said and done. 

I know I should give myself a break.

I was extremely productive if you look at it from the standpoint that I managed to pack my old apartment and move into my new apartment on top of a full work schedule and school schedule- including having a midterm.  However, if you look at my workout schedule, it was very low on the productivity scale. I am not happy about it. I know that I juggle a lot of balls in the air and sometimes these balls drop. I know that no matter if my training schedule had started 3 months ago or was starting in 3 days, this week still would have happened.

I need to give myself a break.

In the end I decided to skip my swim, nix one of the bike workouts and cut all my runs short.  It wasn’t ideal and I certainly didn’t like having to do it. But sometimes life gets in the way.  All I can do is look forward to more productive weeks in the future and keep a positive outlook.  I know not every week will be great and I know they won’t always be this bad.

I have to give myself a break.

2 thoughts on “Sometimes Life Gets in the Way…

  1. Breaks are good – don’t beat yourself up over this week. It sounds like it was a busy one. At least you were active so take the positives and be thankful this week is behind you now.

  2. I’ve had weeks like this too. Sometimes taking a break is the best thing to do. I had a week like that last month. I think I made it to the gym once that entire week. The funny thing is when I went back the next week to full workouts, I actually felt stronger and was able to make more progress than I had been making before the impossible week. You still got some workouts in and I’m sure moving was a workout too! Hope life settles down for you soon!

Leave a Reply

