Home » Running » Change of Plans

Change of Plans

After much thought and lost sleep, I have decided not to enter the Asbury Park 1/2 Marathon on April 18. 

Let me explain.

Old plan: Before I hurt my knee I had planned to run a 10-miler in March and do the Asbury race as my first half.  After seeing the orthopedic and going through PT, I knew I would not be prepared to run the 10-miler. But ever the overly ambitious person I am, I still thought I could run the 1/2.  Now, with only 4 weeks to go at this point, I know that isn’t the case.  I knew I had to rethink things. I have made so much progress in the last 5 weeks since I have been running again-I don’t want to push myself too hard and end up re-injured and losing a whole season. 

New plan: I am going to run the Delaware State 1/2 Marathon on May 17. 

This is how I came to my decision:

Pro’s:

  • Much less chance of re-injury- can continue to work my way up the milage at a slow and steady pace.
  • More time to train- The Delaware 1/2 is four weeks later than Asbury Park 1/2.
  • The Broad Street 10-Mile run in 2 weeks before- great training run!

Con’s:

  • I feel lame.

So after I got over myself and realized how much more practical it would be to run in the Delaware 1/2, I signed right up.  So in exactly 60 days I will by this time have finished a half marathon. 🙂

One thought on “Change of Plans

Leave a Reply

