Home » Life in General » check yourself…

check yourself…

Today I went and had my yearly physical 🙂  It is always good to know everything is working.  I am not surprised everything turned out A-Ok because I stay on top of my health and see all my regular doctors as needed.  I am not one to preach but in this case I will- at the risk of sounding like the sticker on a treadmill \”please consult your physician before beginning a new activity”.  Even if you have been running, biking and or swimming for years…schedule a check-up.  It is not enough to assume you are healthy.

This is the time of year when “special reports” and news articles start with their scare tactics about long distance running and triathlon deaths.  I am not knocking the news, but they do tend to report in ways that make people frightened.  That is not my purpose.  My purpose is to spread awareness, because it does happen.  Sadly,  many of my teammates were present when tragically a man drowned at the NJ State Tri last year, which is a race directed by an Amazing team of people.  If you are even remotely involved in running you have read about Ryan Shaw, the marathon runner who died during the Olympic trials.  It is devastating for the directors, the other racers and most obviously, the families. 

Both distance running (distance running includes everything from a 5k to marathons to ultra-running depending on your ability) and triathlon are extremely physically demanding on the body and it is not enough to just assume your body can handle the stress it will be under during these events.  It is true that anyone can do it- I have seen people as old as 88 finish these types of events, but no matter what your age the most vital thing to remember is to listen to your body- and to take care of your body. 

 

Happy Racing 🙂

3 thoughts on “check yourself…

  1. Well said. I think the key is really learning how to listen to your body and being able to talk with your doctor about anything that may seem off. They can’t always read your mind and just a yearly physical doesn’t always catch some issues.

  2. Hey! Thanks for checking out my blog and the positive comment! I apprecaite it!

    I’m always listening ot my body – that is the great thing about doing triathlons! If my foot hurts, I bike and swim more – if my arm is bothering me, I just bike and run more! Love it!

    Happy training!

    Chloe

  3. hey there – thanks for the comment on my blog. I read through some of your posts and really like your “accountability” entry. very true. It is so exciting that your first marathon is this year!

    I cant wait to follow along…

Leave a Reply

