Home » Uncategorized » Quick update…

Quick update…

I hope everyone had an enjoyable and yummy Easter- I definitely took advantage and relaxed!  I didn’t feel so hot when I woke up @7am and took it as a sign that I needed a rest day.  I went back to sleep for a few hours, got up and made breakfast, finished some reading for school and kicked back for a few hours.  I had dinner and visited with both sides of my family in the afternoon and then vegged out again watching the Ford  70.3 championships.  It really was a great way to spend the holiday :).   

As for today, I am currently at school so this update will be quick.  These next few weeks are going to be so hectic- school is killing me!!! I have three papers due in three weeks and as you can see, I am further perfecting my art of procrastination by writing this instead of the paper I came here to complete. The paper, which is only three pages (thankfully) is due Thursday…I have only two paragraphs complete. It seems no matter how hard I try to get ahead, I can never do my work in advance.  UGH!!!

Moving on…last week is kind of a blur to tell you the truth- it was exhausting and spring break couldn’t have come at a better time!  I was really proud of myself for getting in all my work-outs, thanks in large part to having off on Friday 🙂  I am less than 5 weeks away from my first half and finally I feel on track with my running.  Each run is feeling better than the one before and I am 100% pain free!!  Furthermore, my runs have been consistently better time-wise! 

As for this week so far- busy busy. I did manage to get in a quick 2-mile run this morning and because I have been trying to assess my running, I decided to time myself at eight 1/4 mile intervals. 

My times were as follows-

Mile 1-10:14

  • 2:43
  • 2:37
  • 2:30
  • 2:26

Mile 2-9:36

  • 2:28
  • 2:25
  • 2:22
  • 2:21

I know it was only for 2 miles but it was almost ALL negative splits AND 9:36 is my best 1-mile time since before I hurt myself!!  The results are good great as far as time is concerned, but they point out once again what I already know- I need to learn to pace myself better!  No matter what though, I am really happy with myself for making the best of a short run.  I have come a long way and this is exactly the confidence boost I needed with the 10-miler and half-marathon on the horizon!!!  I am really looking forward to my long run this week and hoping I can keep up this momentum!

Ok- enough with the procrastination…back to paper writing.  May 7 CANNOT come fast enough!

One thought on “Quick update…

Leave a Reply

