Home » Life in General » One Week Until 13.1

One Week Until 13.1

Wow…one week…

This past week, as usual, flew by…with so much going on it is hard to even keep track of the days.  I feel like a broken record but I cannot wait until this semester is over!

Due to being in the eye of the finals/paper writing storm, this entry calls for list format.

-I am starting to think I am Crazy with a capital C for planning my first half-marathon only 2 weeks after a 10-miler, considering I am a fairly novice runner.  Remmber when I said I was just going to use Broad Street as a training run…well, that didn’t happen.  I had such a good start that I pushed all the way through.  The problem is, I think I am paying for it now.  I am so tired and my legs feel tired.  While I feel mostly fully recovered, I have noticed some lingering knee pain.  I ran twice this past week and have one more run planned for early this week.  I took it easy on both runs though- 11:30/pace for both and plan to take this week’s run easy too.

-Speaking of pain…I have had this off and on weird foot pain on the lateral right side on my right foot.  Everything I google says stress fracture, but I don’t have the symptoms (no pain on the top or bottom of my foot and no pain in my toes) and it does NOT hurt when I am running It only bothers me when I am walking…and only sometimes.  I am thinking maybe I have a tight tendon or muscle.  Can anyone shed some light on this? 

-Even though I think I am crazy, I love this challenge I have ahead of me and I am looking really forward to accomplishing another goal.  I am really (really really really) trying NOT to focus too much on a finish time goal.  I have a time frame I would like to achieve but I am remembering my own words: finishing is winning.  I find it hard sometimes to take my own advice.  I am, without a doubt, my own worst critic.

-The softball season ends in a little over a week; three games scheduled this week and two next week.  Normally the season is over the first week of May, but we had five rainouts!!!  I love coaching softball, I really do, but this season has been exceptionally long and it will be nice to have my week-nights back.  It will be even better if we beat the team we play Tuesday- we have lost to them every season I have coached (our ONLY losses last year) and I want that win so bad!!  

-Tomorrow is my last final!  I obtained an extension on both of my papers which was a HUGE help but now I really have to buckle down and get them done.  I keep putting these papers off as if they will write themselves; more proof that I am an amazing procrastinator!

-I am looking really forward to one week from today 🙂

Hope everyone has a great (and sunny) week J  Happy Mother’s Day to all the Mommies and Mommies to be 🙂

6 thoughts on “One Week Until 13.1

  1. Hi! Thanks for the sweet compliment about my mom on my blog! Glad you found me!

    I don’t know too much about injuries, but I say just take it easy on your foot until your race. If it isn’t hurting during your runs I think that’s a good sign! But you should definitely get it checked out if you’re worried. If it is a stress fracture, you could be out of the game for months if you keep running on it…

    Other than that, have you tried ice baths after long runs/races? They really help me to recover, after my first marathon I wasn’t sore hardly at all the next day, and I definitely think it was the ice bath that helped.

    Good luck this week and at your race! I can’t wait to hear how it turns out.

  2. If there is one thing I can tell you that I’ve learned… LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! If something doesn’t feel right, take a rest and check with the doctor. Lord knows I could’ve saved myself a heck of a lot of heart break over NOT running if I’d of just taken my stubborn butt to the doctor and stayed off of it! 🙂
    Can’t wait to hear about the race, I know you’ll do great! A half is so much fun!

Leave a Reply

