Home » Random » 13.1 Playlist

13.1 Playlist

So I am almost positive I am going to wear my IPOD this weekend. Hopefully, I can get to the store and purchase the headphones that Kristin reviewed before the race because mine are just about on their last leg.

In honor of my first half, I made a special playlist. This is one example of how random my music taste is! Some of them are obvious running songs and some are completely random, but they all have a reason for being on the list. Here I listed each song and (for most) one line from each that is my favorite in terms of running.

Mr. Brightside- The Killers.

  • “it’s just the price I pay, destiny is calling me”

 Perfect Gentleman- Wyclef

  • This is a completely inappropriate song; it’s about a stripper and has nothing to do with running, but I start jamming at the: “Turn up my symphony! Drop a BEAT!” and therefore it gets a spot on the list!

Eye of the Tiger- Survivor

  • This is a love it or hate it song. I only like it in terms of working out or running. “Now I’m back on my feet, just a man and his will to survive”

Jesus Walks- Kayne West

  • “The only thing that I pray is that me feet don’t fail me now.”

Fighter- Christina Aguilera

  • “‘Cause it makes me that much stronger, makes me work a little bit harder”

Crazy Train- Ozzy Osbourne 

  •  “I’ve listened to preachers, I’ve listened to fools, I’ve watched all the dropouts who make their own rules.”

Send the Pain Below- Chevelle

  • Title says it all “Send the pain below”

Boom Boom Pow- Black Eyed Peas

  • “Harder, better, faster, stronger…cause we got the beat that bounce, we got the beat that pound”  As lame as the song is, it is impossible not to get pumped up by the beat- I secretly (now not-so secretly) love this song!

 Hero- Foo Fighters

  • “The best of them bleed it out, while the rest of them peter out”

Move Along- All American Rejects

  • “And even when your hope is gone, move along, move along just to make it through”

Born to Run- Bruce Springsteen

  • “Another one where the title says it all “baby I was born to run”

Dare you to move- Switchfoot

  • Once again the title wins, “Dare you to move”, but this whole song is one big giant lyric I love.

Feeling like that- Gary Allen

  • “Trying to catch another thrill with a thousand other fools, we were running, oh but that’s just running.”

Juicy- Biggie

  • “Don’t let them hold you down, reach for the stars”

Since you’ve been gone- Kelly Clarkson

  • “But since you been gone I can breathe for the first time” Nothing to do with running, but the whole reason I started on my Triathlon journey (which led to running) was because of a break up. And I am so much better because of it.

 Headstrong- Trapt

  • “You wanna make it a reality paved in gold”

Once in a lifetime- Talking Heads

  • “And you may ask yourself, where does that highway go?”

All These Things I’ve Done- Killers

  • “the battle is won, with all these things that I’ve done.”

The Boss- Rick Ross and T. Payne

  • “I got a fresh line up, fresh outfit” Again, not a “running” song, but it has a great beat and therefore great jam factor!

Lose yourself- Eminem 

  •  “So here I go, this is my shot, feet fail me not, cause may be the only opportunity that I got.” This song was made for getting pumped up. The whole song is great.

Was that my life- Jodee Mesina

  • “I can’t run this race believing I might lose; there’s still so much to see, and so much left to do. Yes, I’ll fall before I fly, but no one can say I never tried.”

Stronger- Kayne West 

  •  “that don’t kill me, can only make me stronger”

Faith of the Heart- Rod Stewart

  • “I’m going where my heart will take me I’ve got faith to believe I can do anything.” This is one of the most uplifting sings ever. Sometimes, if I am having a tough time, I repeat it.

Under Pressure- David Bowie and Freddy Mercury

  • There really isn’t just one good line in this whole song in reference to running or working out or anything, but it’s about being under pressure, which is how I usually feel on race day. I love how powerful it is and it always makes me want to move.

I am still looking to add a few songs. Do you have specific running playlists? What are some of your favorite running songs?

5 thoughts on “13.1 Playlist

  1. Ooh, good list, I run to a few of them too. Some personal faves that never fail to pump me up are “You Could Be Mine” by Guns N’ Roses (it’s the song from “Terminator 2” so I’m always imagining myself as awesomely ripped as Linda Hamilton), “How Far We’ve Come” by Matchbox 20 (another one where the title says it all), “Already Gone” by the Eagles (no particular running reference, just a great, upbeat song), and since you already have some Foo on here, I actually prefer “Everlong” to “Hero” because it builds to a better crescendo.

  2. This list rocks….good luck in the half – these songs will help for sure. I love anything from Rage Against the Machine but “Pistolgrip Pump” is my favorite. Lots of 50 Cent in my running playlists as well.

Leave a Reply

