Home » Life in General » Playing Catch Up!

Playing Catch Up!

I’m back!  Life is still stressful but it is better than it was earlier this week.  Tolerable. For now. 

You know what happens when you don’t write a real post for over a week….you have a lot to say.  In an effort to not bore you all (and by all of course I mean my 10 faithful readers :)) I will complete this post in list format. 

-I went with my gut and decided to be flexible with my schedule.  This seems to be working well for me.  I don’t feel nearly as stressed out when it comes to training.  The plan is to run 3x, bike 2x and swim 2x a week.  This week my training has been (and will be) as follows:

  • Ran 2 miles Monday and 2 miles again on Wednesday.  I had planned to run 5 on Monday but there was a bit of a family emergency and I cut my run short.  Tuesday was an impromptu run; I had planned on a swim/bike but changed it to a bike/run because it was National Running Day 🙂 
  • Rode 30 minutes on the bike.  I cannot believe how much I love my bike.  I am still (overly) cautious and (much) too slow but at least I am comfortable.  I actually look forward to biking.  Seriously. Love.
  • I did one session of upper body strength and one session of lower body.  I tend to do a lot more arms/abs work and neglect the leg work because of how often I run (and now bike!!!) and because I actually like working out my arms/abs (like…as in, want to do it…as in, slightly nuts) so I default to that.  I am now making a conscious effort to incorportate more leg work.
  • I have a race tomorrow and a swim/bike planned for Sunday. 

-By this weeks end I will have only missed one swim and one strength day.  Considering the shitfest my life has been the past week I felt lucky to get even a little training done.

-Lately I have been having some soreness in my right knee (I swear I have the knees of an old lady!) which is making me wonder if perhaps I am overcompensating with my right knee to relieve the left.  I have been icing and stretching to the the max but still feel a lot of tightness on the lateral side of my knee.  Seriously, the whole knee pain/soreness/tightness is getting really old really fast!!!  

-Despite the knee discomfort, I am running a race tomorrow. An 8k.  Last year I ran walked/crawled through this race as it was about 100 degrees out and I had never run more than 3.5 miles before that day.  Needless to say, if my knees hold up, I will PR this year! 

-Don’t worry….before the lectures begin…I WILL listen to my body.   I learned my lesson back in November about pushing it when your body says no, so I am planning to take it easy at the race.  Trust me…I could hop on one leg and finish faster than I did last year!       

-My original plans for racing this summer have changed quite a bit.  After looking over what I had scheduled, I felt like I might have been pushing it just a little.  I have some family obligations, a summer class and of course my full time job all on top of racing and training and I was starting to feel a little overwhelmed.  Plus, I definitely dont’ want to overdo it, so I went over my list of races and nix’ed two tris and one 10-miler.  After tomorrow’s 8k I don’t have any races planned until July 8, although I do intend to pepper in a few 5k’s.  I already feel less overwhelmed.  I guess that makes me whelmed?

-I don’t know about where you all live, but here in New Jersey it has been rain, rain, rain, rain!!! UGH! Today I was supposed to chaperone the 8th grade trip to Dorney Park but it was (thankfully) moved to next week.  This is probably a good thing as I don’t think my feet/legs/knees would have appreciated all the walking the day before a race but the rain has got to stop!!  Fortunately, the weekend weather looks fabulous!!

Alright, I think I am caught up!  Whew…a lot happens in a week!  Hope you are all having less rain, good training and better luck with your knees 🙂

Have a great weekend! 

PS: If you get a chance, head over to Sarah and/or Megan’s blog’s for a chance to win their great give-a-ways 🙂 I love give-a-ways!!

2 thoughts on “Playing Catch Up!

  1. Way to keep up with your schedule despite what sounds like a busy week and some additional stressors thrown in as well. Sounds like you have a solid plan for the summer.

    My right knee has been pretty crappy lately too – maybe its all this Jersey rain of late.

Leave a Reply

