Home » Good Days » It’s Friday, I’m in love

It’s Friday, I’m in love

I ❤ Friday’s, especially when I have such a fun-filled weekend planned!  More about that later in the post.

First, here is a picture from last week’s race:

race

This picture cracks me up because my thumbs are kind of up, which makes me wonder if I always run with my thumbs kind of up, like in constant anticipation of a picture. 

In other news, today is 10 years since I graduated High School.  I do not feel old most of the time.  Today I feel old. Very old.  Here is my senior pic:

grad

I might be getting older, but I can take comfort in the fact that I look almost exactly the same 10 years later…I even have the same hair cut (is that sad?).

This week has been the slowest ever!  I think it is due in part to it being the last week for kids and because I have a really fun weekend planned. 

  1. Tonight I am chaperoning the 8th grade dance.  This is not work, I actually do this by choice.  It is such a fun event and I love seeing all the kids dressed up and having a good time.  I really enjoy this kind of stuff, even on a Friday night.
  2. Tomorrow night I am meeting up with some girls from high school.  Our actual reunion should be this fall but I had a class full of (mostly) slackers so it is entirely possible that it will never happen so this is like a mini reunion. There are so many reasons to be excited for this.  For one, we are meeting up at The Continental and they have the BEST martinis.  Also, my friend Stacy is coming up from North Carolina to attend and I haven’t seen her since Christmas.  She was one of my best friends in high school and one of the only people I stayed in close touch with throughout the years.   With the exception of Stacy and my friend Suz (who I have only seen a handful of times since graduation) I haven’t seen the others in 10 years.  Thanks to FaceBook we have all reconnected.  I am so excited to hang out and have a girls night with them, that I think that by tomorrow I will be jumping out of my skin!!! I will definitely post lots of pictures!
  3. Sunday I am attending a BBQ/training session at one of my teammates houses. He lives on a lake (its ridiculously beautiful) and basically has access to open water swims whenever he wants.  We will be doing a super mini-tri around his town and then relaxing with some cold beverages in the hot tub. Life is good 🙂

Hopefully I will be able to get in a run tomorrow in between my various errands and pasta salad making (yummy) before my night out.  I always feel a lot better about indulging if I had a good workout beforehand.  Thankfully I already know I’ll be getting a great workout in at the BBQ Sunday so that’s covered.  It also means I can sleep in a little bit Sunday after Saturday nights festivities. 

Have I mentioned my excitement!!! Lets just hope the weather holds out.  Jersey has seen enough rain for the next two years!  Fingers crossed for lots of sunny goodness 🙂

Oh, and one last thing. One month until my first tri of the summer. By then, most people will have a few under their belts so I hope I am ready.  This is tri I have been looking forward to since last summer.  I volunteered it last year and loved it; cant wait to be a part of it myself. 

Whew!…I feel like this post was all over the place.  If you knew the kind of week I have been having (remember what it was like when you were in middle school and it was the end of the year!!!) you would understand that my head is spinning and this post is representative of my life!!!

Anyone else have good weekend plans??

7 thoughts on “It’s Friday, I’m in love

  1. Too funny! I graduated at the same time and my class of slackers hasn’t put together a 10 year reunion either! So when I go up to visit the Michigan peeps after the Chicago Marathon in October, we’re putting together an impromptu pub crawl through Facebook. Sad isn’t it? I hope you have such a great weekend!

  2. You may have the same hair today but only because you’ve come full circle. Starting with cutting it so short between prom and graduation.

    And you’re still a beauty…

  3. I just realized that it has been 10 years since I graduated from college and that made me feel a little bit old. Just a little bit!

    Sounds like you’ve got a great and full weekend ahead. Have fun!

  4. Hey, at least your senior pic looks good! I had big banged mall hair in mine…it was all the rage in the early 1990’s…(yikes, I am getting old!)…

    I take horrible race pics…my eyes are usually shut. You would think I’d learn to run wearing sunglasses, LOL.

  5. I am late in the game here because we were on vacation last week – good times. Love the thumbs up like the Fonz….and that reference certainly dates me as it is 20 years since my high school graduation – more good times. I had pictures taken of me from the Spring Lake 5 Miler that I did not know were taken and my arms are stiff and hands pointed forward – I look like a robot. Nice.

Leave a Reply

