Home » Life in General » What a Weekend!!

What a Weekend!!

Whew….what a weekend this was!!  And of course it went WAY too fast. 

Week in Review…list style. I am a big fan of lists if you haven’t already noticed.  I feel like they make super long posts slightly easier to read.  Any thoughts on that? Are list better or is a long post a long post no matter how you write it?

-Monday through Thursday was incredibly busy as usual but I managed to get in quite a few workouts.  I swam on Monday, went for a bike ride on Monday and Saturday, I did three strength sessions throughout the week and a level of Shred Thursday night. 

-I had decided last week that I wasn’t running this week, so the fact that I didn’t run was planned ahead of time.  I had to give my knee a serious break.  This was especially necessary because Tuesday I was in Dorney Park on the 8th grade trip.  I did hours of walking and if you haven’t been there before, let me just fill you in- That place is FULL of hills!!!  Between climbing steps for the rides, walking the entire (hill-filled) park at least three times and swimming in the water park…I got a heck of a work out.  And the next day my knee was feeling it for sure!!  Since then I have been icing/heating/stretching and it honestly feels great.  This week will definitely involve some running.  Yeah 🙂

-Friday was the 8th grade dance.  The kids all looked great and it was obvious they had a blast.  Even us old people had fun dancing and hanging out.  But man…by the time it was over, I was exhausted!  After a full days work and then the dance it was all I could do to keep my eyes open.  I came home and zonked. 

-Saturday morning I slept in until 9am!  I woke up feeling SO refreshed!  It’s funny…not too many years ago 9am was considered getting up early.  Funny how things change as we get older.  It was supposed to rain Saturday, so imagine my surprise when I woke up to sun- it was a perfect day for a bike ride.  I went out with plans to ride for about 30 minutes or so but was feeling so good riding I stayed out for 50 minutes.  I rode pretty much all over the town I live in and my neighboring town.  I noted two things while I was out on my ride- 1. the people in my town are really nice to bike riders.  I got waved on at least four times at traffic stops.  Holy nice people!  2. Dogs are even scarier when they are coming after you while your biking.  I already have a serious fear of dogs coming  after me while I am running but I hadn’t really thought about it while biking. Thankfully the owner of said dog got a grip on his leash and pulled him back from me before he could take a bite out of my leg.  I was SO scared but really proud of myself for successfully staying on the bike. 

-After my bike ride in the beautifulweather, I had some errands to run and while I was driving the sun disappeared and the next thing I knew I was driving in a monsoon.  The rain was ridiculous.  It lasted about 10 minutes and then the sun was back out and shining.  Seriously…I can’t explain it. Crazy Jersey weather!

-Saturday night was the mini-reunion.  It ended up being super mini. As in three people. Boo. Turned out a few people couldn’t make it and then my friend Colleen got sick and then we didn’t have enough for a reservation.  Stace, Suz and I decided to just grab dinner and drinks at Chickie’s and Pete’s.  Of course it would have been nice to have all the people there, but we had a great time.  Hopefully we can plan something in the future to make up for this night.  Oh…and I was going to post pictures, but we ALL forgot our cameras.  Take my word for it though…we had an awesome time.  Lots of food, drinks and laughs.  For the second night in a row, I came home and completely zonked out!    

-Today I woke up fairly early so I could get things done around the house before heading down to my friends house for the BBQ.  I love my Sunday morning routine (Sunday Morning show on CBS while reading the Sunday paper and drinking a coffee) and don’t like to give it up (unless it’s for a race) so I usually wake up very early to get things done before 9am.   After my show, I made the pasta salad for the bbq, packed my bags and got ready to go.  My friend, whose house it was at, busted his ankle last night so he was moving quite gingerly so I went early to help him set up.  Clearly this caused a change of plans and the mini-tri was not meant to be.  Once everyone started showing up we bbq’d, went out on the canoe and kayak and some people went for an open water swim.  I bailed on the swim, which was stupid cause I really could have used the work out, but by the time people were swimming I was getting ready to leave and I didn’t want to be all wet driving an hour home.  So I didn’t work out at all today. Fail.

-Speaking of fails…on my way home tonight I got pulled over.  Two important things to note:  The cop pulled me over for speeding on a street I wasn’t even on and for talking on the phone that I didn’t even have out.  This was hands down the worst cop experience I ever had.  It is a really long story that I will tell in 2 weeks after my court date when I feel safe to discuss this matter (yeah, I am paranoid, never know who is reading!).  Basically, he was incredibly mean and I was hysterically crying and it was horrible.  A horrible way to end a great weekend that it for sure! 

This week is hopefully the last ridiculously crazy week I will have for a while.  There are only 3.5 days with students and 5 with teachers.  My job requires me to work in the summer, but we work 4 day weeks and with no teachers and students it is a lot less stressful.  I am looking very forward to summer work.  Hopefully this week goes fast; tomorrow is Field Day and Tuesday and Wednesday are pretty much just fun days.  Wednesday night our 8th graders graduate and then they come in for a half day on Thursday to pretty much just hang out.  Nothing really goes on but yearbook signing, report cards and locker/room cleaning.  Friday all employees have an end of year in-service and then its d-o-n-e for the 2008/2009 school year 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 Can you tell I am excited!!!  YEAH SUMMMMMMMMMER!!!!

Hope everyone has a great week.  I am off to relax with some Army Wives (proof I DO have a girly side) and a glass of Riesling-yum 🙂

2 thoughts on “What a Weekend!!

  1. Goodness! So many news! Yes, lists are great!

    The bit about the cop gave me angry goose bumps. What the hell!???! Do update us!

    Take care of your knee!

Leave a Reply

