Home » Running » My Sore, Sore Legs…

My Sore, Sore Legs…

No I didn’t go on a long bike ride or have a long run this week.  I didn’t race either. 

But my legs are sore, sore, sore today!

Why?

I volunteered 7.5 hours at the NJState Race yesterday, 5.5 hours of those hours were at the finish line handing out water to each finisher.  This is the equivalent of doing squats for 5.5 hours.   Ouch.

As for the rest of my week, like the entire summer, it flew by.  I wanted to write a Week in Review last night but by the time I got in I was exhausted.  Writing while that tired would have resulted in a drunk-like post that probably would have made sense to only myself, or someone equally as tired (or drunk).

So now you get list format- my fav 🙂

  • I first want to thank Morgan and dfalv38 for their kind words on my last post.   Even though my big decision is still weighing on me a bit, like I said before, I am at peace with it and really feel it was for the best.  At the very least, I have my summer back!  As for you Jamoosh, I knew snacks could be life altering as soon as I found Trader Joe’s Chocolate Covered Pretzel Slims. Totally addicting.
  • I also want to give a shout out to FairWeatherRunner; she is collecting old running shoes to send to organizations that send them around the world to the needy.  My Tri team does this and I can tell you first hand what a wonderful thing this is that she is doing.  So basically, she is awesome.  So if you have old sneaks, stop over and let her know.  She will fill you in on the details. 

Ok…let’s talk tri/running since that is what this blog is really about. 

  • This past week was the first week of official Marathon Training.  I hate to say this, because I know it is going to get much more difficult in the upcoming weeks, but it was too easy.  I knew this was going to be the case when I started but still, it kinda sucked.  The thing is, I want to do this right. And by right, I mean injury free.  When I met recently with my doctor (who is a runner, so she understands) we talked at decent length about this race; about my past injuries and how if I am not careful I could easily re-injure myself.   We talked about how it would be best for me to use a longer plan even if it meant starting out with slow, very easy runs.  So basically, the first few weeks of mileage is low and at a slow pace (even slow for me!!) but will allow for an injury free build up to race day.  And in the end, that is the most important thing, to stay healthy and injury free.  The upside of the low mileage is that it allows for me to work in my bike, swim and strength training with quite a bit of ease. 
  • I am happy to report that I have been faithfully keeping up with my commitment to morning workouts.  I am spinning every Tuesday and going every Thursday morning for either another spin class or to put in laps at the pool.  Thursdays usually depends what my plans for the rest of the week are and on how much I have already swam that week.  I am also getting up on Friday and either Saturday or Sunday mornings (not as early because I have off, but still early) to put in my runs.  The more used to this I get, the more I like it.  It is a great way to start my day and I love not having to worry about getting to the gym or running in the heat after work.  I really hope I can keep this up during the school year; it is definitely one of my goals. 
  • Back to my aching legs…they are still aching.  I have a feeling tomorrow’s run will be a little bit brutal.  But seriously, I love volunteering, especially for great RD’s.  They even gave me $50 to TriSports.com for all my hard work- Bonus!!!!
  • While I am on the topic…I want to reiterate once again, as I have mentioned in many past posts, how wonderful CGI Racing is and again recommend them to anyone looking for a well put together and fun race.  As I have said before, they hold races in NJ, PA and MD.  They offer everything from Sprint to Olympic to Half Ironman distance races.  People come from all over to race these races (yesterday there were a handful from the West Coast and many from all up and down the East Coast) and they sell out super fast.  Their 2010 registration opens October 1st.  You can read about their races here .  Trust me, I would not wake up before 4am, drive an hour and stand for 5.5 hours at a finish line for a race I didn’t believe in!  The only reason I won’t be doing that next year is because I will be racing it myself! 

As for this week…I have lots going on–> dinner with a friend from work tonight, drinks with my friend Sarah (who I haven’t seen in over 1.5 years!!) on Wednesday, a concert in the park (DMB cover band) on Thursday and my cousins college graduation party on Saturday. Oh…and a race on Sunday.  It is an ocean swim…which I am really nervous about…but that is a whole nother post for another day!

Hope Monday is treating everyone well 🙂

5 thoughts on “My Sore, Sore Legs…

  1. Awww you’re so cute! You’re going to make it through this just fine and come out on top in the end I bet! Just believe in yourself!

    Kudo’s to your for volunteering! Keep up the good running! Can’t wait to track your progress towards this marathon!

  2. While your marathon training start may be easy, it sounds like you have a nice plan in place to get you healthy to the start line. Great job.

  3. Hey! Was that NJState race a tri? A few girls that I run at the track with were doing a tri on the 26th, I believe it was in south Jersey…?

    What time do you do your morning workouts? I loved getting them done in the morning, but getting up extra early can be so hard sometimes! I give you a lot of credit.

    Before you know it, your marathon training will be at the point where you wish you were running what you’re running now. Enjoy it! 🙂

    Thanks for the link to donate old running shoes. I’m due for a new pair and would much rather donate them than throw them out.

  4. It was in what is considered Central Jersey, so it would depend who you talk to 🙂 For me, it is a little over an hour north. I am sure that is the one though- it is huge and awesome, I hope they liked it!

    As for my morning workouts…spin classes are at 545am so I am up at 445-5am on those days. If I want to swim I have to be in the water by 6am so I am up at like 5-515am. As for my days off…I usually “sleep in” until 6-630 and hit the road by 7-730ish. It was really hard to get used to but now it is just part of my routine. Come the school year I might be singing a different tune!

Leave a Reply

