Home » TiaRT » TiaRT- Follow The Yellow Brick Road

TiaRT- Follow The Yellow Brick Road

This weeks TiaRT comes from Melanie.  She asks:  Scarecrow asked for a Brain, Tin Man for a Heart, and Lion for Courage.  If you could meet the Wizard of Running and ask for anything, what would it be? When your wish was granted, how would your travels down the Yellow Brick Road of running be different?

I thought long and hard about this and what I realized is this: I have a laundry list of things I would like to have to make my triathlon/running experiences different.  And by different, I mean better of course!  At any rate, I narrowed it down to the one that I think would change everything…and then I threw one in for fun cause, well…I am fun 🙂

Breathe In…Breathe Out…– if I could ask for anything from the Wizard of Running (let’s pretend he is also the wizard of Triathlon) it would be the ability to be more relaxed on race day.  From the minute I wake up on a race day I am a ball of nerves.  The worst part is that being so anxious usually affects my confidence level.  The joke with my teammates is that if they see me on the race course they yell “you’re in not last place” because I get so worked up about what I cannot do that I forget all of the things I CAN do.  I start to think about all the things that could go wrong and way in the back of my head is the lingering fear of failure.  Judging purely on last week’s race, I know that when I am relaxed (ok I was still anxious, but certainly not as much as usual) I have a lot more fun.  And really, racing should be fun.

Longer Legs Please…– if it were possible (and since we are talking about wizards, it might be) I would want longer legs.  My whole life I have been short and if I could change anything it would be to have longer legs (um, and thinner thighs).  I feel like I have to work twice as hard because my legs are so little and lets face it…finding a good pair of running pants is a bitch!  Yeah, in my next life I want to be 5’7 and (since we are making wishes)I want to look like this girl:

gouch35’7 and fab abs to go with it…I’ll take it!

3 thoughts on “TiaRT- Follow The Yellow Brick Road

  1. Thanks for playin!! And for the comment about my video..I watched it an cringed but I did not have time to reshoot..I asked hubby and he said is was cute… UGH!! So I put it out there and people like you made me feel OK with it 🙂

    Hugs! Have a great weekend!

  2. hi!!! so… i half agree with needing to be more relaxed on race day. i wonder how that would affect performance. i think being nervous is actually a real energizer– gets your heart pounding and ready to go! but at some point the nerves can be too much. especially when they kick in weeks ahead of time!! i would ask for the ability to relax PRE-race so i could get some sleep!!! 🙂

    and hell yes to the longer legs:) and i’ll take the whole body too actually… 🙂

Leave a Reply

