Home » Life in General » The End Is Near…

The End Is Near…

Can you believe there are only 10 weeks left in 2009?  72 days to be exact.  That’s right kids…the winter holiday of your religious choice is right around the corner!  I know, I know, it isn’t even Halloween yet and I am talking about 2010 (have you seen the stores….christmas trees already…really?!?!?) but the truth is, it is going to be here before we know it! 

In just over a month, my race season will officially be over.  Even though I started this journey and raced in 2008, I didn’t really feel like I had a “season” so to speak.  This year, I really feel like I was all immersed in my training and took on a full season of racing.  In 2008, I participated in 8 total races- one triathlon, two 8k’s, a 10k and four 5k’s.  By the end of 2009 I will have participated in twelve races- 2 triathlons, 1 duathlon, 4 half marathons, 1 ten-miler, 1 8k and 3 5k’s!  I don’t in any way want to downplay 2008 because it was where it all began and I am as proud of those accomplishments as any, it is just that this year was a little more personal.  I started this blog, trained on a schedule, raced new distances and most importantly, I feel like in 2009 I really changed for the better where my health and lifestyle are concerned.

In an effort to celebrate this hell of a year being almost over, I want to continue to focus on 2009 reflections and my goals and plans for 2010.  So from here on out for the next 10 weeks, one post a week will be similar to this- dedicated soley to looking back and/or moving forward.  I haven’t decided if I will do this on a designated day of the week yet and as clever as I am (and humble too!) I haven’t been able to think of a catchy name either.  Ideas???

8 thoughts on “The End Is Near…

  1. What is the catergory on Jeopardy?? Before and After… that might work..

    Amazing how life and fitness can change in such a short amount of time. Congrats on your accomplishments. I look forward to reading more as I am a fairly new reader..

  2. Reflection is so powerful in moving forward and capturing the progress of how far we’ve come. You have done amazing things this year girlie and next year, you’re going to do even more!

  3. You really had a great race season! I’m so impressed!

    I’ve started running end of March this year so 2009 is my starting year, in 2010 I will try to improve myself and my times.

  4. I had no idea the end of the year was so close… that kind of startled me! How does the year go by so quickly?

    I think the reflection plan is a great one, I look forward to reading those posts!

  5. Since it’s nearly 5pm at the end of my work day, a very long and awful work day, I am fresh out of cute creative titles for your very cute and creative post idea.

    But I can’t wait to read your reflections!

  6. YAYA for the Phillies!! 🙂 Well I’m looking forward to what you have planned in 2010, so exciting. And awesome job on all the 2009 races. And wow, 10 weeks until 2010. NUTS!!

  7. Pingback: Gotta Snap Out Of It! « Finishing is Winning

Leave a Reply

