Home » Three Things » Three Things Tuesday- Holiday Edition

Three Things Tuesday- Holiday Edition

Happy Christmahanakwanza!!!! Does that cover it all?? In short, I want to wish you all a happy holiday season regardless of what you observe. And I want to see lots of pictures!!!!

In the spirit of the holiday, this Three Things Tuesday is dedicated to my favorite things, Christmas style.

Christmas Eve- I have always enjoyed Christmas Eve more than Christmas itself. Each year growing up, my grandparents would come over for a big dinner. We would listen to music, eat lots of yummy food and we would exchange our gifts. I am the oldest of the cousins on my mom’s side and youngest on my dad’s side and this has always been a special time for me to spend with my grandparents. After the grandparents leave, we (and sometimes friends come over) watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation. And every year we laugh our asses off. Unfortunately, this year has not been good to my grandfather. He had a stroke last winter, has been in and of the hospital and he is confined to a bed in his living room. My grandmother is by his side day and night. Needless to say, this Christmas Eve will be a little different from years past. Regardless, Christmas Eve is still my favorite and now the ones of the past hold an even more special place in my heart.

Best Surprise Ever- My parents always give me one gift on Christmas Eve. They try to choose something that is extra special. When I was twelve I opened a box with a note that said I had to call a number to find out what my gift was because it had not been ready in time. I have always been grateful for everything I recieved, so while I was a bit confused, I called. The phone rang and rang and rang. My mom insisted I call again and I was like “ugh” (I was twelve!!!) but I did. This time I got the answering machine. The message said something along the lines of “This is Jill’s own line…she does not know she has her own line…” and I just kind of stood there with my jaw dropped. Then it hit me. My very own phone line!! (Note to the young kids: this was before the days of cell phones and having your own line was pretty much the coolest thing ever!) I immediately called my friends and of course they all though I was spoiled (jealous much?) but everyone thought it was so cool. I have received many amazing gifts over the years, but that was by far the best surprise ever.

Giving- This is for real. I get serious joy out of thinking up gifts for people. I love finding just the right thing. Some of the biggest things I have ever done were for my parents. They are my most favorite people to buy for. They do so much for me and Christmas is the one time a year I really get to pay them back. One year, I booked them a trip (flight, rental car and hotel) to Key West for a long weekend! I am a good kid! And even though I have spent a lot of money of gifts in the past…some of the best gifts I have given are homeade. My favorite was the “memory jars” that I gave my group of closest friends a few years back. I typed up pages and pages of inside jokes and memories and added in a bunch of friendship quotes as well. I purchased mason jars, decorated them and then cut and folded all the papers to fit inside the jar. It was fun to make and cost next to nothing. And my friends loved it.

And since I requested them from you, I will share some photos of Christmas past…

I am pretty sure this was my 2nd Christmas. What I do know is that I don’t ever remember our tree being in that spot.

 

With my Godparents; year of the gag gifts.  And don’t knock my hat- that there is a genuine Debbie Gibson hat.  As for the stonewash jeans…well, what can I say, it was the 80’s!

Christmas 2008 with my brand new red peacoat.

What was your all time best holiday surprise?  Who is your favorite person to buy gifts for?

12 thoughts on “Three Things Tuesday- Holiday Edition

  1. Great memories! My favorite Christmas memory was Christmas Eve 2004. My 1st child was 1 month old and right before my family came over for dinner it snowed. Not a big deal unless you live in Houston where it only snows once every 10 years. Everything outside was white and I just remember looking out the front storm door with this new baby in my arms in the glow of the Christmas lights, thinking that my little world was perfect at that one moment.

  2. Christmas Eve is my favorite too! When I can’t be with my family on Christmas, I feel it more on Christmas eve than actual Christmas.
    I love buying gifts for everyone! I’m usually done all but 2 or so gifts by October 😉

  3. 1) I will be expecting my memory jar in the mail…

    2) Best Christmas ever was in Oregon with my Grandparents when I was a kid. The presesents that year didn’t matter.

  4. Best holiday surprise? Every year since my Daddy died my mother has come up with something sentimental (actually she started this with things with things from my grandparents a few years before Daddy died). One year it was a hand written cookbook with receips that my grandmother had written and pictures of the family throughout. One year it was a quilt made out of articles of clothing from the Daddy, his military clothing, work uniforms, fav ties… One year it was teddy bears made out of grams woolrich sweater and pappy’s wool coat. My mother is the best!

    I like buying for everyone! (I do not like getting gifts. It makes me uncomfortable. Really) I enjoy when I have found something really special for someone and I just know they will love it! Kids are often the best…I like their honest responses to the gift.

  5. i want to hug this post!!!!!!!!! it is so sweet and in the christmas spirit and happy and it is clear you have a great fam and traditions. i love that photo of you in the wagon! 🙂

    my three would be:
    1. christmas eve– we also watch christmas vaca!!! SOOOo ooo funny. i posted a pic from it on my blog today. we also watch a christmas story 🙂 you’ll shoot your eye out!!!! and it’s a wonderful life. okay we don’t watch ALL of those on xmas eve but at least one, and it might spill over the rest of the holiday break 🙂

    2. STOCKINGS!!!! this is just like your one present on xmas eve. we love our stockings b/c it is special small things, hand picked. they are the best.

    3. giving– i LOVE picking out gifts for people 🙂

    thanks for this post! very inspiring 🙂

  6. i love giving back to my parents too – especially at christmas! they’ve done a lot for me and deserve everything i could ever give them and more.

    lol about your phone line present. that would have definitely been sweet back in the day 🙂

  7. I love the photos!

    How cute that you got your own phoneline! I’ve since forgotten that I had to share the phone with the rest of my family when I was a teenager, hee hee.

    I love getting gifts for my parents too. I would love to send them off on a fab trip!

  8. I love your story about the phone. My parents did the same thing for my older brother and I loved it because the line was also put in my room! I love buying gifts for my kids – well, any kids. The pure joy on their faces when they get a gift they want is better than anything else.

  9. Love this post, brings the Christmas spirit right into my home.

    I love to buy gifts for my hub and my best friends. I’d rather give than receive.

    I love National Lampoon’s Christmas vacation. I saw in the TV guide it’s on again this Christmas so will probably watch it.

    We don’t celebrate Christmas Eve that much but we celebrate two Christmas Days: December 25th and 26th.

  10. This was such a lovely post!!!! I spoil my sister with gifts… and our favorite thing to give each other as gifts with my husband are trips – anywhere and everywhere.

Leave a Reply

