Home » Meeting Goals » 2010 Goals- Nutrition

2010 Goals- Nutrition

Before I begin there are three things you need to know:

  1. I love food.  All food.  And I refuse to deprive myself.  Even on weight watchers I always managed to enjoy my food and treat myself to the things I love most.
  2. I love to eat.  A lot.  I eat for all occasions…happy, sad, stressed, calm…I just like to eat.
  3. Since starting Weight Watchers a little over two years ago, I have come a long way.  But lately, I have been majorly slacking.  I see myself falling into the same habits that got me to Weight Watchers in the first place.  By no means do I think I am fat (at all- and it disturbs me when girls who aren’t at all fat, call themselves fat), but I have put on some weight over the last two months and I know how fast it can spiral.  It took a lot more hard work to lose the 25 lbs than it did to put them on.  This time, I am looking to stop the problem before it starts.  I don’t ever want to be back at a place where I cannot stand to look at myself.  I never want to be out of control again.  But in all honesty…that is where I see myself headed.  Luckily, because I have been down this road, I know I can do this…I know I have what it takes.

Nutrition Goals for 2010-

  • Be more consistent 1- One of the best things about Weight Watchers is that it taught me to eat small meals throughout the day.  I would eat breakfast, a snack, lunch, a snack, dinner and a snack.  I was never hungry and I ate a whole heck of a lot better.  In the last few months I have been struggling financially and therefore eating poorly.  Either I don’t eat at all or I eat a big meal to carry me through two meals.  This is perhaps the worst habit I have as far as eating goes and it must change.
  • Be more consistent 2- In addition to being off on the timing of my meals, I have also been off in there value.  Again, this has a lot to do with finances.  I haven’t been able to afford the foods I should be eating and therefore I eat much of my food where I work.  Employees get a school lunch for only $2.  It isn’t the worst food, nutritionally they are okay, and I think is is okay to have them once in a while but they aren’t cutting it for me on the daily.  And all too often I find myself eating pasta for dinner because it is cheap and lasts me more than one meal.  I have to be more aware of what I am eating throughout the day, regardless of my finances.
  • Budget for food- This is hopefully the solution I need for consistency.   I often skip food shopping because I don’t have money and then I just make do with what I have.  This year, I am going to better budget my money so I always have what I need to cook healthy meals in the house.
  • No more soda- In the past I have given up soda for years at a time.  It never bothered me.  Then one day, I started drinking Diet Coke at lunch. Eventually it was lunch and dinner and before I knew it I was buying it and keeping it in the house.  Suddenly I found myself drinking a lot of Diet Coke’s throughout the day/night.  Soda is no good.  As of Jan 1, 2010, soda is out.
  • Skip the scale- I do not keep track of my exact weight.  I stopped using a scale over a year ago and only get weighed at the doctor.  I try to concentrate more on how I feel than the number on the scale but it is difficult.  Starting in 2010, when the doctor weighs me, I do not want to know the number.  I am simply going to stand backwards on the scale and request they not tell me.  All it does it make me focus on the negative.  I can judge on my own simply by the clothes I wear and how I feel.  I do not need a number to define me.
  • Go back to the basics- This is quite simple…less fat, less calories, less sugar…and more of the good stuff.  Specifically more fruits and veggies.  Less whites and more whole grains.  More small meals and less huge meals.  More water.  Less bad and more good!

The new year is a good time for resolutions, but this is more than that…this is getting my life back on track.  I did so well for so long and in the recent months I really fell off the food wagon.  And it is time to get back on!!!

What are some of your 2010 nutrition goals?

16 thoughts on “2010 Goals- Nutrition

  1. more fruit and veggies, more clean eating, less fast food and processed foods. we are heading out today for a bit of a trip and last night i boiled 3 eggs and i made some trail mix b/c i do not want to fall into the fast food crap …..good luck with your goals.

  2. I think you have a handle on 2010! Great goals for nutrition! I think too many people focus on weight without realizing that sometimes you have to gain to loose. Muscle will always weigh more than fat. Good luck girl (not that you’ll need it!)

    I hope you had wonderful holidays!!! I’m going to start the daunting task of getting caught up on all my blog reading starting now… it’s going to be a long day… LOL!

  3. My goal is to continue to eat “close to the earth” – natural, whole foods!

    We had a stressful financial year two (our income was reduced by more than half) and have been doing a lot of shopping at ALDI. Do you ever go there?

    I stopped drinking soda last year and have not missed it at all! I bet you won’t either!

  4. My goal is to reach my goal weight by using Weight Watchers and exercise, exercise, exercise.

    My portions are too big so I need to control that.

    I’m wondering: in Holland fast/unhealthy food is usually more expensive than veggies/potatoes/pasta etc. Isn’t that the same in the USA? Because if it is you should be able to eat more healthy on your budget.

  5. i loved your thoughts on this! i agree- go by FEEL over number. i mean numbers are a great way to track and can be effective but it is also a potentially negative system as far as self-esteem and perceiving yourself go– which can get in the way of progress for sure.

    it’s interesting to think about consistency and food’s value– not just money but how it affects you and what it is worth for fuel and feeling.

    GOOD LUCK with your goals. i think they are clear and organized and will carry you on your mission:)

  6. Great goals – they are realistic and specific! The soda one is a really great way to improve health and drinking water is free. 🙂

    Eating healthfully is unfortunately more expensive, but try to cook as much as possible and bring leftovers to work, etc. Maybe get together with some girlfriends and make food you can freeze, etc. or make a big pan of something that you can divide to cut costs!

    This is a great post – I have some nutrition goals of my own to ponder and post about!

Leave a Reply

