Home » Life in General » Friendships & Blogging

Friendships & Blogging

Over the course of the last few weeks I have had some very interesting conversations with people about blogging.  It occurred to me that blogging is so much more like real life than I even thought. 

In real life I have great friends, good friends, acquaintances and people I just know. 

  • My great friends are my true few; the ones I count on for everything and that can count on me in return.  These are the people I need in my life- most whom have been around for many years and have seen me through good and bad.   They are the friendships I put the most effort into and the people I keep in contact on an almost daily basis through some form of communication.  And if I don’t talk to them or see them, that is okay too because these are people I never have to wonder about because I know where we stand. 
  • My good friends are those I have a great time with when I see them but that I don’t see as often.  However, it doesn’t matter how often I see them, when I do, we always pick up right where we left off no matter how much time has gone by. 
  • My acquaintances are those people who I say are my friends but that I really only see when they are with other people or on special occasions like birthdays.  I genuinely like these people and enjoy their company but they aren’t those I get together with one on one.
  • The people I just know are those whom I like, but aren’t really my friends.  They might be on my Facebook but generally they aren’t people I get together with unless it is a random event where we both know the same person.  And even then our communication usually consists of a hello, how are you and goodbye.  This group is mostly a mix of old co-workers and high school acquaintances. 

Blogging, in a many ways, is a lot like these friendships.  There are the blogs I love and read daily, the blogs I really like and try to read daily and the blogs I like but I only randomly read now and then.

  • The blogs I love and read daily have their own folder on my reader and are the first I hit on when I sign into google.  I have come to look forward to their next posts and count on them for advice in all different areas of tri’s/running/nutrition and life in general.  These are the people I feel like I have built connections with over the last year and have come to know outside of the blog world either by email, fb or phone. 
  • The blogs I really like and try to read daily are those that I really enjoy reading but either are new to me or have authors that do not blog often.  While these blogs are not my first priority, I do read all entries even if it takes me some time to get to them.
  • Blogs I like but I only randomly read now and then are blogs I usually read if the title strikes me or if I have found my way there through another blogger.  For the most part, blogs I start out reading only now and then becomes ones I end up reading more often as I get to “know” the writer.

I have to admit, I have become slightly picky about the blogs I read daily.  I really want to know who I am blogging with; when I talk about the blogs I read I like to mention their names and talk about who they are, not just what there blog is about. 

Does that make sense? 

When I first started blogging I quickly found out that, like in real life, not everyone is going to be interested what I have to say.  And not everyone cares that you commented them or asked them a question.  And you know what, I am totally okay with that!  I would rather have ten faithful readers who leave thoughtful comments than four-hundred readers who aren’t really reading.  It is why, in turn, I only have about 75 blogs in my reader- I don’ t want to feel overwhelmed with material and I want to be able to thoughtfully comment on those blogs I do read.  

How do you decide which blogs you read?  What matters to you when it comes to choosing the blogs your read?

With all of that said, I want my readers to know that I appreciate you all, especially when you leave super supportive and positive comments on posts like this one from the other day.  All of your words meant a lot to me and made me really happy with my decision to share that part of my life with you.  As I have said many times before, the support from all of you is one of my favorite things about having a blog 🙂

What do you love most about blogging? 

If you are a new reader and haven’t said hello, please let me know you are here (of course lurking is okay too…we have all done it) so I can say hi.  I love visiting new blogs 🙂

P.S.–> TGIF; hope you all have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

14 thoughts on “Friendships & Blogging

  1. What you are saying makes complete sense… I’ve had a personal blog since 2001. (Jill Will Run is my second personal blog. Still have the other one too.) I’m a GEEZER in the blogosphere. I’ve seen people trying to be the most popular kid on the block and I’m just not interested in trying to do that. Like you, if I have a few people who comment, but those are thoughtful comments that show they actually care about what I said (even if we disagree) that means a lot more than having thousands of drive-by commenters.

    But I do love having a community of people that all care about a common thing, or that even just want to chit chat and be friendly with one another, and blogging is great for that. So I definitely love the community side of blogging. I love being able to get my thoughts out of my head and into an orderly manner. And I love that I can write whatever I want on MY blog… I’m not married to an employer’s thoughts/demands/requirements. It’s all mine! (For some reason, I’m imaging maniacal cackling now… Mine! All mine! Bwa-ha-ha-ha….)

    Okay, this comment has gone on long enough. Just know that I definitely enjoy your site and feel a special kinship with you… maybe it has to do with the name!

  2. Hi! I just happened upon your blog this evening, so thought I would say hello. I like your category breakdown of friendships – makes perfect sense. I never really thought of it with regard to blogging – but so true. Thanks for the food for thought!

  3. I love this post! We always seems to be feeling the same way about things!

    The same things matter to me about reading blogs. If I am reading one and I never get a response back, EVER, I will unsubscribe. Yup. I don’t read those super bloggers. They are impersonal. It is important to me that I remember who the blogger is when I see they’ve updated or left a comment on my site!

    But, I do pick up a lot of new blogs to scope out!

    I love the support in the community and the opportunity to make new friends. Most of the friends I see in Chicago I met through their blogs!

    I wish I had more “great friends” in real life. I think I only have family that fall into that category.

  4. I have to admit that I have hit FOLLOW so many times that I miss those that I really want to read every day. I LOVE those who comment and I TRY to go around and “Talk” to people…but to find blogs that I READ, that is rare..

    Great points.. And THANK YOU for stopping in on Tall Mom 🙂 HUGS!!

  5. It’s funny how your description of your type of friends are exact the same as mine. I’ve got 3 best friends and one of them I met through the internet, she lives a bit further away but we try to see each other every two months and we have contact by sms every day.

    The way you read your blogs is also exact the same. I read my favourites everyday. I always respond to the people who respond on my blog. Blogging helped me in my weight loss journey a lot. I call some friends even though the possibility that I will ever meet them for real is small since most of my readers live in the US or Canada.

    I followed some popular blogs but the writers of those never bothered to visit or comment on my blog. I think they’re to busy being the Godmother/father of blogland 🙂 and don’t have much interest in other blogs. So I stopped following them.

    You are definitely on my favourite blog list!

  6. I usually give blogs about a trial run of a month. I’ll pop their feed into my reader, but if I find I start skipping their posts, then it’s time to move on.

  7. I like this post. Very honest and definitely rings true. I love reading blogs but yes there are definitely a handful that I never miss and feel a connection with and those I just read for fun!

  8. GREAT post. It’s so true. And there is SUCH an in-crowd thing going on with some blogs, too. Like the ones that have been around for a while. Sometimes it feels a little too much like the popular kids in high school.

  9. You know, I feel the same way. It’s hard for me to pick up and follow a new blog because I feel so invested in the ones I’ve been following for so long and have been with me since I started blogging. Your post makes total sense to me!

    Soooo…did you get outside for that run today? I hope you did!!! It was COLD! I did 7 and my face was frozen!

  10. This post came at a good time for me. Lately I’ve been feeling really overwhelmed by blogging and I think it because I am trying (and failing) to read too many blogs, and I should just stick to a few and really be dedicated to those…

  11. Firstly, congrats on your 1 year smoke free anniversary! I had my 4 year anniversary in Sept, you will too!! 🙂 The blogging community is such a wonderful support…one that I’m happy I found!

  12. This is a great post and one that I will actually think about before giving an honest response. It’s a fine line of keeping\getting readers and being a reader for others. It’s great to have 300 followers but if they are not reading and being inspired, educated, amused or informed by actually reading the posts we put up it doesn’t matter how many followers the counter shows.

    Now I wonder if I am making sense?

    I will continue to think on this one. Thanks for making me think.

  13. What a great parallel. I agree, blogging is getting to be as personable as friendships. I look forward to reading the blogs of my favorite people, and also getting to know new friends as well. Well said!

  14. Today I am reading your blog for the first time. What I like is when I find a blog/person that has some REAL things to say. I am on the bloggy thing to get more experience with running/triathlon that I cant get from the people around me. I dont get the super popular blog thing. I want to look back at my training journal and wonder what I thought/how I felt/how I have improved. I like people who are passionate about growth. Thank you for the comment on my blog too!

Leave a Reply

