Home » Good Days » 200th Post! Woo-Hoo!

200th Post! Woo-Hoo!

Warning: It’s going to be a long one folks!!!

Wow- post #200!!!  I remember being amazed when I got to 100 posts and here we are at 200!!  As it ends up, my blog’s one year anniversary is also right around the corner…so 200 posts in just under one year!  Here’s hoping for 200 more posts!!

Since it is a sort of unwritten rule that all bloggers celebrate their posts ending in -00, and I have already done a “100 Things”, I put a little something together:

73 MORE things about OneLittleTriGirl*:

6 Favorite songs to workout to:

  1. Move Along; All American Rejects- This was the song playing when I hit my wall during my first 1/2 marathon.  It was exactly what I needed at the time!
  2. Lose Yourself; Eminem- This song pumps me up no matter what kind of workout I am doing.
  3. Born To Run; Bruce Springsteen- Isn’t it obvious?
  4. BoomBoomPow; Black Eyed Peas- I have a lot of songs on my shuffle from the Black Eyed Peas. Their music makes me wanna move!
  5. Waking up in Vegas; Katie Perry- I won’t lie, I am in love with this song.  It just puts a smile on my face!
  6. My Hero; Foo Fighters- Starts out slow but speeds up.  I love this for the end of a warm up going into my work-out!

8 Favorite sports movies:

  1. Brian’s Song- The true story of friendship between Chicago Bears teammates Gale Sayers and Brian Piccolo.  If you do not cry while watching this movie, you are not human.
  2. Spirit of the Marathon- I could write a whole post on this but just believe me when I say that it is one of the most inspiring documentaries I have ever watched.  I would recommend it for any athlete, not just runners.
  3. Murderball- Speaking of inspiring documentaries.  This is an amazing story that follows the lives of wheelchair rugby players from many different angles.  This is a must see!
  4. Raging Bull- I love Scorsese and DeNiro so this is a win-win.  And I think this is one of the best movies ever made.
  5. Million Dollar Baby- Hilary Swank is amazing. Eastwood is amazing. Freeman is amazing. The movie: Amazing!
  6. A League of Their Own- Before softball there was the NWBL.  This movie is on my Top 10 all time favorites.
  7. Miracle- How can you not love this true story about the 1980 Olympic Hockey team and greatest upset in sports history?!?!?
  8. Friday Night Lights- This is the way movies should be done!  It stays true to the book, it really focuses on people and has unexpected elements.

6 Must have items for training:

  1. Body Glide-  Before I knew this gem existed, I was a chafing mess! Without it, I would probably not be running.
  2. Road ID- This really should be a must-have for everyone.
  3. Watch- Just a regular stop watch, nothing fancy.
  4. Swim Cap- I have a lot of hair. Swimming with my hair in my face, mouth and wrapped around my neck is not fun.
  5. Goody Hair Ties-  I swear by ’em!
  6. IT Bands- My knees do not like me when I don’t wear these!

8 U.S. Road Races I want to do eventually:

  1. Philadelphia Marathon- When I finally get around to doing my first marathon, this is the one.  I am shooting for 2011 but don’t hold me to it…I know how fast plans can change.  Time will tell…
  2. Oklahoma City Memorial Half Marathon- I have always wanted to visit this memorial site so when I found out it was the site of a race I knew I had to put it on my list!
  3. New York Marathon- Let’s pretend I do decide to run the Philly Marathon…I will then shoot for this one.  Perhaps I will enter the lottery next year just to light the fire under my butt!
  4. Nike Women’s Marathon- Um, Tiffany’s necklace.  Trip to California.  Nuff said.
  5. Boilermaker 15K- I have the chance to do this in 2010 but it is the same weekend as Philly Women’s Tri to which I am already committed.  Unfortunately, one year I will have to miss the PWT to do this race…for the race, but also for the post race party I am always hearing about!
  6. Big Sur Half Marathon- It’s been rated the #1 race in the world and is said to be the most beautiful coastline in the world.  Yeah, yeah…I heard all about the hills.  A good challenge is needed now and then so bring it!
  7. Napa Valley Half Marathon- Bring on the wine!
  8. St Jude’s Memphia Half Marathon- If I ever hit the lottery, I will donate so much money to this hospital they will have to re-name the race after me!

8 Triathlons I want to do eventually:

  1. Timberman 70.3- Chrissie Wellington gives out the medals.  If I am ever going to take on the 70.3 challenege, which I do plan to do, this is the race for me!  It’s close enough to drive to, is an amazing course and many of my teammates love this race.  Oh, and did I mention Chrissie?
  2. Escape to Alcatraz- I won’t lie…initially it was simply the name of the race that drew me in.  But then I read about it and knew it had to be on my list of races.
  3. Boulder Peak Colorado- Colorado is the triathlete mecca, therefore eventually, I must race here.
  4. Wildflower Olympic- Billed as one of the most grueling courses ever.  I like to think I could handle grueling!
  5. Aflac IronGirl- I love women only races; the vibe is different and they are so relaxed and fun.
  6. Lifetime Fitness- I am trying to live the life of “lifetime fitness” and a trip to Minnesota wouldn’t be so bad!
  7. Nautica South Beach- I want to do this for two reasons…location and because proceeds benefit St. Judes.
  8. The Lobsterman- I would like to go to Maine and eat Lobster.  Midas well do a tri too!

6 Favorite Brands for Gear:

  1. Brooks- These shoes have never let me down.
  2. Asics- Their 4-pocket shorts are awesome!
  3. C9- Target carries this low-price well made sister brand of Champion.  I own most of the collection.
  4. NikeFit- By far my favorite for long-sleeved shirts.
  5. Balega- My feet love these socks and so do I.
  6. Adidas- I wear a lot of adidas for pilates but they also make great gym bags.  They are durable, roomy and last forever!

6 Tri/Running Athletes I would love to meet:

  1. Chrissie Wellington- The first article I ever read in regards to Triathlon was about Chrissie after she had just won Kona for the first time.  Since then, she has won two more times.  And she is sweet, genuine and humble.  And always smiling.  She is an amazing role model and I just love her!
  2. Andy Potts- In addition to being super good on the eyes, he is also an amazine athlete.  A few people I know have met him and reported him to be one of the nicest, down to earth people.
  3. Kara Goucher- I think she is one of the most real girls/athletes around.  Her most recent article in Runners World is a must read!
  4. Sam McGlone- Another female athlete that I admire.  I especially enjoy her monthly articles in Triathlete Magazine.
  5. Jim MacLaren- First he lost his legs after being hit on his motorcycle.  He made a comeback to the triathlon world and at an IM race (that was supposed to be a closed course) he was hit head-on by a car and was paralyzed.  After hitting rock bottom he once again made a comeback to the sport.  He is the epitome of turning tradgedy into triumph.
  6. Rick & Dick Hoyt- This father-son duo is beyond inspiring.  Every time I see them at a race or hear about them, I am blown away by their spirit.  If you want to check them out…here is a great story on them.

6 Things that (I think) set me apart from most people:

  1. I dislike chick flicks big time.  There are only a handful of exceptions.  If I can tell what the entire movie is about, solely based on the preview, I have no need to watch it for two hours.
  2. I have no desire to read Harry Potter or Twilight anything.  I had to read the first HP for a class and that is the only reason I did. And I didn’t like it.
  3. I love adventure sports; the more excitement the better!  And I don’t care about getting dirty!  I have done a mud race before but I want to do an adventure race SO bad!
  4. I don’t care about the latest and greatest anything…I do not own a flat screen, a Garmin, a iphone or blackberry, an apple mac, a fancy Ipod…etc.  As I have said in previous posts…I just don’t need more than I need.
  5. I do not like Disney.  I think they are astronomically overpriced and their movies are sexist to women.  Thankfully, my mom LOVES Disney and she can take my future children to Disneyworld so they do not grow up deprived.
  6. I do not see myself as old, but rather still quite young.  I know a lot of girls my age who think of themselves as getting old and I just don’t get it.

8 Blogs/Bloggers I absolutely love, love, love**:

  1. Caution: Redhead Running
  2. Das Mixture
  3. Shaped By Running
  4. Jill Will Run
  5. The Happy Runner
  6. ILaxStudio
  7. Lacey’s Common Objects and Everyday Events
  8. Chasing the Kenyans

10 Favorite Posts:

  1. What I’ve Learned- Part 1
  2. Too Slow to Race?
  3. 100th Post and Big News
  4. TiaRT-Sponsored By Yours Truly
  5. Where It All Began
  6. Blog Fireworks
  7. Balance- Hard Work and Sacrifice
  8. 25 Things-Swim, Bike, Run Style
  9. Giving Thanks
  10. My Year In Racing

1 Thing that defined where Tri’s/Running could take me:

  1. My first tri- I had no idea what I was getting into when this whole journey began and I was not nearly as prepared as I should have been for my first race.  I had never done a “brick” work-out and the outcome was me taking a face first flying leap off the bike when I dismounted.  OUCH!  I almost quit right then and there.  But with some words of encouragement from my mom and a helping hand from family and friends, I ran the two miles with bloody knees and finished.  Finishing that race was the single best moment I have had to date.  After the race I just wanted to get better.  And I have.  That first race changed the course of my life.

If you read all this, thank you!  And if you didn’t that’s okay too- I had fun writing it anyway 🙂

*I like the number 7 and the number 3…so incase you were like “where is the 73 coming from?” now you know!

**Of course, as I have said 3278 times before, I love and appreciate you all.

27 thoughts on “200th Post! Woo-Hoo!

  1. Great post. I like lists so this post works for me. I am always looking for good sports movies andnew blogs. I will check out the ones in both I am not familiar with. Running on the Sun is another good sports movie. I am with you on the Brooks shoes and really like Nike Dri Fit. Congrats on 200 posts.

  2. Congrats on 200 posts!! Great list, this was a lot of fun to read! Love Chrissie too…. and having done the Nike Women’s in SF, I gotta tell you that it’s a must-do. So much fun, and yes, the Tiffany necklace given by firemen…. 😉

  3. Woo hoo! 200! Yay!!!! I loved the randomness of the 73 things and what great topics! I have some new athlete’s and blogs to check out now! Congrats on 200 and Happy almost Anniversary!
    16 more days!!!!!

  4. oh my gosh, woo HOOOOO! big WOO HOOO! 🙂 i love milestones and isn’t it AWESOME to just have yourself here on the blog?

    i looooooooooooove lists. i loved reading through this whole thing. if it was 73 straight things i’d prolly have a tough time but i really enjoyed all of your categories. i also have some movies i now need to watch.
    I CRY SO HARD every time i watch brian’s song. but i love it b/c it makes me feel so strongly and for it’s story and emotions. ahhh i’m tearing up just thinking about it. and that music. gosh. **tissue!!!**

    i should try body glide. i get sports bra chafing. i try to use vaseline but it doesn’t always work.

    XOXOOXOXOXOOOOO big time thank you for the shout out. i feel so loved!

    i have heard of the *few* people who don’t like HP and twilight!!!! i just assume everyone likes them 🙂 i guess you probably saved yourself like 2 weeks by not reading any of those books… hahaha.

    happy 200th!

  5. Wow! 200 posts! That’s awesome!
    Loved the six things that set you apart from most people: I was a little disapointed with you not wanting to read Harry Potter 😦 That’s okay…you’re still super cool in my book 🙂

  6. This is a FUN format.. And what a great way to capture sooo many different topics. Cracks me up because I am the EXACT opposite in so many ways, I love girly movies and am addicted to my Gamin 🙂 But you know what makes us different makes us special..

  7. OMG! Congrats! You are doing a good job with your blog!

    I love, love, love your blog!

    About the old thing. Can I admit something bad? I kinda started avoiding and almost brought socializing to zero with ladies who are 25-30 and bitch about being old. Seriously, I’m 25, and I don’t consider myself old. And I don’t think I will be when I’m 30. Fudge, I admire ladies who are super active, are in their 50’s and look better than these 25-30 year olds bitching about being old. I hope I’m like that when I’m 50.

    Also, I want to do those same races as you. You’ve got me too excited about those!!! Lunch to be spent researching.

  8. if there is one thing i love, it’s listing things! very nice!

    also, very nice to “meet you” via blog, it’s great to meet other triathletes from rutgers, especially ones in the same general profession and program as me!

  9. I am so honored to be on your list! You are definitely on mine (well, my mental one).

    I have only seen three of those movies! Time to get cracking!

    I am anti-new+flashy too. I am not against technology, but against using it as a way to try to show superiority. Make sense?

    Wouldn’t it be great to meet Kara? She seems so cool.

  10. I’m so flattered to be included in your blogger love list!

    And I love this post, just a little more insight into you! I haven’t read the Kara Goucher article yet but I was so excited to see her on the cover of RW. I always feel like a little connection to her (not because of our matched running skills!) because she’s my age and she seems so real and honest.

  11. Congratulations on your 200th post and what a great one to read.

    As a hugh Springsteen fan I’m happy to see you’ve got him on your fav workout list 🙂
    I see we have the same music preference since a lot on your list are on my ipod also.

    And I love Harry Potter 😆 and recently started reading the Twiligt Saga which I love also 🙂

    Look forward to the next 200th posts!

  12. i just found your blog off Lacey’s blog the other day. I am entering my first TRI season and I am going to have the pleasure of seeing Chrissie and I hope she gives me my medal! I live right down the road so I have seen Chrissie in action several times. She has the strangest running stride but some how runs with a HUGE smile on her face

  13. congrats on the big 200! 🙂 wow i am honored to have made the list of 8 blogger shoutouts 🙂 you made my day, heck week! thanks!

    i can’t believe you don’t like chick flicks! haha. i have to be in the mood for the REALLLY cheesy ones like “from justin to kelly” or something.

  14. Agree with you on the workout songs, especially ‘Move Along.’ You should rent “Saint Ralph” if you haven’t seen it yet. Amazing running movie!

  15. Pingback: 300th Post…WooHoo! « Finishing is Winning

  16. Pingback: The Seven Links Post « Finishing is Winning

  17. Pingback: Happy Two Years & 400 Posts To My Blog « Finishing is Winning

Leave a Reply

