Home » Life in General » Too Much Snow, Not Enough Running!

Too Much Snow, Not Enough Running!

And the snowpocalypse 2010 continues!

Here are some photos from Tuesday that I took at  my work- three days after the first snowstorm hit:

 

And as if the 22.5 inches of snow weren’t enough last Saturday, we got pounded again starting last night around 10pm.   

There was about 3-4 inches this morning and then it started sleeting so everything was icy and gross. 

Here are some photos from about 11am this morning:

There was a small window of time late this morning when it didn’t snow at all, but then it started coming down hard.  By late this afternoon we had 7.5 inches.  As I write this, we have had 12inches and it is still coming down; about an inch every 45 minutes with no intentions of stopping until early tomorrow morning. 

These were taken around noon today:

Getting a work-out the only way I could!!!

And these are from around 3pm:

And at around 5pm:

Around 6pm my parents (who are crazy!) went for a drive and my mom captured these amazing shots:

So yeah, snowed in.  Today.  And again tomorrow.  And possibly Friday.

With only a week and a half until my first race of the season this is a very bad time to be snowed in.  However, it seems I did a little something to my groin area last weekend and it is causing me a bit of discomfort.  By not having the ability to go out, it is forcing me to stay in and take care of myself.  Rest, Ice, Stretch.  Repeat and repeat!

For now, the only working out I am doing is shoveling and some ab work indoors.  And lots and lots and lots of stretching!  I hope to get to the gym Friday but I plan to just cycle, not run.  And even that depends on the weather.  As for the weekend, I will see how I feel over the next couple of days and then decide how I want to move forward with my planned 6.5 miles on Sunday.  I don’t want to do anything to further aggrevate my problem but at the same time I cannot afford to be completely off of it either.  ACK!  Talk about bad timing!

Have I mentioned how much I hate the snow?!?!?!  Cause I do. 

But I got this going for me:  8 days until Florida ♥

It can snow all it wants right now, as long as it stops by next week so I can get down to Orlando/Jacksonville!!!

 

How are my fellow east coasters dealing with the snow?  What do you do when you are homebound to keep from going crazy?? 

14 thoughts on “Too Much Snow, Not Enough Running!

  1. you guys have gotten soooooo much snow it’s unbelievable. well boston had a big ol fake out today 🙂 we got sent home early and we have MAYBE half an inch on the ground. lol. it’s just wet. super scary 😉 hehehe.

    FLORIDA…!!!!!!!!! wah wahhh i’m so jealous 🙂

    at least you are “forced” to rest 🙂 you’ll be more than ready to go when you’ve got some clear roads to run on 🙂

  2. Thanks for sending me some good vibes:) Wowzer, did you get hit with a crap load of snow!! Great pictures. the snow is so pretty:)

  3. Yay FL- although it was only about 50 today-which made everyone dress up in winter jackets haha! I have to say…I do not miss the snow at all from WI- pictures are fine for me

  4. wow….that is a ridiculous amount of snow. I feel bad for complaining about what we’ve gotten. The weather has been totally nuts this year!! Good luck on your upcoming race and yay Florida. I’m headed to Ft. lauderdale week after next and cannot wait to get some sunshine and warm weather!!

  5. we were snowed in in NY yesterday too. Great pics by the way! I stayed in all day and caught up on all my blog reading to keep from going insane. Today though, we’re back at work. Hopefully I’ll be able to get back to workouts tomorrow.

    Can I come to Florida with you? Please????? This has been a long winter! And we escaped last weekend’s storm.

  6. P.S. Just checked the 10 Day forecast – 64 degrees when you arrive followed by sunny days til Saturday… same for Jacksonville. Excellent race conditions if I do say so myself!

  7. I don’t live where it snows, but I really do like the snow. It’s so pretty and I would KILL for a forced snow vacation. We go to Lake Tahoe a lot in the winter and summer and always pray to be “snowed in,” alas, my luck sucks and that never happens. It’s so pretty where you live! We are all excited around her because finally the hills and mountains around us are green again, not the ugly brown, or “California golden” they like us to think it is 🙂
    Yay for FL! You are going to appreciate the whole vacation that much more! And I wouldn’t worry too much, a few days off won’t ruin your fitness, only improve it and help those legs out! 😉

  8. beautiful snow pics. it’s so pretty… but a huge pain sometimes! especially when you just want to workout/run/get out of the house 🙂

    hope you are able to get to the gym tomorrow for some endorphins.

  9. Pingback: Snow-ver IT!!! « Finishing is Winning

Leave a Reply

