Home » Three Things » Paying It Forward & Three Things Tuesday

Paying It Forward & Three Things Tuesday

I have to give a HUGE shout out to Lacey over at Objects and Events–> she posted about Iherb.com, which I had never heard of AND she is paying it forward by supplying a discount code.  The super amazing fabulous good news is this: THEY HAVE LARA BARS for $20/box!!!!   I have yet to find a place near me that sells Lara Bars by the box, so yeah, it took me all of about 3.5 seconds to make a purchase!  I also picked up some free samples while I was there 🙂  My total with S&H was under $20.  Score, score and score!!!  If you want to check it out, I would also like to pay it forward; I have a discount code for first time buyers: IDE178.  Happy Shopping 🙂

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Three Things Tuesday- Vacation Edition

Flying Alone–  This is my first time flying alone and I won’t lie…I am totally nervous.  I am not the world’s best flyer to begin with and being alone makes me even more jittery.  I don’t like taking off, and I always worry about who is going to sit next to me.  I am space hog and I like a window seat.  I am flying Southwest and I paid the extra $10 to board early in an attempt to secure a window seat but it is just like me and my Type A personality to already be stressing.  Additionally, it never fails that I end up next to the guy who spits when he talks, the kid behind me who will kick my chair or the woman who put half a bottle of perfume on.  I know I will be fine as long as I remember to breath.

Making the most of it- This is probably the most jam-packed trip I have ever taken.  And I love it!  I am looking so forward to everything we have planned.  I know it is going to be busy and I am sure when I return home I will need a vacation from my vacation, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

Save the ta-tas- The whole trip began with a simple email between myself and the Redhead.  I had thought about going to Ft. Lauderdale for the A1A half-marathon which is also this weekend and asked if she would like to join me.  She responded that she had the Donna Half-Marathon planned and then within a few more emails I decided to also do this race and the trip was being planned.  I am running in honor of my Mom-Mom, a two-time breast cancer survivor and one of the strongest women I know.  My Mom-Mom is what being a survivor is all about.  I look forward to crossing that finish line in honor of all survivors and in memory of all those who unfortunately lost their battle.  And there is more to love about this race: 100% of race proceeds and funds raised are donated to breast cancer research.  Hopefully, we will see a cure for this horrible disease sooner rather than later!

20 thoughts on “Paying It Forward & Three Things Tuesday

  1. Have a great time in Fl. and thank you so much for doing the race to help “save the ta-tas as you say. My Mom past from breast cancer at the young age of 53 so yes you’ll be running in the memory of many you don’t even know. I’m sure the spirit of all those fighting the fight will carry you along strong!
    Run safe….
    Finishing is Winning!

  2. You are going to have such a fun time! Don’t worry about the travel, you’ll sit next to a hottie this time.

    I always need a vacation from a vacation. Have a blast.

  3. Hope you have a uneventful flight! I’ve flown Southwest a few times on my own and its been pretty calm and I just board with the other riff-raff:) Good luck this weekend! Its a great reason to race for sure. I’m gonna be in Ft. Lauderdale a few days after the A1A race..sounds like a nice one for the future. Enjoy your race and vacation!!

  4. 2 days, 2 days, 2days!!! I can’t wait! It is a jam packed weekend, but at least it’s jam packed with FUN!!! So excited? In case you didn’t already know this! See you in 2 DAYS!

  5. Try to not worry about the flight…after all, it only takes, what, two hours to get to Orlando? If I can make half a dozen solo trips across the Atlantic, you can certainly fly to Florida! 😉 And I’ve vowed to never fly coach again because I have issues with my personal space being invaded too…I’ll pay the extra cash to be more comfortable in business class any day!

  6. Woo hoo, “Save the ta tas!” You are going to have a blast!! I am sending you good flight vibes:) Wouldn’t it be awesome if the flight wasn’t totally booked and you ended up with a row to yourself:) You could take a nap!!

    I think it is very special that you are running for your mom:) Very cool!! Have a great time and take lots of pictures!!

  7. YAY!!! i totally didn’t even see that they had larabars– that is a major SCORE. woo hoo!

    good luck traveling!!! i haaaaaaate flying. i hate being stuck with so many people in such close quarters. i also grab an aisle seat so i can get up whenever i want and stretch my legs out in the aisle too. you should fly jet blue– you get to pick your seat ahead of time when you book!!!

    HAVE FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. What a great cause to run for. As soon as they organize a run for cancer in common here in Holland I sign up. Lost my Dad to it.

    Don’t worry about flying alone, you’ll do fine.

    I had flown twice in my life and then went to the USA all by myself. I was scared to death but I made it 🙂

  9. My mom is a 2-time breast cancer survivor too, so the whole cause behind that race is important to me too! I’m glad that race exists and hope to do it someday.

    I kind of like flying by myself… it makes me feel a little free. When I fly with my husband it’s stressful because he’s a very nervous flyer

    Great deal on the Larabars! I may have to take advantage!

  10. I’m flying Southwest at the end of March and am confused on why they don’t have seat assignments?!?! Let me know how everything goes and if the $10 was worth it.

    I bought a bunch of Lara bars on practically everyone’s recommendations- but they’ve sit in my cupboard- I’m nervous to try them, mostly because I think I looked at the ingredients.

    Good luck on the half! Sounds like a wonderful way to honor your Mom-Mom- I’m sure she is super proud of you!

Leave a Reply

