Home » 500 Mile Club » This, That, and More Friggen Snow!

This, That, and More Friggen Snow!

Dear Spring…it goes without saying, but I will anyway…GET HERE NOW!  Thanks! With love, Jillian

Guess what happened last night???  It snowed.  Again. Tired of it yet?  I am!

Honestly, I never thought the day would come when a snow day pissed me off but I have had it!  Even the kids at my school are totally over it at this point. 

After two very long posts, my vacation recap here and race recap here, I am in the mood for a list format:

  • A few thank you’s to my commenters: 
    • THANK YOU for all your kind words of sympathy in regard to my grandfathers passing.  He fought the good fight and while I know he is as peace, I already miss him immensely. 
    • THANK YOU for all the tu-tu love!  Morgan and I both felt extreme pride in racing for such an amazing cause.  It seems (sadly) that when it comes to cancer, everyone has a story.  100% of race proceeds were donated; 70% to cutting edge breast cancer research and 30% to the Donna Foundation.
  • I have to give a shout out to all my new readers!  🙂
  • Libby and Suzy,  I have not forgotten your give-a-way prizes.  My chaotic life + the snow = no post office visits this week.  They are coming, I promise!
  • In addition to my grandfather passing away, my mom also broke her foot last weekend.  She is at the dr as we speak so please sent some good thoughts/prayers that she only needs a cast/boot and not surgery!
  • I knew I wouldn’t get my scheduled workouts in with all the viewing and funeral stuff, but now with the snow (yesterday and today) I am still workout’less.  I really, really, really hope my gym is open today.  I need to get a workout in!  The most I have done since last Sunday is some ab work in my living room. 
  • Now that the Donna Half-Marathon is run and done, my focus has switched to the Shamrock Half-Marathon on March 21st in Virginia Beach.  I will be heading down there with two of my friends (was supposed to be three, but unfortunately, my one friend had to back out) and I cannot wait.  I can tell you right now, there will NOT be any tu-tu wearing but that doesn’t mean I won’t be getting in the Irish spirit!
  • Not that it feels like it here, but March is right around the corner which means swim and bike training are going to start soon!  No more slacking on spin class as I have been for the past three months and it is time to get back in the pool!  I am actually looking very forward to the pool and I think it will be good for my hip as well.

PiF 500++ Mile Club Update: I am continuing to put my money away for each mile I run/bike and it is exciting to see the pile grow!  I find myself rounding up as well so there is definitely some extra going in the jar!  My original goal was 650 miles for the year, and while I intend at this point to still hit that number, I know that I might have to re-think it given the hip issue.  So far, I am behind in my miles, but not so far behind that it can’t be made up at this point.  For now, I am going with it and I figure at the six month point I will assess the situation and go from there. 

Are you in the PiF 500 Mile+ club?  If so, how is it going for you?

Hope you have a good weekend!  Good luck to all those racing this weekend 🙂

 

 

21 thoughts on “This, That, and More Friggen Snow!

  1. I can’t believe ya’ll got MORE snow. Dude I’m sorry… I don’t even know what to say at this point!!! If it makes you feel better (and I know it doesnt) it’s been really cold here… yeah nevermind… I’ve got nothing. 😦

    P.S. When I was packing last night I found you leg straps in my after race bag!!! I will send them out on Monday when I get back from Tampa.

  2. Hahah, what a coincidence! I actually saw that this morning also. I just was checking out your blog yesterday from reading Morgan’s and was excited to see another NJ runner/triathlete! Do you have any interest in the NJ State Tri? It’s really such a great race!

  3. Hey Girl! So sorry to hear about the forecast…. ENOUGH ALREADY… Darn! As Morgan said, it’s cold here, too, but hey, no snow, so I’ll shut up now! 🙂 Will catch up on your recap today. Saw one tu-tu pic – super cool! I’m still home – a week now. Not so good. Left comment on DM. May not be a princess after all… 😦 Glad to see your PiF update. sorry to hear about miles, but weather, life, and injuries are wreaking havoc on lots o’ folks so far this year. Take care of you, and remember – your goal is yours. All that you earn is more than what you started with, right? I’m behind, too, but will continue to push toward my goal. I see lots of extra mileage happening when I’m healthy again! (and no biking or swimming for me!) I should be at 120 as of Sunday. At last count, I was at 83? 84? Haven’t run in 8 days and counting… *sigh* HUGS from O-town!

  4. Sorry about the snow! I’m actually heading TO the snow tomorrow to snowboard with the fam 🙂
    Hang in there, hope you can get your workout in! And enjoy the weekend!

  5. I hope after this snow storm it finally stops! I can’t wait for the day that I can run again-pain free in my hip! Hopefully that is soon for both of us and we can start up the miles again 🙂

  6. We are dealing with WIND and snow. A lovely combination!

    I hope your mom’s foot heals quickly. Ouch.

    Your next half will be here before you know it! Time is flying!

  7. i have wanted to run in virginia beach i think i saw an ad for that race awhile ago. that is coming up, huh!!! well you are all trained 🙂

  8. I’m so happy the snow is gone here. Okay now it’s raining a lot but I’m not complaining 🙂

    I love the sign, made me laugh.

    Best wishes for your mom, hope it al heals soon and well.

  9. Yep, sick of snow. It can go away now…and take the cold temps with it, too! I am truly sorry about your grandpa and about your mom’s foot :(! I wish I could write ya a novel and express my words but know that I’m thinking of ya!

    I finally got around to your long TuTu race report and I LOVE it, every single second of it!! Thanks for sharing it. And I’m so jealous of that beach!!!!!

    Happy Weekend, girl!!

  10. Shamrock Marathon is so much fun! I did the full one last year and it was great, so many people cheering, a wonderfully flat course, and for me, the biggest bonus was there were so many hotels around it was pretty cheap.
    And of course, the part of the run on the boardwalk with the ocean was pretty great.
    Lucky!!!

  11. Yikes, sorry to hear about your mom’s foot! Glad you had a great half, and fun with Morgan! I was bummed that I didn’t get to meet her when I was in O-town, oh well. Sorry, but that sign is too funny, but you have been getting pummelled by snow! I’m so over winter already. Have a great weekend!

  12. I’m definitely hearin’ ya on the snow! Fortunately, we’re getting a little heat wave here right now which has done wonders for my attitude the last couple of days! So, you are the one who ran with Morgan! Sounds like you had a great time for a great cause! Definitely sending good wishes for your mom!

  13. Jill, so sorry to hear about your grandfather. I’ve been in the work abyss and have not been reading blogs or working out, other than abs in my living room. I feel your pain. Planning a run tomorrow. And yes, on Long Island, we got slammed with snow again too, although maybe not as much as you this time since we had rain all day Thursday before it switched over.. If I never see another snowflake again, it will be too soon. I’m ready for spring!

  14. you are not lying girl! it freakin snows all the time. at least it’s never been a huge dumping here though, i guess. still, i’d like to have one weekend where it doesn’t snow! we’re almost out of all this junk, right? warm weather IS coming, right?!??!

  15. Sorry, but I love snow so I hope we get more before spring comes. No worries about getting to the post office…life is busy all around. I hope you have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

