Home » About Me » The Real Jersey Girl And What I Love About NJ

The Real Jersey Girl And What I Love About NJ

Today I am dedicating my post to Kandi and Rick because they dedicated their runs to me today 🙂  Kandi, one of my newest readers, did 5.5 miles for me and when I saw that it really brightened my day!  Rick told me yesterday that his run planned for today is for me as well!  So basically Rick, if you don’t end up running, or dedicating it to me, I will have to renege this whole statement and I will look like a fool.  And since you are a Mets fan, you know all about lookin a fool.  And I know you wouldn’t want that for me 🙂

Todays questions, from Fran and Indi, are all about NJ 🙂 

Q: How did you end up in NJ?  This is pretty easy, I was born here 🙂  I live now in the same house I grew up in, although I have spent time living elsewhere over the years.   When I was 18, I moved down to Fort. Lauderdale, Florida for three months.  At 18!!!  It was huge for me because it would be my first time away from home for an extended period of time and because I am super close with my family.  My original plan was to find a college down there, come back to NJ for my Sophomore Year of college and then think about moving to Florida.  And I really liked it in Florida; it was hot as hell but I lived only a few blocks from the beach and loved my job at a tanning salon.  But then my boss got arrested, I had trouble finding another job, I was getting homesick, I missed my friends and I was excited to get back home.  Still, I hadn’t ruled out moving back to Florida.  But then my life was flipped upside down with personal tragedy.  After that, I couldn’t imagine living so far away.  I wanted to be in NJ, where all my family and friends were and really, where my heart was too. 

Q: Have you ever seen Bruce Springsteen walking around or in concert? I have seen Bruce in concert 🙂  Springsteen is from further north in New Jersey (North and South Jersey really should be two different states!!!) and while I have never seen him just walking around, I do know people who live in his area and have met him.  Word is, he is as awesome in person as he comes off. 

*Interesting little life tidbit–> I was born on July 9, 1981…the same day that Springsteen introduced his song “Jersey Girl” in the Meadowlands during his River Tour.  So yes, I am the real deal…a true Jersey Girl ♥

Q: What are you favorite NJ hangouts?  Most of my favorites places in NJ are in South Jersey (I hardly ever go to North Jersey, unless it is for a concert or when I used to visit friends in college) but my most favorite places are downtheshore.  Wildwood is not only my favorite place in NJ, but one of my favorite places in the world as well.  It is my home away from home.  My favorite places there are Duffers, Echos and Westys.  I also like the Quaterdeck @ Tropicana in Atlantic City and pretty much every restaurant in Ceasers Pier!  I also love the entire towns of Haddonfield and Collingswood; they have amazing shoppes and restaurants and are also great places to run!  As for places closer to home, my favorite place is called the Towne Tavern.  For a while it was known as Madison Pub, but after a few years it went back to its original roots as the tavern.  They have great food, really good drinks and it is a place to go in jeans or dressed up.  Whenever I have people visit, I always take them there!

Answering these got me thinking about how much there is to love about living in Jersey.  There is a lot to love, and depending on where in the state you live those loves might be different, but these are my favorites 🙂

  1. We don’t pump gas!  Score one for us!  Kind of makes me want to put my hands on my head and yell nanny-nanny-boo-boo to all of you who do have to pump!
  2. My location is amazing.  Honestly, regardless of where you live in NJ, you are never further than 45 minutes from a beach or two hours further from the major neighboring cities (Philly and NYC), plus we are the home of Atlantic City 🙂  I feel like I have the best of both worlds; I live in a small town, only 20 minutes from Philly and a little over thirty minutes from the closest shore town.  And being only an hour away from A.C. is great too; I am not a huge gambler, but they have great shopping outlets, restaurants and bars.  It is good for a day trip or for an overnight get-a-way.
  3. We have WaWa.  I know a few other states have them, but no one loves them like we do…and no other state has as many as we do!  Seriously they are everywhere (I pass 5 on my morning commute!) and when I lived in Florida, I missed them so much!  They are a one-stop-shop for gas, food and coffee (the best around!), plus they are open 24 hours and there is nothing better after a late night boozin than a WaWa hoagie!
  4. Diners.  I think, maybe other than tomatoes, this is what we are best known for here considering we have been dubbed the “diner capital of the world”.  There are probably more diners in NJ than there are WaWa’s!  Depending on what town you live in, usually depends on which diner is your favorite.  Before the age of 21, they are the place to go for late nights out with friends…usually with one plate of fries to share and three pots of coffee.  After the age of 21, it is where the party continues after the bars close…and but with a lot more food and water instead of coffee!
  5. We have respectable celebrities.  As in, they have real credentials!  Something other than having a big butt and a sex tape.  Just to name a few: Jack Nicholson, Susan Sarandon, Queen Latifah, Bon Jovi, Zach Braff, Bruce Springsteen, Meryl Streep, Nathan Lane and Elisabeth Shue.  Many of the celebrities who are from New Jersey still either live here or have homes here and often speak of their own Jersey pride.

These were fun questions, thanks girls!

How about you readers…do you still live where you were born?  What are some of your favorite things about where you live?

 

15 thoughts on “The Real Jersey Girl And What I Love About NJ

  1. Indeed I did dedicate today’s run to you! I toughed it out for 7 miles, even though my brain was telling me to quit after 3 1/2 miles. I honestly believe that dedicating the run to you made me even more accountable than usual, hence the 7 miles. So, I thank-you! Get well soon so you can run one for me. 🙂

  2. Yay NJ! I’ve seen Bruce in concert also (its like a state law or something) and I’ve seen Bon Jovi in convert 4 or 5 times 🙂 Loving the Jersey pride!

  3. Hi Jill,
    Great post today with tons of interesting things about you and NJ:) You live in the state with my teenage rocker crush…Bon Jovi:) I had his posters on my wall!! I hope that you are doing better and that you still have a smile on your face:)

  4. Nope, don’t live anywhere near where I was born. (Born in Illinois.)

    I love living in Las Vegas… I can go on a mini-vacation to a major tourist destination (The Strip) and yet still go back to my home and more normal life after a few hours. There’s plenty of things to do here, the town is pretty diverse and I like living in the desert climate.

  5. I can imagine that when you live in NJ, seeing Bruce is part of your education 🙂 How cool is that about Jersey girl 🙂 I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve seen Bruce, somewhere between 8 and 10 times, at least everytime he gave a concert in Holland we have been there, last time was in Turino, Italy which was very special.

    I was born in a little village about 30 minutes from where I now live. I’ve lived there till I moved out and my mom still lives there. At 25 I moved to a bigger village where I still live with my hub.

    I’m not very fond of the village I live now, where I was born it was much prettier. But we are at driving distance from all the major cities in the country and that’s nice.

  6. Your not missing much Jamoosh! It’s a nice enough town, but they are only famous for having a girl flush her baby in the toilet at Prom. Oh, and they are super close to Seaside- A.K.A…the “Jersey Shore” from MTV.

  7. i was born + grew up in NH 🙂 i loooooooooooove NH. it is quiet + friendly. lots of lakes and woods and farms and close to Vermont and Maine and MA.

  8. Aww. Thanks for the shoutout! I’ve been to Jersey quite a few times. I’m ashamed to say I try not to get gas in NJ because I like pumping my own usually. Maybe that’s weird. Oh, and the only time I’ve ever been to White Castle was in NJ!
    I have been to Atlantic City before and Stone Harbor and Cowtown for a rodeo. haha. Oh, and we went to Trenton for a book signing/festival for Janet Evanovich. LOVE her books!

  9. I was cracking up at this!!!!
    Never been to Jersey but I was hoping all the stereotypes weren’t true! Like the dinners and stuff 🙂
    I live about 1.9 miles to be exact from the house I grew up in and .55 miles from the hospital I was born 🙂 I moved away with my hubbs for a brief period of time to Sac but we were home sick for the Bay Area- SF. There is no place like it. In a way I want a change – we were contimplating moving for a while, but when it comes right back to it, I love being close to my family and as my mom and dad say, who have lived litterally all over the world, that we live in paradise. The weather is perfect all year round for the most part.
    Thanks for sharing – I love reading about blogers lives!

  10. Great questions and answers! For me; I wasn’t born here, but I’m currently living in the same house I spent a lot of my childhood in, so yeah, I’ve been in the area for a while. 🙂 Sounds like we match, very cool!

  11. the dirty jerz… i noticed no claim of the awesome show “jersey shore” here – no love for that class act? haha.

    i want to live in different areas of the country (or the caribbean!) but i like being relatively close to my family too. oh the dilemma.

Leave a Reply

