Home » About Me » Welcome To The Monday Brain Exchange!

Welcome To The Monday Brain Exchange!

Monday Brain Exchange Week 1!

Congrats to Jill from Jill Will Run- she was the winning thinker-upper (love that made up word) for the title of my Weekly Q&A! 

Here’s how it works:

  • Every Monday, I will post a question.  The questions will be set up to post for 6am E.S.T. to give everyone ample amount of time to post their own answers throughout the day.
  • Questions will range all over the board as far as topics are concerned; from the sports themselves to nutrition to blogging  and so on.  (If you have any topics/questions you think would be good, please feel free to email me!) 
  • If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog
  • Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.

So, let’s get started shall we!

Topic: All About Blogs!

Question:  What/Who influenced you to start a blog?  Where did you get your blog title?  How long have you been blogging?

My title, Finishing is Winning, comes from my childhood Track and Field Days.  I racked up a decent amount of green participant ribbons but never won the coveted Red, White or Blue.  However, my mom was at every Field Day cheering me on at every finish line.  Both my parents supported my every endeavor.  They never let the ribbons define me.  Instead, I was praised for having the guts to go for the goal and for always finishing no matter what.  In the end, a ribbon is just a ribbon.  And when those years of track and field were long over and I decided to go for a new goal of completing a triathlon, my parents once again supported me 100%.  When I came in third from last at my first triathlon, they were at the finish cheering me on as if I was the first place winner.  Cause the place didn’t matter.  Cause Finishing is Winning! 

Before I started my own blog, I was already a full blown creeper reading many tri blogs.  I would read them mostly for advice but also for entertainment.  I knew I loved the idea of blogging when one night I started reading one and clicked to another, and then another and another and so on and so forth.  Before I knew it I had been reading for over two hours.  I was hooked.  And I wanted in.  But because I was so new to the sport, and because I wasn’t sure people would be interested in what I had to say, I refrained from starting my own for quite a while.  Then in early 2009, I decided to get more into running and I was reading  more and more blogs.  I knew then, that it was my time.  I wanted to begin documenting my experiences with triathlon and running and thus Finishing is Winning was born.

I have been blogging a little over a year now.  In that year, I have been amazed at the support from the interwebs. 🙂  I remember when my first comments began coming in; I couldn’t believe people were actually reading what I was writing and liking it enough to comment.  It wasn’t until then that I actually had the confidence to start commenting other tri/running blogs.  And from that, friendships were born.  My readership has changed over the last year- some of you have been with me from the beginning, some for a few months and some of you are new readers…but I love you all.  And I appreciate the comments, the emails and the friendships.  I recognize that many people do not “get” blogging…but here, we all get each other and I am ever so grateful for this community!

27 thoughts on “Welcome To The Monday Brain Exchange!

  1. Love to hear how peeps started blogging! I lurked for a LONG time before I started blogging last Oct. I never thought anyone would want to read my stuff, apparently people will read anything while avoiding work! Ha!
    Happy Monday!

  2. Ohh fun!

    I used to post on Runner’s World forums daily then the new trend was to start your own blog so I started doing that! I just recently moved over from blogspot to wordpress. Love it!:)

    Run.Bike.Explore is the title of my blog because running & biking is what I do. In the midst of training & logging miles I’m also exploring the country side, new cities, and beautiful parks. My three loves in life: running, biking and exploring 🙂 Seems appropriate for a blog title I suppose. haha.

    Thanks for the comment on my blog, I added you to my blog roll! I’m excited to read more!!

  3. Love to read how you started blogging. It went about the same with me: first reading before I started one myself.

  4. I love that about your parents being at the finish line for you. My mom is the same way – at every race, encouraging me as if I were an elite. 🙂

  5. I had few readers for SO LONG! I’ve been blogging over 5 years, but I’ve only started to really get a lot of regular readers that aren’t friends in the last 12-18 months…

  6. so i didn’t think about this until now, but mondays may be hard for me to post on the MBE topic just b/c i usually do a weekend recap. perhaps i can do MBE on Tuesday and just be a day late 🙂 i love the first topic, too!!! great job pulling it together and i loved the poll. i love polls in general 🙂

  7. Lacey- good point. If you want to play along, but Monday doesn’t work for you, that is okay too! Just remember to link my blog so I can link you back the next week!

  8. Love this post! I was a tri blog lurker and I don’t even swim nor bike! I just liked to read about training and other peoples’ lives. Some how, blogging has become a part of my life because some how we are all connected. By the way, I love the parent support you received and I appreciate your last line of that paragraph, “Finishing is Winning.” Too true.

  9. Pingback: The Birth of the Blog « Jill Will Run

  10. What a great idea! I miss Take It and Run Thursday, so I’m so happy there’s now a replacement. I’ll definitely be participating in the future!

  11. Pingback: If I could summarize this post in a title sentence I would (but I can’t). « Common Objects and Everyday Events

  12. Well, I blew that deadline but I can at least comment and say that I agree with everything you say about blogging. There’s something extra special about running bloggers too. I honestly never knew our community was so big until I started my blog and made running its focus.

  13. I’m so behind in blogging and keeping up with my internet friends! Hope you continue to heal well and build your strength back up. I love your blog and your posts and questions… one of the few out there that really makes readers think. Bottom line for my blog…I wanted to have a diary of sorts for my niece and nephews, who hopefully will think their aunt is cool. The title stems from a shirt I have that says “running is cheaper than therapy.” So, do I run to stay sane or is running making me crazier?? 🙂

  14. loooove this idea and i am going to keep it on my radar. are the “rules” to only post the answer on monday or can we post throughout the week? i just typically recap the weekend on sunday night/monday so just wanted to check on how to work it in!

  15. shoot…i’m late but i like this topic!! i decided to start a blog after my sister set one up to chronicle her adoption process. i have the same questions as aron…can we answer any time during the week or only on monday?

  16. Pingback: Monday Brain Exchange (on Tuesday) « My First 5K Blog

Leave a Reply

