Home » Swimming » Wetsuit Swim Attempt #1- Complete FAIL!

Wetsuit Swim Attempt #1- Complete FAIL!

I finally broke out the wetsuit last night to give it a try.  It can only be described as a one woman circus.  Oh, and a disaster.

Clearly, I do not mind embarrassing myself; Let me explain with some photos-

First time trying it on…

…Yeah, notsomuch.

Second attempt…

…not much better.

Trying a new approach…

…Careful with the nails!

Taking it slow…

…And making progress!

Finally…

…Viola!

Once I finally got it on (it took almost 30 total minutes!!!) I felt great but it is definitely going to take some getting used to.  Given the circumstances (those being I needed a little more “get to know you time” with my wetsuit) I decided a regular swim, sans the wetsuit, would be in effect for this morning. 

Then I remembered it was Friday, and thought to myself “I better check to make sure there isn’t an aqua fit class happening” and sure enough…aqua fit class was at the EXACT time I planned to be in the pool.  UGH-this happens a lot!  And I had an appt to get to this morning so I couldn’t just wait it out, therefore the swim was kaput!  Fail.

I did however still go to the gym 🙂  I did 20 minutes on the bike and 10 on the elliptical, along with my stretches, some ab work and a little lifting for my arms.  Quick, but solid workout. 

Hopefully, westsuit swim attempt number two planned for Sunday morning will go a bit smoother.  And by a bit, I mean a lot.

23 thoughts on “Wetsuit Swim Attempt #1- Complete FAIL!

  1. LOL! I am so happy you shared the funny photos with us!

    Yay for still making it to the gym. I hope there isn’t a class this Sunday when you want to go.

  2. Doesn’t look like you ripped it so it wasn’t too much of a fail. I’ve done that too many times to count.

    Stupid wetsuit tricks include putting your feet into plastic bags to prevent toe nails from snagging and that women know how to put wetsuits on better than most men since it is supposed to be the same as panty hose.

    This reminded me that I should break out the QR soon.

  3. thanks for the comment on my bloggy/race report! These wetsuit shenanigans are just ONE reason why I don’t think I’ll ever be a tri gal myself. Kudos to you for pulling off the look. 🙂

  4. In that first pic you kinda look like a black “Gumby.” Wow, how does anybody get those things on and off without strangling themselves or damaging a vital organ?! The pics are great-I was smiling right along with you as I looked at them. It’s always nice to see what people really look like too when they’re not all sweaty from working out! Speaking of working out, glad to see you were able to get to the gym after your FAIL swim effort! Keep on smiling and making me smile, Jill. I hope the “Sunday Smackdown” with your wetsuit goes well.

  5. Hi little Jill,
    Oh my gosh, this post totally made me laugh!!! You probably did better than I ever could! Tah dah…you did it:) Remember, practice makes perfect!! Great pictures:) Have a fabulous weekend!!

  6. Love the last pic…nice pose!
    Think you have a new profile pic with that one!
    Enjoy your holiday weekend and Easter treats!

  7. Good lord, you have to get up 30 minutes earlier to get into that suit 😆 but it looks great on you.

    Good that you did go to the gym and didn’t stay home because you couldn’t swim.

    Good luck on your next attempt 🙂

  8. Ha ha ha..that is hilarious! Thanks for sharing the pics…you are very brave! 🙂

    I remember the first time I put my wetsuit on, it took forever and I was hot and sweaty by the end! Hopefully this time around it will go much better. 🙂

  9. i am so torn about the wetsuit. i was fine with out one last summer but i did all sprints, i feel if i do anything longer it would be better to have a suit. but i feel like getting out of it will be a nightmare as well in transition.

  10. There’s some stuff you can buy and spray on your arms and legs that make getting into wet suits a lot easier. If nothing else, a little shampoo mixed with water will do the trick too!

Leave a Reply

