Home » 500 Mile Club » PiF Update; Reminders And I’m Back Up And Running!

PiF Update; Reminders And I’m Back Up And Running!

First of all: Welcome new readers.  I have been reading a lot of great new blogs lately; if I haven’t been by speak up and say hello!

Running Update: So…as you know if you read this post, I got the go ahead to start running again!  Up until last night I was doing my walk/jogging on the treadmill but last night I took it to the pavement!  The last time I did anything outside was the 1/2 marathon in February; the weather has been so nice, it was great to finally be out in the sunshine 🙂  I did 2 miles in a little under 13:00; that is on one hand really tough to swallow because I do not like going that slow, but on the other hand I am so excited to be moving again!  When I remember that seven weeks ago I was on crutches, I am amazed at how far I have come in such a short time!

PiF Update: Given that I went 8 weeks without running and have to slowly work my miles back up, I do not think I can stick my original goal of 650 miles for the year.  Therefore, to be more realistic with myself, I am going to set a new goal of 550 miles. 

I have still been diligently donating to my PiF jar for my biking miles and I am looking forward to donating my running miles again.  And of course, my jar got a nice addition when you all donated your miles and my AWESOME friend Brian matched the total.  That was almost $25 total 🙂

Reminders:

  • Boston runners…I am looking for your bib numbers!  Some of us want to stalk follow you on race day and I am compiling a list!
  • If you have a spare two minutes, go here and sign the petition to take the freeze off of Russian adoptions.  Need more info?  See my post from yesterday.

And one last thing…I want to wish my parents a Happy Anniversary!  They have been married 33 years today 🙂  Here they are on their wedding day, 1977!

Yes, I look exactly like my mom. 

Well, that is about it for today bloggies- hope you are having a great Friday! 

12 thoughts on “PiF Update; Reminders And I’m Back Up And Running!

  1. Yey for getting back on the running horse:) I’m that slow always so nothing new for me there. seriously though take it slow and steady, nothing like being sidelines for weeks without being able to run to appreciate being able to run…even though it might be slow!

  2. I hope you didn’t do both miles in under 13 minutes! That’s fast!
    I’m excited that you’re running again though.
    That’s a great picture of your parents! My Mom wanted to get married in ’77 but had to wait until ’78 because my Dad wasn’t ready (he didn’t have a job yet). Their anniversary is 7/7/78 (can you tell my Mom’s favorite number is 7? and why she wanted to get married in ’77?)

  3. Glad to hear you were able to get out there and run! At first, I thought you were saying that you did both miles in under 13:00, but then I realized that you meant each mile was a bit under 13:00. 🙂

  4. Congrats for your parents anniversary.

    I’m so happy to hear you could run outside again Jill. Don’t worry about the pace, you’ll be fast again in no time!

  5. It took me a while to figure out you meant 13:00 per mile! At first I thought you meant 13:00 for two miles, then 23:00 for two and was confused. Either way, take it slow! You will speed up eventually!

    Happy Anniversary to your parents!

  6. Hi little Jill,
    I am so happy to hear that you are back in action:) Happy day!! Your parents were married when I was seven years old. I love the picture of their wedding day:) Have a great weekend!

  7. Hey stranger! ax season is OVER for my wife, so I can catch up on reading blogs and posting my witty comments on your blog. Congrats on “pounding the pavement.” Ha, I knew you meant a 13 minute per mile pace. I guess your parents are somewhere around my age, since I got married in 1981…groan! Great “70’s” wedding pic. Ah, those were the days…By the way, tell Rachael that I’m mad at her for NEVER commenting on my blog anymore! 🙂

Leave a Reply

