Home » Week in Review » Week In Review- 4/12-4/18

Week In Review- 4/12-4/18

Week in Review; 4/12-4/18

Training:

Running- 2 miles on Tuesday.  First outside run (walk/jog more like it) since the half in February.  Going to take some getting used to again, going from treadmill to outside, but it feels great to be back!  Wanted to go for a jog tonight but my stomach and I are not getting along so I have spent most of the evening in bed!

Biking- 3 miles on stationary bike for warm-up.  Planned a bike ride today but see above about my stomach!

 Swimming- 1 hour total.  Monday– 20 minutes with pull buoy and 15 minutes free swim.  Thursday– all 30 minutes with the buoy.  I am focusing much more on strength and endurance right now and will focus more on speed in the upcoming weeks.

Strength training- nothing outside of my 2 hours PT this week.

Abs challenge- This has been my worst week of abs since I started back in January.  Big time slacker, only did 250 this week!

Cross training- 30 minutes on the elliptical.  I still think it is boring but I know it is helping me stay strong while I recover.

Weekly High: Outside run!  Woo-Hoo

Weekly Low: I missed the RU half today.  It was the race I was most looking forward too.  It was supposed to be my PR race.  I was still going to go watch my teammates but I had so much going on today and was all upset last night about not being able to run it, that I decided it would be better to stay home.  I am seriously bummed.  This injury has only gotten the best of me twice…and this was one of those times.  I am truly sad to have missed it.

Notes:

  • I am still going back and forth about Broad Street.  I hate to miss another race, but I feel like I am going to be frustrated the entire time if I walk/jog it.  I know this is lame, but I feel like because people do not know I am recovering from an injury, they will assume I am slow.  I KNOW THIS IS LAME and I do not judge slower people and most people do not judge slower people and that this is all in my head, but still.  Runners…I know you understand!!!

Life: Today was the bridal shower for my soon to be cousin-in-law Nancy.  I love Nancy.  She has been with my cousin for quite a few years and is already part of my family.  Here are some photos:

The venue

The cake

The bride to be!

Three things I am grateful for this week:

  1. I don’t love going to Pysical Thereapy, and I don’t love being there, but it is making me stronger.  I have a great team who are working very hard to get me back in shape and safely recovered.  I am thankful, that while I might bitch about it, they work hard with me every time I am there.
  2. I feel lucky to have parents, that after 33 years, still love each other. 
  3. After watching three consecutive episodes of 16 and Pregnant, I am grateful that I was never a teen mom.

Quote of the week: Within each of us is a hidden store of energy. Energy we can release to compete in the marathon of life. Within each of us is a hidden store of courage. Courage to give us the strength to face any challenge. Within each of us is a hidden store of determination. Determination to keep us in the race when all seems lost.   (Perfect for runners or what?!?  Thought it was good for those running Boston tomorrow too!)

5 thoughts on “Week In Review- 4/12-4/18

  1. If it makes you feel better, I know several Boston qualifiers who walk/run and they are faster as a result!

    It stinks to miss a race, but at least you are taking care of yourself. The good news is, there will be more races 🙂

  2. I’m glad the PT is helping you and so happy for you with your run. As for the next race you do, you’ll know when you are ready. And there will be a race right there waiting for you! Follow your instincts on this one.

Leave a Reply

