Home » Random » Three Things Tuesday

Three Things Tuesday

In keeping with the Boston theme…

1.  Congrats to all the Boston runners yesterday!!!  I watched on free live stream!  I had no idea until that morning that universalsports was going to charge and personally I think that was rude.  The marathon brings in a crapload of money as it is and they did not need to charge.  Luckily, I found a link to CBS that was streaming it and was able to watch!  I also obsessively tracked a bunch of runners and it was so much fun!  I cannot wait for all the race reports!

2.  I know it is 353 days away but I am already excited for my trip to Boston next year to watch the marathon in person!!!  And I am going to run the 5k!  I know some of you are already registered for 2011 and more of you are going for the goal this year.  I already have plans to meet up with some people and again, even though it is a year away, I am so excited!  

3.  Because I was in Boston hype mode all day yesterday, I started googling all things Boston Marathon.  Here are some fun facts:     

  • Wheelchair athletes Ernst Van Dyk and Jean Driscoll hold the most Boston Marathon victories.
  • There were only 15 runners to start the first Boston Marathon in 1897
  • The Boston Marathon began awarding prize money in 1986 and through the 2010 race more than $13.2 million has been awarded in prize and bonus money.
  • The all-time record for the world’s largest marathon was established at the centennial race in 1996, when 35,868 finishers out of 36,748 official starters participated in the 100th running of the Boston Marathon. The Centennial Boston Marathon had 38,708 entrants and was recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records.
  • In terms of on-site media coverage, the Boston Marathon ranks behind only the Super Bowl as the largest single day sporting event in the world. More than 1,100 media members, representing more than 250 outlets, receive credentials annually.
11 thoughts on “Three Things Tuesday

  1. I had no idea the Boston marathon was that huge, I always thought the NY marathon was that.

    I’m already looking forward to your race report next year!

  2. i agree…the live feed should have been free.

    and woo hoo!! i’ll see you there next year. altho we really don’t live that far from each other. maybe i’ll see you before then!

  3. Wow! That’s great that you found free coverage. I was really surprised/disappointed that Universal was charging, and tweeted about my surprise. FAIL. I kept looking for other coverage online, but found nothing. Another FAIL.

    Anyway…love the Boston facts AND that you’ll be there next year. 🙂 Yay, YOU!

    HUGS from Orlando,
    robin/turtle runner

  4. I thought it was a bit uncouth of Universal Sports to not more prominently display the fee until you went to sign on to view the race. I can’t blame them for wanting to make money, but their tactics were a bit deceptive and disappointing. A friend has their channel on his cable subscription, but I couldn’t just show up at 6:30 in the morning (when the race coverage started on the West Coast).

  5. I must correct you: NYC Marathon continues to retain the top position and has now become the world’s largest marathon ever, with 43,660 finishers.
    World’s Largest Marathon 2009
    Marathon Finishers (2009)
    1. 40th ING New York City, NY 43,660

    I’m proud to say that I ran in it, and completed it! So that’s my claim to fame right now!

Leave a Reply

