Home » Week in Review » Week In Review- 4/19-4/25

Week In Review- 4/19-4/25

Week in Review; 4/19-4/25

Training:

Running- 2.3 miles @ 13:03 pace Saturday.  Good run…did more running than walking, a step in the right direction.  Hoping to run 2.5 this week under thirteen minute pace. 

Biking- 8.3 miles on the stationary bike Saturday.  Still not allowed to do any spinning.

 Swimming- 1 hour 45 minutes total.  All morning swims.  Monday 40 minutes and Wednesday 30 minutes both with pull buoy for entire swim.  Friday 35 minutes; warm up with buoy, 800 meters timed and a cool down.  All things considered, I did really well with the timed 800.  It is not a time I would ever be happy with, but give the circumstance, it is a good base for me to work up from.

Strength training- 2 hours PT and an additional 20 minutes on arms.

Abs challenge-  300 or so…another lame week.  When I wasn’t training, I was totally on top of this…I must find a way to fit it back in!!!

Cross training- Does Spring cleaning count???  Cause I found muscles I didn’t even know I had and they are sore!!!

Weekly High: I am really proud of the time I spent in the pool!  And my workout Saturday was awesome…I love days at the gym when I don’t feel rushed by the clock and I can just workout!

Weekly Low: My job situation. 

Notes:

  • I officially decided against Broad Street.  Done deal.  Another race…another DNS.  That total is now three. 😦
  • The truth is, I am not even ready for a 5k at this point.  I am looking towards a 5k  in the middle of May and a 5-miler the first week in June.  Then come July, I will begin training for the September half.

Life: Don’t even get me started. It was a bad week!

Three things I am grateful for this week:

  1. Co-workers who are also friends.  ♥
  2. Healthy lungs.  Tomorrow will be 15 months without a single cigarette!!!
  3. Time to heal…met up last week with a friend who I had a falling out with a few years ago; we made up a while ago but it was ackward a little.  This time it was nice to hang out like old times again.

Quote of the week: “When you get to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on!”

13 thoughts on “Week In Review- 4/19-4/25

  1. Looks like a pretty good week girl. I am a firm believer that any sort of work around the house that requires me to walk up and down the stairs or creates little sweat beads on my hairline is a form of cross training!

    Here’s to a good week ahead of us all!

  2. I am sorry you had such a crappy week! You did a great job with workouts though 🙂 I am super impressed by your pool time!

    I wonder why the doc says no spinning but ok to the stationary. What did he say about it?

  3. Hi little Jill,
    Woo hoo, you had a great week of training:) This is great news…you are back in action! I am so glad that you are now a non-smoker….good for you!! Funny about the getting sore from spring cleaning…who knew?

  4. Wow, you have been busy this week! At least you are being smart about racing. It makes much more sense to take a little bit more time off now rather than injure yourself again and be out for a lot longer. Hang in there with the job situation…I love the quote!

  5. hoping to get back to MBE this week!!! 🙂

    GREAT JOB in the pool!!! and working yourself back into running. honestly if i could stand it i would try to get myself to swim b/c it is soooo good for you. i really just hate it so much… but i applaud those who do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

