Home » Three Things » Three Things Tuesday

Three Things Tuesday

This whole post is whiny.  Whiny whiney whiner.  That is your warning interwebs.

1.  I skipped the gym yesterday.  And today.  But I had a very valid reason.  Kids, heed this warning:  do not attempt to carry a full ice cooler for four miles.  You will be in some serious pain.  I know this because I carried a full ice cooler up and down Broad Street and now, I am in so much pain.  Ouch!  So yeah, since I can hardly move my shoulders/neck/arms, swimming has been out of the question.  Hopefully, I will get there tomorrow.

2.  Weekly hip update!  I definitely pissed off my hip on Sunday as well.  That is for sure.  My PT said that she doesn’t think I did any damage and that it is probably just aggrevated.  That is the good news.  The bad news is…no running for five days.  Or biking.  CRAPSTER.  Two steps forward and one step back!  I feel like I am always starting over.  Don’t get me wrong, I am glad it is nothing serious, and I have no intentions of pushing myself into a re-injury, but frig already!!!!  I just want to be better and all I did was get myself five days of unwanted rest and another two weeks of PT.  At least I can swim…if my arms ever decide to work again!

3.  I once again am up in the air about a race.  This time, a 5k.  It is in two weeks and I know I will be prepared, even if I am taking the next five days off.  My PT actually thinks it is a good idea because I need to have a goal in mind.  Of course, I am so not allowed to run it completely…just jog.  My goal is to do the entire 3.1 in 12:00/miles.  And I know I can do it.  Truth is, I am just back and forth because I am afraid.  That is the honest truth.  Onelittletrigirl is being a fraidy cat!

Ack!  These past 10 weeks have been crazy up and down.  And emotional roller coaster for sure! 

Hey 2010, I hope you are listening…I am ready for you to get better.  Now.  Kthanksbye!

14 thoughts on “Three Things Tuesday

  1. That whine was nothing, girl, I can outdo that in a heartbeat!! At least look at the cooler carrying as some great wt training, yes??!! I just want you to be better, too. Hang in there girl….big hugs from Denver to you!!

  2. Ugh….I totally hear you on this whole post 😦 I’m sick of your hip and I’m sick of mine lol. Can we BOTH just get better please??

  3. Just woman up and see the world at a 12:00 pace. Don’t make me come over there…

    Seriously, throw time out and enjoy yourself. Be happy that you get to run!

  4. I totally think you should do the 5K and shoot for your goal time– but take breaks if you need to since you don’t want to aggrevate the hip! Just have fun with it and be thankful that you’re running. 🙂
    I can’t wait for you to be back to your healthy, uninjured self!

  5. ackkk persisting injuries. my ACL knee is actually flaring up (it is actually my hamstring that gets tight + swollen, cuz they repaired the ACL by using part of my hamstring…). and it stinks but you have to roll with it and be flexible (no pun intended). whatever you can do, small things, to make yourself feel better. 🙂 and remember to give yourself credit for them!!!! especially preventative/recovery things like stretching or icing. i hope you feel better soon…

  6. I can understand that you’re scared for your 5K but you shouldn’t be. So maybe you have to walk a bit during the 5K but that’s okay. What matters is that you’re back at it and that you are going to enjoy it.

  7. Oh…sorry about the setbacks. I really hope your hip heals quickly! You’ll be back at it in no time! And, I think you should definitely do the 5k, but take your time and enjoy it instead of “race” it. You can do it!

  8. What does your PT say the difference between “jogging and running” is? Once I saw someone write you are only running if you go 9:00 min mile or faster, but I disagreed.

    I hope your hip and shoulders/neck/arms feel better soon!

  9. Fight the fear! I think your goal for the 5k sounds totally doable, and maybe focusing on that will help you feel better about some of these ups and downs. 🙂

  10. The worst thing that will happen if you do the 5K, is you will realize half way through that you have to walk, but even then you’ll be ahead of the walkers. Emotionally, I think it will do you some good to get out there in the race atmosphere. You know you’ll get some good cheering in from me and Kate!!

Leave a Reply

