Home » Three Things » Three Things Tuesday

Three Things Tuesday

1.  I think it is time for a 500 mile club PiF update!  Looks as though I will finally hit 100 miles this week!  Of course I had hoped to hit that mileage back in March but my hip and I weren’t getting along as you all well know by this point.  I’ll be running a mile or tonight and another one tomorrow at PT, so my 5k on Sunday will put me over the 100 mile mark!!!  Are you in the 500 mile club?  If so, how are you doing with your miles?

2.  About a month ago my work put a block on blogs.  But suddenly, and awesomely, the block was removed.  I was thoroughly enjoying this until last Friday when I noticed the block was back on!!!  Oddly, the block is not on all blogs.  It looks as though it affects only those blogs with a pop-up comment screen (blogger, I think).  Even still, I miss my blog-reading breaks big time already and it has only been a few days. 😦

3. Tricia  over at Endurance Isn’t Always Physical, asked her readers to take pledges for better health for National Women’s Health Week from May 9-15.  I decided to give up Ranch Dressing.  I know this is such a simple thing.  You may be thinking how lame this is, but if you knew me IRL, you would know how tough this challenge is for me.  I eat ranch dressing on EVERYTHING.  When I told my co-workers at lunch about this, one asked me “Then what will you eat?” because seriously, I eat ranch dressing on….everything!  And if you have every looked at the nutrients label on a bottle of ranch, you know how absolutely not healthy it is to eat.  So, being that I am a ranch dressing lover, this is going to be tough.  I am hoping that through this challenge I can find other ways to eat the things I usually eat with ranch, and I won’t eat so much of it in the future.  I will never give up ranch completely and light ranch is gross and out of the question, but I know it is one of the superbad things I eat and I would like to cut it down substantially.  Any suggestions for substitutes??  (Note: I don’t really like ketchup and I hate mayo.)  What small thing would be a BIG thing for you to give up?

18 thoughts on “Three Things Tuesday

  1. FIRST! 🙂
    “What small thing would be a BIG thing for me to give up? Reading your blog, I guess! Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I’ve given up drinking diet soda since May 1st. I’m hoping to never drink iy again, which would be a BIG thing for me to give up. Substitute(s) for ranch dressing…perhaps a healthier type of dressing? I’m not a good person to ask about food substitutes…sorry!

  2. I would have a hard time giving up carbs. Couldn’t do it. Also hard time giving up parmesan cheese – the cheap kind in a can. Also reading the comment above reminds me I have been drinking a lot of diet soda. And oh yeah, the biggie, coffee.

  3. I don’t know if you have this by you, but I eat Bolthouse Farms ranch dressing. It, in my opinion, is better than regular ranch. It is also gluten free, which is good for me. You should be able to find it in the produce section of your grocery store by the bagged lettuce and refrigerated dressings.

    Good luck!

  4. congrats on the mileage.

    pop up comment windows are an option in blogger, not a requirement. Does mine do that to you?

    try raspberry dressing. I love it!

  5. Hmm…salt! It would be hard for me to give up salting my food!
    Nice job on your mileage and I’m sorry about the blog block! I have to too but I don’t have much time to check blogs during the day…hope yours is lifted once again!

  6. I forgot to mention that bolthousefarms only has 60 calories and 6 g oh fat.

    The hardest thing for me to give up would be popcorn! I seriously eat that stuff every night!!!

  7. I would try hummus- it comes in a lot of different flavors and can be used as a dip or as a spread on sandwiches. I also like olive oil and vinegar instead of dressing on salads.
    The small thing I don’t think I could give up would be sandwiches or possibly just bread.

  8. Good luck with the no ranch! I have the same thing going with pizza – it’s my weakness.

    Try Amy’s Goddess Dressing, or the Trader Joe’s version…..so delish!!!

  9. Great job on the 100 miles:)

    I would have a hard time giving up salt just like Meg! I love my salty food:)

    Sorry about the blog blocking:(

  10. people don’t realize how bad condiments are for us. those calories really add up, too when you drown you food in sauces. 5 years ago i gave up bbq sauce b/c of the sugar in it. now i use hot sauce…mmmm.

  11. Giving up diet soft drinks would be hard for me. I gave them up throughout all my marathon training, but then I got my DNF. I swear, the first thing I wanted as I walked out of the hospital was the biggest Diet Pepsi I could find and I still crave them all the time!

    I agree with the hummus suggestions, love that stuff! Or a simple balsamic vinaigrette made of balsamic vinegar, oil and honey.

  12. You and my husband would get along well – we always have at least two bottles of ranch in the fridge because he can’t bear to run out. I, on the other hand, get nauseous when I smell it. 🙂 I could never give up my diet dew!

  13. You should get your own domain: I did it and I’m not good at these computer stuff at all but I set it up all by myself (am proud of myself 🙂

  14. omg, I’m obsessive about ranch too. EVERYTHING tastes better w/ranch. I swear to god it’s science. 😉

    And my bib # for race day is 912. YAY!!!!

Leave a Reply

