Home » Week in Review » Week In Review- 5/10-5/16

Week In Review- 5/10-5/16

Week in Review; 5/10-5/16

Swimming- 1 hour and 50 minutes and 4800 meters total.  Monday–  warm-up- 100 meters, 1200 meters timed,  200 meter buoy drill, cool-down- 100 meters. Tuesday– warm-up- 100 meters, 1500 meters timed, cool-down- 100 meters.  Sunday– 1500 meters timed in wetsuit.  All three swims were really good; I love love love my wetsuit!!!  I cut 2.5 minutes off my timed 1500 when I was in my wetsuit.  I am so ready for next weekend…bring on Black Bear!!!

Biking- 5.6 on the spin bike Friday.  Feels AMAZING even though I have to stay in first the entire time, and take it slow.  Only a week or so more until I can get back to spin class 🙂

Running- 2.5miles on Wednesday.  Ran/jogged at PT.  Kept it at a 12:40 pace and felt good.  My right shin is acting up so my PT has been taping me and it definitely gives it relief.  This run gave me the confidence to go for my 5K.   3.1 miles on Sunday.  First race post-injury and I was loving it!  My hip felt great the whole time.  Right shin unhappy after about 2.5 miles and had to walk quite a bit but I still managed an 11:20 pace!  To say I am beyond thrilled is an understatement.  Ten weeks ago I was on crutches and they had no idea when I would run again…and today, I  finished a 5K in 35:05!!!!

Strength training- 2 hours PT Tuesday and Wednesday

Cross Training- 15 minutes on Friday.  Just a slow warm-up before getting on the spin bike.

Abs Challenge- My PT is super focus on my core, therefore my abs are taking a beating!  I am rocking this challenge!

Weekly High: This was a great week for fitness!   This is the best week I have had in a long time.  I am thrilled with my progress 🙂

Weekly Low: No low this week 🙂  Has that ever happened??!?!?!?!?

Notes:  Somebody remind me of this post the next time I have a whine-fest on my blog!!!

Life: The ironic thing about running a 5k today is this:  on this weekend in 2008, I ran my first 5k and on this weekend in 2009, I ran my first half-marathon.  Running this 5k today is sort of symbolic to the continuation of my journey.  And because of that, I wore my half-marathon t-shirt from last year, today.  Here is a pre-race photo:

And back in the car after:

Three things I am grateful for this week:

  1. All of the people who have spent time making me a better person 🙂
  2. Running in the sun- it was beautiful out today, perfect running weather!
  3. Body Glide- newest reason I love this stuff…works great to help get my wetsuit on/off!

Quote of the week:  “Impossible is just a big word thrown around by small men who find it easier to live in the world they’ve been given than to explore the power they have to change it. Impossible is not a fact. It’s an opinion. Impossible is not a declaration. It’s a dare. Impossible is potential. Impossible is temporary. Impossible is nothing.” — Muhammad Ali

16 thoughts on “Week In Review- 5/10-5/16

  1. congrats on the 5k! yay for running again. i know that has to feel good.

    i need someone to nazi-yell at me about my corework… hmm maybe i should take up PT too lol

  2. Nice shirt I remember that race…lol!
    1500 in the wet suit! Bring on Black Bear you are so going to rock in! Just heard 80 degrees Friday…maybe it will warm up that water a bit.
    See you there go team “TRI it Forward”!

    Train safe!

  3. AWESOME job this week! I also loved the quote at the end of your post…sorry you’re afraid of clowns, by the way! My kids were afraid of them until they turned 18!! They are kind of creepy…

  4. “Notes: Somebody remind me of this post the next time I have a whine-fest on my blog!!!” Ha-Ha…I will! 🙂 Congrats on a very successful week, and even more so on “pounding the pavement” again. I won’t comment on your swimming since I’m envious of anyone who can swim as well as you do. Have a great week. P.S. Rachael who?!!

  5. What a great week Jill!

    I’m so happy for you that your 5K went so well. It’s indeed kind of symbolic that you ran again a 5K.

Leave a Reply

