Home » Brain Exchange » Monday Brain Exchange Week 8- Summer Running

Monday Brain Exchange Week 8- Summer Running

Here are the answers from participants in last weeks Brain Exchange: Kim, Kitzzy, Suzy, Kera, Darlene, Jill and Kandi

Here’s how it works:

  • Every Monday, I will post a question.  The questions will be set up to post for @ 6am E.S.T. to give everyone ample amount of time to post their own answers throughout the day.
  • Questions will range all over the board as far as topics are concerned; from the sports themselves to nutrition to blogging and so on.  (If you have any topics/questions you think would be good, please feel free to email me!) 
  • If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  You can play along any day of the week that works best for you.
  • Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.
  • Topic:  Summer Running Tips

    Question:  The heat is on its way (and for some has already made its arrival) and the summer is getting close 🙂  What are some of your tried and true summer running tips for staying safe and cool in the heat?

    I am actually happier running in the heat, than I am the cold.  I like the feel of running in short and a tank top as oppossed to three layers of clothing.  I like the feeling of the warmth of the sun.  I like running along the river without having to worry about windburn from the cold drafts.  I LOVE summer 🙂  There are so many tips and tricks for summer but I’ll just list my Top 3.

    1.  The early bird gets the worm!

    My favorite time to run, is in the early morning…the earlier the better.  I love the smell of summer and the cool air that mixes with the warmth of an eary sun.  It just isn’t practical where I live to run while the sun is out in full force.  NJ humidity is gross and the sun can be beastly; I never run in the afternoon.  If I have to run at night, I do, but usually around some type of water so I can catch the breeze. 

    2.  Make sunscreen your friend!

    I feel like this is a no brainer, but shockingly sunscreen is not a part of everyone’s routine.  If it isn’t part of yours, you should make it a priority.  I use Neutrogena Sport and for my face I use Neutrogena SportsFace; they are both oil-free, light and the sportsface doesn’t run into my eyes which is key.  Before I head out for a run, I always lather up.  And if I am going to be out in the sun for more than two hours, I bring it with me so I can re-apply.  I like having a tan as much as the next person, but it just isn’t worth the risk to do it in an unsafe manner.  Skin cancer is no joke.

    3.  Drink in what your body will sweat out!

    Another no brainer…or so I thought.  Recently, I was shocked to find out that two of my runner friends do not drink water while they run!  I, on the other hand, drink 8-12 ounces before I run and drink every few miles during a run.  And even more so in the summer.  If I am going for a short run, I’ll take a handheld with me but I really don’t like carrying them so if it is more than 3 miles, I will water drop.  In addition to water, I end my runs with either a sports drink of some kind to replenish my electrolytes.   

    10 thoughts on “Monday Brain Exchange Week 8- Summer Running

    1. I always wear sunscreen when I go out – best advice ever. And I just heard a formula for figuring out how much you should drink – in a day especially if you exercise, add a few more oz.
      Take your weight divided by 2 and that is how many oz you should drink in a day!
      Very helpful!

    2. I don’t like running in summer heat. We don’t have that many hot days here in Holland but if the weather forecast predicts hot weather I run early in the morning like you.

      Usually I don’t bring water on runs below 45 minutes except when it’s hot. I do drink enough before I go running and afterwards.

    3. Hi little Jill,
      Running in the early morning is great…too bad I am not really an early bird! Sunblock and a visor are a must. Water and hydration is so important when busting out the miles in the summer:)

      I would rather run in the spring or fall but I think I just need to get used to the change in higher temps:)

    4. Feel free to use my ‘how long’ question for MBE! As for summer running…I just get up earlier and earlier to avoid the heat. 😀

    5. Pingback: Monday Brain Exchange #8 on Tuesday « My First 5K Blog

    Leave a Reply

    