Home » Week in Review » Week In Review- 5/24-5/30

Week In Review- 5/24-5/30

Week in Review; 5/24-5/30

Monday: Off.  I was so exhausted from Black Bear that even though I actually like and look forward to Monday morning workouts, I switched with Tuesday in exchange for sleeping in!

Tuesday: 4.5 miles on the bike, elliptical and weights (arms and abs).

Wednesday: 1250 meters in the pool.  4×200’s (800 meters), 200 meter kick-sets, 200 meter w/buoy, 50 meter cool-down. First kick-sets post-injury.  No problems 🙂

Thursday: Elliptical and PT.  Really working on core and balance at PT and feeling much stronger!

Friday: 1200 meters in pool.  800 meters timed; 200 meter kick-set; 200 meter w/buoy.  Had a lane all to myself the entire time…ah, the luxury!

Saturday: No actual workout, but I did get into a push-up contest with a guy at the bar.  And I won!  Boo-yah!  (Yes, I did just say boo-ya!)

Sunday: 3.2 miles outside.  Waited until 11am {slapping self on wrist} because I was out until 3am the night before {slaps self again} and it was hot but breezy by the river. 

Weekly High: I am currently on a three-day weekend 🙂 Woo-hoo!!!!!

Weekly Low: Today’s run was supposed to be 4.5 miles.  However, I only ran 3.2 because at one point in my run a group of high school kids started messing with me (there were four boys and three girls) and after I finally yelled for them to stop, one of the girls got in my face.  As she was yelling at me, with her fists clenched, the rest of the group surrounded me.  I finally ran through two of the girls, to a gas station where there was an attendant.  They ran off, but it was some scary stuff.  My pride was hurt because I was surrounded by a bunch of teenagers; but honestly, it was really scary because regardless of their age, they were all bigger than me and they totally out numbered me.  I ended up calling my dad to pick me up and just calling it a day for my run. 

Notes:  As you may have noticed, I am trying out a new format…I get tired of the same thing all the time.  Plus this looks a bit more organized.  Whatta ya think?

Three things I am grateful for this week:

  1. My freedom.  Thank you to those who have or are currently serving
  2. Sunshine…just spent 5 hours sitting on a deck in the sun and it was wonderful!!!
  3. The ability to run again…I missed it so much!

Quote of the week:  You’ve got to get up every morning with determination if you are going to go to bed every night with satisfaction.

6 thoughts on “Week In Review- 5/24-5/30

  1. Wow. That sounds very scary. What was the point? Showing off for each other. I am glad you cut your run short. Is it a place you run often and are you worried about going back? That is so awful to take something like a run and make it unpleasant to say the least.

  2. Jilllllll!
    2nd! Hey, I missed you too!! (What ever happened to Rachael?! Aw, the heck with her). Glad you were able to survive the psycho High School kids. Too bad you don’t carry mace when you run. It would have been so cool if you nuked/maced them! Your workouts really make me feel like a slacker. I’ll never read your blog again. OK, I’m lying. As you can tell, I have nothing more useful to say, so I’ll stop commenting. But, thanks for commenting on my blog. I like doing smiley faces in my comments because they come out as actual smiley faces. No, I haven’t been drinking. 🙂

  3. I can’t imagine a bunch of high schoolers doing something like that! That’s so crazy. I’m glad you were able to get away. I would have cut my run short too probably.

  4. I like the new format!

    What a variety in your workout. I need to learn from you.

    What is up with those kids?!?!? Were they just being obnoxious? That would scare me too.

  5. great week! you are really working hard to be active in 10,000 different ways. i’d like to hear more about this bar-pushup-challenge 😉

  6. holy cow. I’d be freaked for sure. At least it’s nice to know you could outrun them if necessary, right? 😉 But seriously. scary deal.

Leave a Reply

