Home » Brain Exchange » Monday Brain Exchange Week 11- Celebrating Holidays Through Training

Monday Brain Exchange Week 11- Celebrating Holidays Through Training

Here are the answers from participants in last weeks Brain Exchange: Kim, Kitzzy, Whitney, Darlene, Kandi, Jill and Andrea  (Did I miss anyone?  Let me know and I will make sure to link you!)

Here’s how it works: 

  • Every Monday, at the end of the current weeks M.B.E answer, I will post a question for the following week.  This way you can cue your post for Monday if you wish.  If Monday doesn’t work for you, you can still play along any day of the week that works best. 
  • If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.
  • Topic: Summer Fun and Training

    Question: With the warmer weather brings BBQ’s, vacations and summer holiday fun…how do you manage a balance between training and fun?

    Balance is a difficult thing, but most especially in the summer.  Of course I want to go to every fun event and enjoy opportunities to get away, but I always have in the back of my mind that what I do the night before will affect the next day.  I know that one night could throw off an entire week.  I also know that if I restrict myself from fun I will go crazy!!  So I balance the drinks and the food and the fun.

    The part I have the most trouble with, is eating.  I eat A LOT in the summer.  I love a good BBQ with burgers, chicken, potato salad, chips, ice cream…etc.  Love!  I do sometimes overdo it, but I don’t do it every weekend.  I try to keep it in moderation as best as possible.  I am lucky that I am not a big drinker to begin with (like I used to be) so I do not equate fun with drinking.  I really enjoy a few glasses of wine or some martinis but I can have a perfectly good time without alcohol.  I have never completely cut alcohol out (like I would for IM or Marathon training) but I limit myself beginning 10 days out from a race.

    And as far as fun goes…who says the fun has to stop???  I plan my training in such a way that I can still have fun.  If I think it going to be a late night, I take a nap before I go out.  Or I plan my workout for the next evening so I can sleep in.  The training doesn’t stop for vacations and weekends away…I work it in as best I can.  I don’t always get the same workouts, but I always do something.  Of course, it doesn’t always work out…sometimes I do have to give up fun things with friends because of a training or race day that just cannot be worked around; but that is what I want to do.  I choose to give those things up because training and racing is also fun for me. 

    I think the balancing act works because I work at it and because I want it to work.  I enjoy (well, most of my time) my training and I LOVE race days.  As long as it is still fun, it will be worth the sacrifice.

    ______________________________________________________________________________________________

    Next Weeks Topic:  Motivational Quotes

    Next Week Question:  What are some of your favorite motivational quotes/sayings?  Do you have any personal mantras you use while dealing with tough times on the race course?

    8 thoughts on “Monday Brain Exchange Week 11- Celebrating Holidays Through Training

    1. That’s the good part about all this tri training or running we do, we can sneak in a BBQ pigout once in awhile…you’ll burn it off! Enjoy your summer and train safe!

    2. I try to find a balance too and the necessary rest between exercise and the fun things. But I don’t let the fun things go by, after all isn’t that what life is also about: have fun and do things we love?

    3. Pingback: Brain Exchange #11 & Monday Goals « My First 5K Blog

    4. Nothing about training is easy, but that’s the allure of it… the challenge is to have fun, yet train hard! It’s what makes us athletes :).

    5. We grill so much during the summer. My hubby loves his steak but he will usually grill me my fish:) I totally hear what you are saying…sometimes it is hard to stay on track. We all just need to be a little more mindful…hard to do at times:)

    Leave a Reply

    