Home » Brain Exchange » Monday Brain Exchange Week 14- Give-A-Ways

Monday Brain Exchange Week 14- Give-A-Ways

Here are the answers from participants in last weeks Brain Exchange:

Here’s how it works: 

  • Every Monday, at the end of the current weeks M.B.E answer, I will post a question for the following week.  This way you can cue your post for Monday if you wish.  If Monday doesn’t work for you, you can still play along any day of the week that works best. 
  • If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.
  • Topic: Give-A-Ways- Love Em or Hate Em

    Question:  What are your thoughts on give-a-ways?  Do you enter them often?  What entices you to enter or turns you off from entering?  Have you run your own give-a-ways?

    I have a very love/hate relationship with give-a-ways.  I have run my own and I have fun with it, but I only run them now and then and only when I feel like I have something really good to give away. 

    Enticements: 

    • Easy to enter; the easier it is to enter, the better chance that I will.  The best ones are the ones where all you have to do is leave an email  and say you want to win!  I love those! 
    • Something I really want to win.  I won’t enter if it is something I do not want or cannot use.  I wouldn’t want to take the chance away from someone else.

    Turn-off

    • Difficult to enter.  If I have to visit the website, come back and tell you about it then go to another page that leads me to a page that takes me to a different page and so and and so forth, I probably won’t bother.  The truth is, I don’t have that kind of time.  And if it is a site I want to visit, I don’t need to be bribed with a give-a-way to do so.

    Really, I guess it is pretty simple for me…if I see the rules, and they start with numbers, and I know it is going to take me a lot of time, than I probably won’t enter unless it is something that I just cannot pass up.  I would say on average I enter one or two every other week or two.  I really do appreciate the effort and thought that go into running them and I enjoy when someone wins mine and emails me with excitement, so even thought I don’t enter them all (or even many) I will continue to run them and enter them when they are easy and something I really want.

    _______________________________________________________________________________________________

    Next Weeks Topic:  Favorite Athletes

    Next Weeks Question: Who are your Top 5 favorite athletes? And why?  They can be famous or infamous, to do with your sport or be in a completely different sport.

    10 thoughts on “Monday Brain Exchange Week 14- Give-A-Ways

    1. I think it depends on the giveaway. If it is something I am interested in I don’t mind visiting a site since the manufacturer is probably sponsoring the giveaway. On the other hand I am not a fan the whole linking, Facebooking, Twittering process.

    2. I enter give aways if I’m interested in what the product is and it’s fairly easy to enter. If it’s something I can’t use, I won’t enter. I haven’t had any give aways to date but I also don’t have many readers and I’ve never felt the urge. maybe someday.

    3. I never enter in giveaways. I’m not from the US and can’t participate most of the time. I never had one myself and don’t think I ever will. I’d rather give the blogger friends who comment on almost every one of my posts something but that’s getting to expensive 😆

    4. I’m about like you. I only enter sometimes. I do go through weeks where it seems like there are 5-6 that I enter, and then weeks where I don’t enter any. I host them mostly to get more followers, but I think right now I am too burned out!!

    5. i sort of agree…i don’t like when there are a ton of rules for entering a giveaway. that’s why when i do it i just say leave a comment!!

      i might still come down to BOMF in the morning. I’ll let you know if i am for sure. i still want to meet you!

    6. I don’t like it when there are a ton of rules in a giveaway. I’m okay if I have to tweet about the giveaway to earn an extra entry… but if I have to follow someone I’m not currently following, or fan something on Facebook or hunt down too many things… I pass!

      I guess I should write my own post on this before filling up your comments, huh?

    7. i’m with you!! i hate the ones where they want you to visit 10 different websites and write a novel. in fact i mocked it once in a giveaway of my own… not sure if i pissed any other giver-awayers off haha.

      i also don’t enter unless it’s something i really want – i don’t need anymore random clutter!

    Leave a Reply

    