Home » Week in Review » Week In Review; 6/28-7/4

Week In Review; 6/28-7/4

Week In Review; 6/28-7/4

Monday: 5 miles on the bike.  It was friggen hot and then my tire went flat.  I was in no mood to deal with it so 5 miles it was for the day!

Tuesday: 1700 meter swim.  Didn’t have a specific swim planned, just got in and swam.  Decided at about 400 meters to make it an endurance swim and went 1600 meters.  Then did a 100 meter cool down.  Possibly my best swim of the year!

Wednesday: 30 minutes lifting.  Woke up late and got to the gym late.  Settled for some PT dynamics and some arms/abs work.  Something is always better than nothing.

Thursday: TRACK WORKOUT!  Woo hoo!  Haven’t done one of these since last year.  800 meters jogged @ 5:20 for a warm up.  Then 5×800; Mile 1-4:30, 4:41= 9:11 and Mile 2-4:44, 4:41= 9:25 -4:52 2.5miles= 23:28.  Cool down was 800 meters walking.  Went out a little fast…had teammates there reminding me I am still recovering and to push, but not too much so I let up just a little.  Felt great!

Friday: 1000 meters in the pool.  Worst swim ever- I went later since I was off and I will NOT go at 10am EVER again.  There was ONE person in every lane…it was like geriatric swim hour or something.  And they all wanted to doggy paddle and take up the whole lane.  I decided to go with the one lady who actually looked like she might be able to handle sharing a lane but I was so very wrong.  Every time I swam by her I got hit in the face or leg or arm or something!  THEN…as if having one lane wasn’t enough…the old bat in the lane next to me doing god-knows-what kind of swim kept kicking her feet into my lane.  This was worst than OWS at a race!!!  And just when I thought it couldn’t get worse, the lady in my lane got out just as scuba Steve decided to get in and share lane with me.  He brought EVERY toy he owned to the pool.  He had on handweights, flippers AND a snorkel.  (side note: no fish in our pool!) He proceeded to kick his fins just as I would come up for air each time.  And you know what, after 1000 meters of swimming hell, I called it a friggen day!

Saturday: This was an intended rest day, but given my weak workouts on Monday, Wednesday and Friday I decided to venture out on a bike ride.  I rode for close to six miles.  Afterwards I went for a short walk with my mom.  Have I mentioned how much I lovvvveeee being in the sun??  Cause I do.  A lot.

Sunday: Had a run planned but changed it to a walk/jog when I woke up with sore shins.  Did 3.7 miles down by the river and felt great; I actually think I engaged my shins/calves more walking without pounding on them.

Weekly High: Track workout, which was bytheway followed by some yummy ice cream!  Oh, and my Tuesday swim too!

Weekly Low: The intensity of my Mom-Wed-Fri workouts was mediocre at best.

Three things I am grateful for this week:

  1. No parents, no kids, no teachers at work 🙂
  2. Teammates that push me to be better!
  3. Air conditioning…seriously…NJ heat wave coming in with the whole next week slated to be 97+ degrees!  And that is BEFORE the humidity!

Quote of the week:  “Those who desire to give up freedom in order to gain security will not have, nor do they deserve, either one.”  Benjamin Franklin

Hope everyone has a safe and happy 4th of July!!!!!

10 thoughts on “Week In Review; 6/28-7/4

  1. Woohoo for your awesome swim earlier in the week. Boo for the crazy people “swimming” in the lanes. It gets so bad at my gym that I only go swimming early in the morning. Yeah for a great track workout! I have one planned this week too and am actually excited about it! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great workout week to me! Great job swimming. I don’t know how you made it 1,000 yards with all of the distractions you had! I only swim before 7:00 now because I hate fighting other people in the lanes.
    hopefully this heat will break very soon. ugh.

  3. Pingback: PiF 500 Mile Update & Summer Race Calendar « Finishing is Winning

  4. I haven’t read your biking trauma story(ies) yet, but I will.

    You’re right, that was a pretty bad swim. If by chance, you do go at 10AM again, just enter the pool with the intent of doggy paddling.
    You might work some new muscle groups.

Leave a Reply

