Home » About Me » Maximus Wins & The Going Places Award…

Maximus Wins & The Going Places Award…

Ok, this post is about three weeks ricidulously overdue.  Way back like a million years ago, Jamoosh held a little contest…a turtle naming contest for his Last Mile Brewing logo.  There was some fierce competition. And I won!  As if just winning (and being the one to name his logo turtle) wasn’t enough, I came home to find this gem in my mailbox 🙂  A Last Mile Brewing water bottle.  And look who is on it- Maximus! Score!

Don’t be jealous!  Actually, on second thought…no, go ahead and be jealous 🙂

Around this same time I was also given the Going Places Award from Suzy.  I’m supposed to tell you where I hope to be in ten years, then pass it along to ten bloggers.  This is not the “official award banner” but I liked it and thought it fit! 

In ten years I hope to be…

  • a homeowner
  • a half-ironman finisher
  • a marathon finisher
  • a wife
  • a mommy of one or two
  • the holder of a Masters Degree
  • working in a career I love
  • more financially sound
  • a free-lance writer
  • happy in whatever I am doing

The truth is, I have no idea where I will be in ten years!  I can tell you this much…ten years ago I would have never thought I would be where I am now!  In the end, the only thing I really want, is to be happy.  And to have fun.  At the end of the day, I want to have truly lived!

And ten bloggers:

Jill @ Jill Will Run

Jill @ Run With Jill

Kim @ IlaxStudio

Julie @ Julie’s Running Blog

Meg @ Meg Runs

Jamoosh @ Last Mile Lounge

Andrea @ Age Groups Rock

Fran @ Dutch Girl Gets Healthy

Katie @ One Run At A Time

Rick @ Marathon Man Runs Again

 __________________________________________________________________________

Hope everyone has a great weekend- unfortunately, due to a series of events that were all out of my control, I will not be participating in BOMF relay.  Our relay team pretty much fell apart (literally!) and it just couldn’t come together in time.  I feel sad and I am bummed but I am trying to think of it as a sign that perhaps I needed the rest.  The following weekend is NJState, my biggest race of the summer…maybe I need this weekend to not race.  To those who are racing GOOD LUCK!!!!  Instead of racing this weekend I will be attending a concert on Friday night and my friend Bill’s wedding on Saturday night.  I am still staying busy busy and of course I will post photos!  Thanks again for all the happy birthday wishes, for all the props on my duathlon this past weekend and for being a continuous amazing support system! 

21 thoughts on “Maximus Wins & The Going Places Award…

  1. the end, the only thing I really want, is to be happy. And to have fun. At the end of the day, I want to have truly lived!

    SO TRUE!
    Ever since my Dad died 10 years ago I stopped thinking of where I want to be in the future but live the here and now which I’m still doing today.

    Thanks for forwarding it to me, I’m going to think about this because I don’t have many wishes for my future except for the most important thing: be healthy.

  2. Well, I did sorta write a little blurb about where I’d be in 10-years and spewed off a million “wishes” but in the end, just stated I wanted my children to be happy in whatever they did in life. There’s nothing really more important than being happy, right??!!! Nice list, I really enjoyed it. And the water bottle is cool…which reminds me, I need to post about the generous bottle opener he gave me…for no other reason than I just whined enough time – haha. Sorry about the relay, maybe it was a sign to rest up for the upcoming big race. Ang gosh, you are just super cute :). Happy Thursday!!!

  3. Thanks for passing this on to me! I’m going to have to think hard about this… It’s weird how far away and yet how close 10 years feels!

    Sorry your race fell apart… but it sounds like you’re filling your weekend with fun things anyway so it should be nice nonetheless! And the rest will probably do you good!

  4. Hi Jill,

    Great list and it’s always good to have goals and dreams. Good luck with them all.

    Sometimes one has to look very deep inside to work out what really matters in life and everyone is different – I have had an amazing life thus far and can only hope it will continue. There will always be “speed-bumps” but how we deal with these tells us more about ourselves. As long as we learn from our mistakes we will continue to grow to be a better person.
    (sorry, got a bit carried away there??)

    Congrats on what you have achieved so far and good luck on what you plan to achieve.

    cheers
    Steve

  5. Hi Jill,
    I love your water bottle! Congrats on winning Jamoosh’s name contest!

    Thanks for the tag too, I will have to start thinking about some future goals:) Enjoy your weekend!

  6. yay what a sweet water bottle! thanks for the sweet comments and encouragement on my new bike. I wanted to get something that would get me thru a sprint tri or oly tri competitively if I decided to go that route in the next couple of years. I think she’ll do the trick!

    We have a lot of the same 10 year goals. Whoo!

  7. You know you haven’t stopped by in awhile when your info doesn’t automatically pop up in the comment box. FAIL! Love the water bottle! LOL! And great list, I have no doubt you will be the accomplisher of all of those things!

  8. Jill from a “chronic” list maker – kudos to you. Reading your list makes me smile and realize it is time to revise mine with our little one arriving in 7~ weeks.

    Sorry to hear about your race team for this weekend, but I think it will be a blessing in disguise – you will be ready for bear for your next one. The break from racing will help for sure.

    Go get ’em Jill! You are the best,

    J

  9. Nice water bottle, congrats, you’re famous!
    I loved your list. I will have to think about mine…it’s hard to believe I’ll be 55 in ten years, yikes!! Our lists will be entirely different so that should be FUN, thanks for giving me the opportunity to think about some new goals!

  10. Pingback: Going Places Award | Jill Will Run

Leave a Reply

