Home » Week in Review » Week In Review- 8/9-8/15

Week In Review- 8/9-8/15

Week in Review; 8/9-8/15

Monday: Rest Day.  I cannot remember the last time I took Monday as a rest day, and I really prefer not to, but this week it just had to be done.  I was exhausted from the prior weekend and needed the sleep, especially because with a dentist appointment and a Team Board Meeting after work I knew my day wasn’t ending  until well after 9pm.  Sometimes, that is a workout in and of itself!

Tuesday: Headed out for a bike ride after work and decided to ride some hills.  “Hills” are relative here in South Jersey but there are a few small but steep ones right in my town.  I mapped out a route and ended up doing 12.1 miles.  It was a good ride!

Wednesday: 1000 meters in the pool–> 100 meter warm-up, 200 meter kick set, 200 meters with buoy, 400 meters free swim and 100 meter cool down.  Average swim; probably what I will stick to once or twice a week through the off season.

Thursday: Oh…just THIS superawesome track workout. 

Friday: Quick and easy 6.2 miles on the bike.  Pretty run of the mill ride.  (EDIT: I also did Jamoosh’s HCC exercises!!  8 out of 13!)

Saturday: Planned rest day.  Spent the day at a pool club celebrating the TT 5 year anniversary.  Fun times- was so nice to swim just to swim too!

Sunday: Half Marathon training has officially begun!  Went for a 5 mile run and felt pretty good.  It was definitely a confidence boost to get 5 miles in without pain.  🙂

Weekly High: Doesn’t it go without saying?  Track workout!!!!

Weekly Low:  I officially said good-bye to my office assistant this week.  He is a retired cop and worked a few hours a day in the office with me.  He was a huge help to me and over the years has become much more than a co-worker.  Recently he bought a house in Florida and yesterday he officially moved down there to be retired for real!  I wish him all the best, I just know I am going to miss him dearly!

Three things I am grateful for this week:

  1. The gorgeous weather!!!!
  2. Teammates who push me to be a better athlete.
  3. New blog friends- hello new readers 🙂

Quote of the week: “The real glory is being knocked to your knees and then coming back. That’s real glory.” – Vince Lombardi

14 thoughts on “Week In Review- 8/9-8/15

  1. Love the track workout success! I’ve missed mine while traveling for a few weeks. Nice week of workouts. Sounds like you’re balancing work, training and life really well!

  2. If that’s real glory, then I am stoked for my comeback. And I’m hoping it’s here soon! Nice job on the great workout week – you are cranking out them like no-one’s business :). Keep it up and yay, welcome to half marathon training!!! Have a great week, girl! I am back to work this week so may not have time to blog much as I’d like. ((hugs))

  3. Whoo hoo! Nice track work out lady! And you had a pretty awesome week of training, too!

    Everytime I read you east coasters get rain I’m jealous! I can’t wait for the rain here!
    Have a great week!

  4. 12mi bike ride is great, glad you’ve kept that biking momentum.

    Looking forward to the progression of your long runs, really hoping you have great half-marathon training and some fun races.

    As much fun as it would be to work alongside you, it’s tough to beat retiring to Florida. We should all be so lucky. And, great quote!

  5. Hi! I like your “week in review” post! It is great hearing about what others have going on in their lives 🙂

    Is there a way to “follow” your blog? I did not see a button for it and I am kind of new to the whole blogging scene, so sorry for the simple question. Let me know. I want to keep up with the latest posts but unless I “follow”, they don’t come up when I log into blog.

    • Hey- glad you like it 🙂

      You can either A- subscribe and get an email each time I post or B- Link me in google reader

      🙂

  6. i wish i was retiring right now! lol. great week jill!

    i am screwed if i take my rest day on a monday… inevitably i will get lazy/slack off later in the week and having already burned a day off, my weekly workouts are just screwed :-/ i am envious!

  7. You’ve had a great training week Jill. Well done!

    Good co-workers are so important. I’m glad I have so many of them especially K. who also became one of my closest friends over the years. I know I would be very sad too if one of us decided to take another job.

  8. Oh to be “retired for real.” That would be great! At least being able to afford to to that would be great.

    I am the last person to talk about rest days…seeing how I don’t take them but I don’t like them early week. I feel like I need to get my miles in early just incase life go crazy later in the week. Still don’t know when I will actually take one…maybe the racing calendar will decide. That or Hubbs support of big races?!?

Leave a Reply

