Home » Week in Review » Week In Review- 8/16-8/22

Week In Review- 8/16-8/22

Week in Review; 8/16-8/22

Monday: 1000 meter free swim at the pool.  And it was just that…a free swim.  No watch, no equipement…just swimming to swim. ♥

Tuesday: Planned rest day.

Wednesday: Another great track workout!   4×400’s- 2:10, 2:09, 2:12, 2:10 =8:41  2×800’s- 4:44, 4:43 =9:33 and  2×400’s- 2:17, 2:19 =4:36 (9:12) with .25 warm-up and cool-down.  Did a 3 minute rest between runs and 5 minute rest between sets.  Did a much better job pacing myself although I still went out too fast on the first set of 400’s.  What is your favorite kind of track workout?

Thursday: Headed to the gym for a lifting session (arms) and did my PT active dynamics and HCC exercises.  For right now, they are pretty easy for me (at some point, I will eat those words, I am sure) because much of the HCC workout is stuff I have been doing for months as part of my PT.  The only thing I have not been doing, is the shoulder tap- I have ZERO coordination and look like a one-woman circus!  After work, I headed out for a bike ride.  I was tired and not in the mood but I made a deal with myself that if I went for a bike ride, I could enjoy martini’s at girls night later.  So even though it was only 6.2 miles, it was something!  And I drank my martini’s guilt free 🙂

Friday: Planned rest day.

Saturday: Wildwood Tri.  Race Report here.

Sunday: This could be summed up as a lazy day!  I really had hoped to get out for a reovery run of at least 2.5 miles, but my legs were just not going for it today.  At all.  So not worth it to hurt myself over- I have not been this sore in a long time!  Did I mention how tough the course was…cause it was tough!!  I settled for my HCC workout and called it a week!

Weekly High: Getting through the WW Tri despite pretty much everything going against me!  Woo hoo for sticking it out!

Weekly Low: I don’t feel like I did very much by way of work-outs.  Even though I know I needed the sleep and down time, lazy days make me feel so…well, lazy.

Three things I am grateful for this week:

  1. Vacation- I leave next week…YEAHHHH!!!
  2. Sleep- after waking up at 330am, it was so nice to sleep past 9am the next morning!
  3. My mom- Wildwood was the first race that I did without any teammates, but as always, my biggest fan was there ♥

Quote of the week:  We are built to conquer environment, solve problems, achieve goals and we find no real satisfaction or happiness in life without obstacles to conquer and goals to achieve. -Maxwell Maltz-

9 thoughts on “Week In Review- 8/16-8/22

  1. The workouts you did were great Jill. It’s okay to take a few more rest days every now and then, you probably needed it.

    My rest day is Sunday and I often feel lazy that day because I don’t workout. Instead I’ve started taking Bella for a long walk on Sunday which we both love doing.

  2. I am lying here taking a rest day I didn’t want to take and feeling guilty. But my heel ached most of the day yesterday. I want to be able to do my relay this weekend.

  3. I kinda want to do track workouts again. I haven’t done them since HS. My favorites were repeats and pyramid runs (200, 400, 800, 1000, 800, 400, 200). The college I trained at in HS also had a 1 mile dirt track around the practice fields. I loved doing mile repeats there.

  4. Well, it LOOKS like you had some great workouts…but the rest is beneficil, too, as you know. Hang in there, you’re one very tough cookie!! Love that quote. LOVE IT!

  5. Very cool concluding quote.
    And, I wouldn’t even think about training, recovery or otherwise, after biking a 4 freaking loop course.
    No thanks. Good call.

Leave a Reply

