Home » Good Days » Medford Tri Report

Medford Tri Report

Today was my last race of the season.  As sad as that is, I am actually ready for a break- plus, I am still half-marathon training.

Because I was going to be leaving the race right from the shore, and have to go right to work from the shore Tuesday, I did not want to take my bike to the race.  Therefore, I had my friend Kurt bike for me.  Our relay name was a combo of both our last names- because we are super creative like that- you know it!

Pre-Race:

Wake up call was 5am; pretty late actually which was a nice change.  I had packed the night before, for both the race and the shore so I was all ready to go once I had my breakfast ready.  Out the door, quick stop at wawa and I was on my way.  Parking for this race was great…some of my teammates were already there so we chatted a little and headed over the the race.  Got there fairly early so there was quite a bit of waiting, but we had so many team members there the time went pretty fast.  Before I knew it, I was headed down to the swim.

Swim- 8:10; 71/302

This was my best swim to date.  So of course, it was also the one time they messed up my score!  They had me as starting in a different wave so my original time was listed as 11:10- you KNOW I had that fixed!  It wasn’t tough to figure out- it was clear I had an awesome swim; I was the 5th out of the water from my wave 🙂  I started off confident, in the front and just took off and never looked back.  I had the swim I was hoping for all summer.  It could not have been better!  And without a doubt, this is the best I have ever placed in a tri event, so I am over the moon!!!

What I would do different:  Um, Nothing!!!!

T1: 1:16

I had a long run into transition but I knew Kurt was waiting for me so I pressed on.  As soon as I reached him, we exchanged the chip and off he went!

Bike: 39:25; 64/302

I can’t really speak much for this but I can tell you this, Kurt was back in a hot second.  While he was biking, I used the bathroom and got changed into my running shorts.  I wasn’t sure when to expect him but I got into our transition spot only a few minutes before he returned.  He had a GREAT bike!

T2: 0:54

Look at that killer time!  Kurt came in, I took the chip and peaced the heck outta there!

Run: 32:46; 251/302

I went into this as a training run- I already did the 5k Wednesday as my speedwork and had to get my longer miles in today so this was just for training.  Of course I pushed it a little but I had to make sure to keep myself in check too.  Overall the run was good- out and back, mostly shaded but the one major problem was the lack of water.  There was NO water at the finish.  W.T.F???

Overall:  1:22:28; 134/302

I am really proud of this race- Kurt and I both did really well.  It was a great way to end my season!

Post-Race:

Hung out for about an hour after- we had our team tent there and it was my friend Vic’s birthday so we had cake and some adult beverages.  It was really fun but the sand and sun were calling my name.  By 11am, I was in the car and shore bound 🙂

*Photos from Wednesdays 5k and today’s race will be posted later this week.

How was your weekend?  How are you wrapping up summer?  I am hardly reading while on vacation but I would love to know what is up with you all- let me know anything worth knowing 🙂

12 thoughts on “Medford Tri Report

  1. Great way to finish your season. Well done and enjoy your vacation, you deserve it so much.

    I’ve got nothing big going on at the moment, life is just life but that’s the way I like it.

  2. That is a fantastic swim time! Way to go!
    The lack of water at the finish line is so not cool… I would have been pretty ticked.
    I just ran 11 miles this morning and now I’m laying around because it kicked my butt! Half marathon here I come! (and beach vacation during taper week)

  3. My Yurbuds came in the mail and I love them!!! They survived a run where the cord was bounced around by my dog-leash hand. Today they even stayed in when my cat jumped up and pulled on the cord!!! Amazing! Thank you so much 🙂

  4. Whoo hoo! Great swim and a great way to end the summer 😉
    Hope you’re having a fun time at the shore! (that always cracks me up – we call it the beach here – tee hee)

  5. Team name, huh?
    What were you guys, Team Kill? Ha

    Awesome swim, how cool to be one of the first out of the water, fans cheering, great job.

    Finally, must be nice to get out of Tri gear and focus on your half races. I know it’s always a relief to forget about the bike for 6 months or so (if desired).

Leave a Reply

