Home » Life in General » A Look At Summer

A Look At Summer

As much as 2010 has been a thorn in my side, with a lot of stress, injury and more stress…this was a really great summer.  Despite my injuries this year and what seemed like constant pain in one form or another, when I look back I feel extremely accomplished.  It was a good summer for racing, I had a most excellent birthday and I am wrapping up my third weekend in a row down the shore as we speak.

As I laid in bed falling asleep last night I started to really give thought to how far I came this summer; I was hard on myself because I often switched up my goals and in part it felt like I was taking the easy road.  But this road was not easy, it was full of challenges.  Was it the summer I expected?  No.  But the end result was one PR after another and some really great experiences.  And I’ll take that as a win.

I consider my kick-off to summer Black Bear Relay in May; the coldest swim I have ever endured and also my first 1500 meter ows.  It was brutal cold and I threw up in the water before finally finishing…but I finished.  I knew my next swim of that distance would seem like cake in comparison!  Next up was the Scott Coffee 8K- I still wasn’t allowed to push or run hills of any kind but it was still a good way to gauge my recovery.  I did well too and it was the start of getting my confidence back.  After that, I had a small break wherein I attended two weddings in two weekends and then my birthday.  And before I knew it I was back to racing; with the exception of two weekends, I raced every weekend from July 11 until this weekend, Sept 11.  First up was Philly Women’s Tri which was once again turned into a DU; it was just as brutal as the year before but at least I knew what to expect.  It was also my first PR 🙂  I followed that race up with NJ State…probably my most anticipated race of summer.  First it was an Oly, then I made the smart but agonizing decision to drop to the Sprint.  In the end it was the right thing to do.  It was the best race I had all summer and the most fun.  Oh, and another PR 🙂  A week later I was in Belmar for a Sprint Tri; another fun race and another PR!  I followed that up with a Spring relay at Steelman where I had a great swim.  The seond 1500 swim, and just like a predicted…in comparison to Black Bear, it was cake!   Just as I was getting used to all this PR’ing…Wildwood came along and beat me up!  To date, this was my most challenging race.  I knew I was tough when I crossed that finish line!  A week later I did the Medford Sprint as a relay and had my best swim time to date.  Another PR! It was a great way to end my tri season!  And I topped the race off by heading down the shore.  And the racing did not stop…last week, I ran the Avalon 7-miler and although it tested my strength and my body, I finished well.  And this weekend…well, this weekend I am enjoying the end of summer!

And because I love photos…I give you, a summer in photos!

The thing is, I haven’t figured out a way to post it to this page- WordPress doesn’t support the OneTrueMedia, and on YouTube the music doesn’t play.  And it just isn’t the same without the music.  Therefore in order to see the montage (and you know you want to!) you have to click here.

What’s next?  That is still a tough question.  I am still not running…I will run this week and see how I feel to determine my course of action for PDR.  The Warrior Dash is still a definite and as long as my legs feel healthy, so is Philly.  But after Philly, I am taking a major break from running.  I need to heal- I need to just enjoy running without the pain or lasting aches that come with my longer runs.  For a few weeks, if not more, I will be much more focused on getting back to 100%.  Cause if you know me, you know I am already looking for ways to make 2011 even better than 2010!!!!

What was your biggest accomplishment in the summer of 2010?

*This day cannot go without acknowledging its significance- thinking of all those who gave 9-11-2001 and still give. ♥

12 thoughts on “A Look At Summer

  1. Well, I’ve had a pretty crappy summer running-wise…but I guess if I had to name “something” I’d have to say finishing SF marathon on a bum heel. Not that I’d recommend that or anything. Ha. I had a couple very challening hill races, which I really didn’t race but just used to get stronger.

    I am hoping you are able to run this week and get this injury stuff put away for good!!!

    HUGS!

  2. Very cool video! What was my biggest accomplishment? I guess it was hiking up Pikes Peak. I am not a hiker and I felt like I had completed a marathon. I felt rather emotional when I reached the top.

  3. Wow did we do that many races, what a great season. I LOVED that montage so great seeing the whole summer over again! Email me the name of that first song, it was just so fitting. Enjoy the shore….
    Your TT teammate

  4. great reflection! it’s great when one new season comes and you can look back like this on the past season. in all sorts of ways. i’m glad the summer was unexpected but good in its own way! here’s to a good fall!!! 🙂

  5. Hey there little lady! I agree, you have had a challenging year but it was filled with some pretty sweet moments:) You were a PR machine! BTW, I am loving your video!

  6. You have the world’s best Tri photographer. And you are always so happy in the photos, that just tells it all.

    It’s smart to be looking ahead and treating your poor legs so that you are 100% next year. I can’t imagine how many big smiley faces your summer 2011 summary will include.

    I hope this week’s run gives you a clear answer about the PDR.
    Congrats on a great summer of racing.

  7. I don’t know why you remotely have regrets over the summer. Hello you race like 100 triathlons and pr’d in all of them! 🙂 I’m sure it will be nice to have the winter off from running – all that cold, snow, ice… your body will thank you in more ways than one!

Leave a Reply

