Home » Life in General » Bye Bye Social Life…

Bye Bye Social Life…

I got a second job.

This girl is going back to her roots…waitressing three to four nights a week, including my weekends.  I am going to be exhausted and I have no idea how I will fit my training in, but I am excited to make some money.  And the truth is, I really like waitressing.

I started waitressing when I was 17, at the local Perkins three mornings a week.  I remember being amazed at how much money I could make in five or six hours.  While still working at Perkins, I also took a job at Friendly’s a few nights a week.  I ended up working at Friendly’s for a total of five and a half years.  I worked at a few other restaurants in between those jobs and probably would have stayed a waitress if it came with benefits.  In the end, that was the only reason I even stopped.  Despite the assholes that don’t tip and the real crazy people that throw food at you…waitressing is not only fun but a huge money maker if you are good.  The restaurant where I will be working is a higher scaled place with a good clientele.  I am nervous but I feel like this is a good thing for me right now.

It goes without saying that my time is going to become even more limited.  I am nervous about training and keeping up with workouts…and I am really nervous about how I will fit racing into my schedule.  But the truth is, without a second job there would be no racing in 2011 anyway.  When it comes down to it, the money just isn’t going to be there without a second income.  And I know if I give up racing, training will go by the wayside because I won’t have anything to look forward to.  Plus, I love racing- everything from the excitement leading up the day to the actual day and all the people and the whole community.  It so much a part of who I am, I cannot imagine giving it up.

All my life I have worked more than one job or worked and went to school at the same time.  Being busy, super busy, is nothing new to me.  But over the course of the last year I have enjoyed having only one job.  I have enjoyed going to bed at 9-10pm.  I have enjoyed waking up, running and then lounging on Sunday mornings.  I know once I get into a routine I will be fine but I would be lying if I said I thought this was going to be easy.  I am hoping that after a few weeks, I get my brain (and body) into a rhythm…starting in the off-season is probably going to be very helpful!

20 thoughts on “Bye Bye Social Life…

  1. Hi Jill! Man, you just keep ratcheting things up a notch – I have no doubt that you are going to find the balance you need to continue to do everything GREAT ~ Including your training and racing.

    It is always amazing that the more it seems like you have to do, the more you can. I suspect it’s always been that way.

    Best to you on job #2!

  2. Good luck! I wish I could come visit our restaurant! I can tell just from reading that you have an awesome attitude and will be a great waitress (again).

    I have daydreamed about getting a second job so I could have some more money! Good for you!

  3. congrats! and good luck!!! this is why i dog sit b/c it helps me make some extra $$ and also because i actually like it!!!! it feels good to be making money for sure. hopefully the job has a little flexibility built in for when you do need a break. i have been working since 7th grade, every summer, and then i’ve always had a side job in addition to my full time job such as dog sitting or baby sitting or ABA work. it’s just… built into me i guess. grew up w/o money so i think that is partly why. but also getting out there and doing things that i CAN do is part of it.

  4. I bet you are a fantastic waitress! 🙂 Sounds like you’re going to be crazy busy but I’m sure you’ll adjust. Plus think of all the blog fodder you’ll have! 🙂
    Good luck with Warrior Dash tomorrow! I won’t be able to make it up. 😦 I can’t wait to hear your race report though (and see your swag).

  5. Sounds like a busy time for you! But I bet you will rise to the occasion and rock this new adventure!

    Thanks for sharing your ups and downs with us in blogland 🙂

  6. Good luck! I have often pondered getting a second job as well. This teaching gig just doesn’t pay as much as it should. But I knew that when I signed up for it. I hope things work out for you!

  7. I can totally understand why you’ve taken the second job. I’m in a luxury position I don’t have to but if necessary I would.

    I’ve worked in a restaurant for a few years too and loved it too, love the interaction with people.

    As for having races to look forward too I’m the same: if I don’t have anything planned, I skip workouts easily.

  8. I’ve always found that when I had a second job and was super busy, I’m actually much better about being efficient with my time and getting everything in! The only time I struggled was when I had FOUR jobs. Then my training suffered…congrats and good luck!

  9. You’ll find your rhythm soon enough! Good for you for putting it all in perspective. You’ll make time for the training – it’s what you do! Good luck girlie!

  10. she works hard for the money, ba dum dum dum. 🙂 i waitressed as well – gotta love the redneck non-tippers and the crazy people. the money is nice! especially since, erm, you get to type in your ‘claim’ at the end of the night for tax purposes 😉

  11. I always find that the more things on my plate, the better I actually am at getting my workouts in becuase I know I have to do it at x-time or I won’t get it in later. It’ll all work out :). I think waitressing would be really fun – and some excellent money! Have fun!!! 🙂

  12. If your waitress work is anything like mine was during my youth, you won’t need to set aside too much time to train – you’ll get your workout on the job.

  13. i keep thinking i’d like to work some hours at a running store but i really don’t have the time. i feel maxed out enough and altho it would be fun, it would end up causing more stress than it’s worth.

  14. I think you are the first person I’ve ever heard say “I really like waitressing.” I was a server for a few years, and while the money was awesome, it’s not something I would have ever said that I enjoyed. But you’re right that the money, especially if you are good at what you do, can be hard to beat.

    • I think the money helps me to like it- I mean, its easier to dislike a job that pays low and like a job that pays well. And I like being around people in general. I guess because I know a lot of waiters and waitresses who like their jobs, it doesn’t seem odd to me…although I can see how it looks weird to others.

  15. I had grand plans to be a waitress when I was in high school, but had to hostess first. Quite honestly, I couldn’t even handle the stress of hostessing!! I totally wish I’d stuck with it though.

  16. Giiiiiirl, I loved working in a restaurant. During 2007-2009, I worked as a hostess 4-5 nights a week, had my full-time job, trained for a marathon, and got a bit obsessed with Bikram yoga. I look back and I miss it!!!! It was so much fun. Working in the restaurant is just so fun, I think. New people, customer service, etc, etc. It’s all about time management, and I know you can do it! Heck, it’s not new to you, and having this job might actually spice things up and you’ll have some of the best times in training. After all, it’ll feel so precious 🙂

  17. wow. I’m impressed with anyone who can waitress and be good at it. I can’t deal w/people’s B.S. at all, and would be all too likely to tell them that to their faces. :p kudos to you for doing it and doing it well. 😀

Leave a Reply

