Home » Brain Exchange » Brain Exchange Week 16- What You Miss When Training

Brain Exchange Week 16- What You Miss When Training

Hello players 🙂

Every Monday, at the end of the current weeks M.B.E answer, I will post a question for the following week.  This way you can cue your post for Monday if you wish.  If Monday doesn’t work for you, you can still play along any day of the week that works best. If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.

This Weeks Question:

What do you miss most when you are in the heat of training or gearing up for a race?  Do you skip late nights out?  Do you give up goodies and alcohol?  What is the first thing you crave when training is over?

The only months I don’t feel like I am “in training” are Dec and Jan, when I think of myself as more in maintenance mode.  The “heat of training” for me is always the six weeks or so leading up to my first road race and likewise the six weeks leading up to my first tri of the season.  For 2011, my first road race is planned for early March and my first tri for early June.  Given how often I race, I am basically training all year and use some races as training workouts for “A” races.

Because I am almost always in training mode, I really don’t give much up- more or less, I cut back within a week or two of each race.  Of course, this can sometimes mean going weeks, since I race back to back weekends in the summer.  I have never given anything completely up, but I drink far less and eat healthier and keep myself on a much better schedule.  I do however, skip late nights out.  I basically have the bedtime of a preschooler while training and hardly ever go out during the weekends when racing.  That is why, of all things, I miss my social life when training!  Of course, my teammates are one aspect of my social life and I love them but I can go weeks without seeing some of my non-racing friends.  When training is over, I look so forward to catching up with good friends 🙂

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next Weeks Topic: Race Places

Next Weeks Question: Where was the best place you have ever raced and why?  Where is your dream place to race?

12 thoughts on “Brain Exchange Week 16- What You Miss When Training

  1. I would totally agree!! I don’t really deprive myself of anything, but do try to be better about drinking and food leading up to the race. I find my social life tends to revolve around my running buddies, so it doesn’t really feel like training half the time 🙂 To me its not a bad thing at all.

  2. I think for me, it depends on what I’m training for – if I’m really trying to go for something big, I deprive myself of a lot of fun (ha)…but to me, the reward at the end is so worth it. It’s been a long time since the heel has let me to train like that and oh how I miss it!!

  3. Pingback: Monday Brain Exchange is Back (week 16) « My First 5K Blog

  4. Yeah I can’t really answer this once cause I’ve been soo slack in 2010. Not really “training” and certainly not being disciplined with treats! LOL.

    Man best place to race? Hard one!

  5. Man, I miss a few days of blogging and I’m soooo behind! Tee hee! LOVE your costumes from the 80’s, I was Madonna when I was 6 😉

    I’m a lot like you, I feel like I am always in training mode so there isn’t a specific time I’m giving up anything that I don’t already do. But I will admit, the day of and the next day after a big race, I totally indulge. I will have that beer and that burger, thank you very much! Otherwise, I pass – I know, life is short! I need to work on that!
    Have a good week!

  6. You’re a lot like me, although I have been feeling like I’ve been trying to do it all lately. I just can’t. At least I’m in a down-time, training wise right now. Thanks for bringing back MBE!

  7. Pingback: Brain Exchange is Back (Week 16) « My First 5K Blog

Leave a Reply

