Home » Brain Exchange » Brain Exchange Week 17- Race Places

Brain Exchange Week 17- Race Places

Last Weeks Players:  Kandi, Darlene, Kim, WhitneyKitzzy (and lots of responses on the post too- thanks!)

Every Monday, at the end of the current weeks M.B.E answer, I will post a question for the following week.  This way you can cue your post for Monday if you wish.  If Monday doesn’t work for you, you can still play along any day of the week that works best. If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.

This Weeks Question: Where was the best place you have ever raced and why?  Where is your dream place to race?

I have been lucky enough to participate in quite a few races in great places.  But without a doubt, so far, the best place I ever raced was in Florida this past February.  I ran with Morgan in the Donna Half-Marathon–the National Race to fight breast cancer.  We wore TuTu’s, made friends along the way, sang songs ans took lots of photos.  We had a blast!

You can read about and see more pictures from the race here.

As for dream races…I have so many.  And most of them are within the United States.  First up- Timberman.  And as luck would have it, I will be racing the Sprint  next year so this wish will be granted.  I will also be fulfilling my wish to race on the West Coast next year…just not sure which race yet (calling all San Fransisco kids…give me some good ideas for March 🙂 ) and of course, I would love to do a race in Europe.  I also want to do CruisetoRun, and have for over a year now, but I just don’t know if logically, I can ever make that happen.  Only time will tell!

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next Weeks Topic: Unconventional Races

Next Weeks Question: Have you ever partcipated in any unconventional races?  If so, tell us about them.  If not, is it something you would consider and if so which one(s)?

16 thoughts on “Brain Exchange Week 17- Race Places

  1. Great topic! For me I think I really enjoyed running in wine country. I loved running in the Napa to Sonoma half:) Both beautiful and peaceful! Happy Monday!

  2. Pingback: Brain Exchange Week 17 and Monday Goals « My First 5K Blog

  3. Love that photo!

    My favorite place to race was the Skyline Challenge Trail 50k. It was such a challenge day. The weather which went from down pours to wind and then heat! The course was properly named because it was a challenge. I loved it! Still my all time favorite race.

    Dream place/race? I don’t think I have one yet. But whereever it is, it would be a long race in the woods for sure.

  4. OH I meant to do this one! I have raced in a lot of places I loved. I always love racing by the ocean and particularly loved racing the Hampton Half last year. The weather was great, it was beautiful and I did well! Where is my dream race? I want to do the Big Sur Marathon. That would be one of many dream ones.

  5. Give me a few weeks and I promise I’ll figure out this BEW thing, really.
    I had no idea you were such a frequent traveler.
    A Florida race in February sounds like a no-brainer, especially rocking the Tu-Tu.
    Very cool dream race goals, now I understand better why you’re workingn 119 hour weeks. It’s worth the sacrifice.
    And as far as your exploits with course maps and elevation profiles…I must have started reading your blog just a LITTLE too late. I’m much wiser now from what I’ve read on here though, thank you.

    • I will have to look into that- however, I think now, the location has changed to Los Angelos. So now I need those ideas 🙂

  6. I am so excited you get to race on the West Coast next year! I just want to get out there. It’s hard to name the best place I have raced. I almost want to say Kenosha, WI, since we ran our first half so well there… but the course is not that great! Great organization though!

    I would love to race the Rome Marathon 🙂

Leave a Reply

