Home » Life in General » I Run! Off Season, 2011 (Already!?!?) & Randomness

I Run! Off Season, 2011 (Already!?!?) & Randomness

I promise- I still run.  And bike and swim.  You know, the basics…like, what this blog is all about. 🙂

The thing is, this blog is also about my life and the last few months have been a busy life (which you know, because I mention every other post.  Sigh…redundancy!) and my posts have been mostly about non-running.

Well, today.  It is all about tri’s/running:  this weeks workouts, the upcoming Philly Half-Marathon, my off-season plan and next year’s (so-far) plans 🙂

What I did this week:

  • I ran Wednesday morning; I used the gym in my development which I was excited to use but then immediately annoyed by because when I got there, one of the guys working out informed me that “we have a group rotation” and proceeding to explain what times were “open” for me to come to the PUBLIC COMMUNITY gym.  What the hell?!?!?  Back to my regular gym it is!  I did end up getting 3 good miles in so I was happy.  This weekend while I am away I will be doing a long run of an undetermined amount of miles.  Yeah, I am just full of suspense!  Meanwhile, I haven’t been in a pool or in a bike in forever!
  • I have decided that my waitressing counts as working out!  This week was a pretty easy week since I was away last weekend and I am going away this weekend; I only worked three shifts so the hours weren’t too bad, although I did close two nights in a row which meant being there pretty late both Wednesday and last night.

Philly Half-Marathon

Let me be real with you all here.  MY TRAINING SUCKS.  Ok…now that I have that out of the way!  Here’s the thing.  Actually there are two things.

  • I refuse to bag another race.
  • I do not want to re-injure myself

Given I am presented with a half-marathon in 2 weeks on very little training…and I don’t want to bag it and I don’t want to injure myself, I had to make a plan.  Here’s the plan: have a fun run and finish 13.1 miles 🙂  Seriously- no time goals, no pressure…just running for fun.  I just want to know that I still have it in me- but because my weekly mileage has been low and my runs are only between 3-10 miles for the last month, I don’t want to go out with guns blazing and end up back on crutches.  Therefore the name of the Philly marathon is FUN FUN FUN!  And I fully expect Mike to be there with a medal for me at the end!

Off Season

I have a plan for the offseason.  And the good news is, I think it will work.  It involves running, spinning (FINALLY got my trainer set up in the condo) and P90X (yeah yeah, I jumped on the wagon!) plus Pilates when I am able.  I figure that since my night job will officially be on a 3-4 night/week schedule once I get back from N.C., I can start making somewhat of a plan.

For the last 6 days and for the next two weeks, I have cut out bread, pasta and wine from my meals.  There are two exceptions to this rule- I will be drinking wine this Saturday and I will have bread on Thanksgiving.  But other than that, I am going without.  I need to jump start a weight loss- I don’t do no-carb because personally, I just don’t agree with that; I cut out the heavy carbs (I eat a ridiculous amount of bread and pasta) just to get my system back in order.  When I did this two years ago, I was very happy with the results.  Fingers crossed that it works again this time!

2011 Plans

I cannot even believe I have been putting so much thought into 2011 already!  How did we get here…wasn’t I just planning 2010?  The things is…in order to get low prices and make sure you have entry to big races, you have no choice but to sign up early.  So far, I am signed up for two triathlons and three road races.  I am tentatively planning on four triathlons and six road races.  I am trying not to pack in as much as I did last year and really focus on a few races to be better than next year.

As you are all reading this, I should be about two hours into my drive to North Carolina.  I am heading down to the Beach to Battleship race with my friend Victoria to watch our friend Kate in her first Ironman!  Woo-hoo.  Oh yeah, you know there will be photos!

15 thoughts on “I Run! Off Season, 2011 (Already!?!?) & Randomness

  1. why don’t you do a run walk plan for the half? that will help you do the distance, not get hurt and finish feeling fab-u-lous!!

    have fun in NC.

    i hope mike is the one to give me my medal, too!!

  2. sounds like you will go into philly with a great attitude. i hope you have as much fun as possible!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    i want to be thinking about the end of 2010 and what 2011 will bring. i haven’t had a chance yet but i hope to start making goals soon!!

  3. Jill – A “rotation” at the public workout facility? Really? Wow. That’s all I have to say about that.

    Regarding the Philly Half – Good for you I say! I’m secretly wishing that a friend of mine would ask me to pace him/her at a race in 2011 well below my race pace.

    I miss racing for fun and really want to get back to that, but it’s so hard when you are constantly chasing personal goals. That will be one of my 2011 goals – to run a race strictly for the fun of it. After all, that is what this sport is really all about.

    Safe travels Jill, have a great time with your friends and give my best to Kate. She rocks!

  4. I don’t have to think much about 2011. My main goal is to finish a half marathon, I intend to do that in April, after that my plan is to run only races I like and I always wanted to do but I haven’t signed up for anything yet. Because if we have a bad winter and I have a setback in my running schedule I might do my half later than April.

    Your off season plan sounds good. I’ve heard a lot about P90X and it’s still in the back of my mind if I should buy it or not. Would be nice if you would share your experiences with it.

    Your approach for the Philly seems the right one to me, just go out there and have fun!

  5. Oh… now I feel like I need to think about 2011 plans. Oh wait, I said I would run by feel and chill until the end of the year then evaluate in January! 🙂

    I agree, just keep chanting “FUN FUN FUN” for the Philly race so you don’t get caught up in that whole need-to-race mentality!

  6. Wow – you are already signed up for a lot for 2011!

    Keep us updated on the P90X. My nutritionist said I should do it – works for her clients. I’m interested!

  7. Ya KNOW, a target goal for the Half would be a LITTLE helpful for your adoring medal distribution fans 🙂
    You have such a cool off-season plan, nice diversity.
    I agree, working 236 hours per week definitely converts into some equivalent training time.
    And finally, you’re a great friend to cheer on your Ironwoman. Hope you have a great time!

  8. Waitressing definitely counts as a workout. And I bet you turn in a better-than-expected performance by taking all the pressure off and just letting your body do its thing.

Leave a Reply

