Home » Brain Exchange » Monday Brain Exchange Week 26- Keeping It Fun In Extreme Weather

Monday Brain Exchange Week 26- Keeping It Fun In Extreme Weather

Last Week’s Players: Steve, Kandi, Kim, Kera  (if I missed you, let me know and I’ll get you linked in)

Every Monday, at the end of the current weeks M.B.E answer, I will post a question for the following week.  This way you can cue your post for Monday if you wish.  If Monday doesn’t work for you, you can still play along any day of the week that works best. If you want to play along, all you have to do is post the question and your answer on your own blog.  Link your post to my blog so that I know you have participated, and in the following weeks post, I will link all the participant blogs from the prior week.

This Weeks Topic: Extreme Weather & Keeping it Fun

This Weeks Question: Do you deal with any types of extreme weather where you live?  Heat warnings, a lot of snow, frequent tornados?  How do you keep your workouts fresh and fun when you are stuck indoors?

We experience all 4 seasons here in NJ, but there are years you wouldn’t know that since it can go from extreme heat to extreme cold.  And of course, the best times to run are Spring and Fall but they come and go too quick!

The only times I do not run outside are in the winter when it is snow/ice or below 30 degrees and in the summer when the heat index is too high.  I hate training inside, so it takes a lot to keep me from heading out.  The one nice thing (and it is the only one I can think of) about winter training, is that I can sleep in late on weekends and do my runs when it warms up a little.  In the summer, I always try to beat the heat by getting up super early.

In my opinion, there is no way to make the treadmill fun…I just have to push through.  As for the bike, I hope on the trainer and do so during basketball games or put a movie in to make the time go faster.  If you have a way to make the treadmill fun, please share!

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Next Weeks Topic: Racing & Vacations

Next Weeks Question: Do you make vacations out of your races when they are far from home?

11 thoughts on “Monday Brain Exchange Week 26- Keeping It Fun In Extreme Weather

  1. I’m sorry I don’t participate on my blog, I only post once a week (last time it was 14 days!) but I do like to comment here on your blog :).

    Colorado is better than most states, for that I am blessed. We don’t have the harsh winters and in summer, we don’t have humidity and it cools down rapidly at night so if I want to get in a long run, I can just get up at 4 and it’s in the low 60’s…not many places can brag about that!! But still weather presents a challenge, of course…we get freak 5′ snowstorms every now and then and the temps can drop in winter to where no one wants to be outdoors.

    Therefore, I have a very intimate relationship with my treadmill 🙂

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

  2. I don’t have any tips about the treadmill – I think the last time I ran on a treadmill was about 3 years ago! I have been riding a lot on my trainer lately with the super cold weather. My daughter likes to “scrapbook” while I ride, which means cutting up pieces of paper into little tiny pieces, coloring them, and then sticking them in my little box on my bike . . . helps makes the time go a little faster. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Monday Goals & Brain Exchange #26 « My First 5K and More…

  4. i think we’ve had some extreme weather out here so far this winter!!! there’s a point tho, even if there’s no snow, that i’ll stay inside because i dont’ think it’s safe to run for hours in single digits. and it hurts.

  5. You need to toughen up a little on that 30 degree rule 😉 obv I deal with heat and humidity more but I dont really want to think about those just yet! lol. I’m with you on winter training — sleeping in on the weekend is a nice bonus! Course last spring I never transitioned to waking up early to run on the weekend … That didn’t work out well all summer long.

  6. We also have 4 seasons and I agree that Spring and Autumn are best for running. All the big races here are in Spring and Autumn.

    We usually don’t have extreme weather conditions but the past years we did have snow (which we hardly had before) or very hot Summer days.

    In Winter I still do my long run in the morning in the weekends. Some runs on weekdays I do in the morning when it’s dark or after work in the afternoon (depends on the distance).

    In Summer I try to do every run in the morning.

    And I don’t know any fun ways to make the treadmill fun. If you have ideas I’m all ears 🙂

Leave a Reply

