Home » Bad Days » Oh Yeah, It’s Mardi Gras

Oh Yeah, It’s Mardi Gras

My body has NOT handled coming back from Florida well!  Or maybe I have just worn myself out.  Either way, I have been struggling with sinus issues and the cold from hell since early Saturday morning.  I finally gave in today and decided to stay home from work.  Plans include laying in bed, watching movies and catching up on blogs.  I am officially over 300 posts behind. WTF!  Oh, and maybe I will unpack from Florida finally too!

It always figures that when I get into a good groove with my working out, I get sick.  But honestly, I am happy to be getting it out of the way before the big time training hits.  Plus, if I had to be sick over any weekend, this past one was okay with me.  I didn’t have too much planned which is odd for me, and maybe it was for the best that I stayed in and rested.  I have a hard time with resting.  I never seem to be able to just do nothing.  The thing about resting is….resting means not working out.  Not working out makes me antsy.  I feel like I am losing everything I have worked so hard for in the last eight weeks.  After taking the end of 2010 off, I came back with a vengeance.  I am finally getting to a point where I look at myself and think “Damn…the work is paying off” and I am so afraid I will lose all of that.  I haven’t been able to do a workout since Saturday!  I am grappling with the idea that I will have to start over!  And I feel like the past two years have been a series of starting overs!  Even today, after my benedryl coma was over this morning, I got up and did laundry.  And since writing that first paragraph, three hours ago, I did finally unpack from Florida.  And I won’t lie…I had planned to run…but the simple of act of getting ready to run wore me out and I ended up sleeping for an hour!  Yeah, I know….rest rest rest!  Heard!

I had hoped to write a little more, but I have been struggling to even write this much.  Looks like this cold is going to win this fight too.  And I think I need to get back in bed!  I know my blog hasn’t exactly been quality lately, but hopefully once I am into my training and racing that will change.  Thanks to you all who have stuck through this bit of dry spell with me.  Love you all!

Do you have a hard time resting when you are sick?  Or resting in general?

9 thoughts on “Oh Yeah, It’s Mardi Gras

  1. I have a really hard time when I’m sick! but you’ll heal faster and be back out there sooner….I know, I can’t listen to that either. But try! And feel better REALLY soon!

  2. I feel like colds are the worst because you don’t feel SO bad and think you can get stuff done (and not rest) and then the exhaustion totally slams you out of nowhere. I hope you are feeling better soon!

  3. Feel better! I do have a hard time resting when I am sick. I have run before when I so shouldn’t have but recently I am letting myself relax and be smarter about it. Some of the wisdom with age maybe!
    You know – above the neck you can run, below the neck do not.

  4. I have a hard time just getting sick 😦 Some days I just wish some sickness would just wipe me out and I’d get to rest. But usually I just get annoying sniffles and I suck it up and go on with my day because no one can do my job but me. No rest for the weary 😦 But I take rest days from exercise and I don’t feel guilty. For some reason I can’t take rest days from life.

  5. I have been slacking on my blog lately and I’m not even sick! So I completely understand. I have a lot of stuff going on and I’ll get around to an update soon. Just haven’t had the time or the frame of mind to write stuff out!
    Feel better soon, Jill!

  6. First: you don’t have to start all over again, not after a week. No worries about that.

    I’m never sick, last time I was really sick is about 20 years ago.
    But I do have problems with resting in general. I do take my rest days from exercise, those aren’t hard for me. But I can’t sit down and do nothing, I always have to do something. Sitting down and do nothing is a waiste of time in my dictionary.

    Get well soon Jill!

  7. ugh, sounds miserable. get rest and feel better soon!!!

    and i agree, i it’s nice when colds know how to time themselves around training!

  8. You poor thing! Are you feeling better?

    I have exercise guilt when I am sick too. And I worry big time about “losing” fitness. But a few days off should be okay! I love that you are looking in the mirror and noticing how smokin’ you are!

  9. haha. i know how you feel! this is how i was when i had the plague. i felt soo lazy but just walking from bed to couch was intense. rest up, you’ll be back in action soon. maybe try some yoga?

Leave a Reply

