Home » Truth » 30 Days Of Truth- Day 4

30 Days Of Truth- Day 4

Day 4- Something you have to forgive someone for.

The truth is, at this point in my life, I don’t have anyone to forgive. 

I actually forgive pretty easily.  It wasn’t always like that; I used to be a serious grudge holding bitch.  But at some point, I just gave in.  It is simply easier to forgive.  It doesn’t mean what they did is okay or that I will soon forget those acts.  And it certainly doesn’t mean I want them in my life.  And that’s just it actually; it comes down to this- not forgiving people who aren’t a part of my life anymore only seems to hurt myself.  I just don’t have the energy for the anger that not forgiving people causes me. And I am not in a place in my life where I want to use space in my heart for resentment and ill feelings.    

If you think I have something to forgive you for, you can rest assured I already have.

Day 1–> Something you hate about yourself

Day 2–> Something you love about yourself

Day 3–> Something you have to forgive yourself for

17 thoughts on “30 Days Of Truth- Day 4

  1. I’m absolutely the same as you in this. I do forgive but I don’t forget and most of the times you won’t see me much after someone did something to me.

  2. As I’ve said before, I love these thoughts for the day: I wasn’t treated very well in middle school and the first years of high school by a group of guys and while I’m past feeling pissed-off about it it has contributed, at least slightly, to my view on those individuals and their insecurities. Hmm, this is starting to sound like reviving the grudge.

    What tricks did you use to allow them to have a clean slate?

    Also, little Henry does have cowboy boots but he does not yet have “sneakers”. We’re waiting on some bones and joints to develop before putting him on the treadmill. Soon, though!

    • I held onto high school hurt for so long. I didn’t use any tricks; I kind of got lucky- I went to my 10 year high school reunion. And it dawned on me that at the end of the day, I am who I am and they cannot hurt me anymore. I still don’t like them, I still rather not see/talk to them, but they don’t take up my energy like they used to. Comes with time I suppose…

  3. Oh, and I’m sorry that I didn’t respond sooner to the “gorgeous” baby comment. That means a lot and I read it to my wife. Now that our perceptions of him are inflated I hope that we aren’t now doomed to be let down when he looks like me.

  4. I need to get a lot of this emotional baggage out of my life! Forgiveness doesn’t come easily to me. I may forgive for the moment, but some little mark goes in the little black book in my brain that I’ll always hold on to. I’m not exactly sure why. I think it’s a lack of self-confidence. I know I need to get this out, but I’m not exactly sure how 😦

  5. Just getting all caught up! So sorry chica, miss ya!

    First off, I am with you on the whole forgiveness thing. I am always the first to say I’m sorry or to forgive – life is too short to waste time on things that only cause you more pain. Move on, if you can’t forget, at least try, life is too damn short.

    LOVED the ABC’s – my hubbs tells me all the time he married me cuz I’m a bitch – in a good way of course 😉

    Sorry about that shit with the other blog – I bet I know how you’re talking about, and if it isn’t that person, I’m not surprised that there are many out there. I am guilty of only going to the ones that I really like – my time is precious, people are improtant to me, but I try hard to come around to say hey to the ones that count.

    Glad FL was a good trip – you were due! But so sorry to hear about those people at your school. Budget cuts here are bad, and I know quite a few teachers who got their pink slips today – it’s a sad state of the country.
    Keep up the good work chica, you sound like you are doing well! Yayyy!

  6. forgiving so easily, that’s a nice trait to have. holding grudges isn’t good for your health and doesn’t get anyone anywhere. i like to think i forgive pretty easily, too.

  7. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth- Day 5 « Finishing is Winning

  8. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth- Day 6 « Finishing is Winning

  9. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth- Day 7 « Finishing is Winning

  10. Pingback: 30 Days Of Truth- Day 10 | Finishing is Winning

  11. Pingback: 30 Days of Truth- Day 11 & Day 12 | Finishing is Winning

Leave a Reply

